Posted in Air, Assateague Island, Beach, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Gifts, Grandparenthood, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Weather

Suspended in time

In the woods.
In the woods.

Experience is never limited, and it is never complete; it is an immense sensibility, a kind of huge spider-web of the finest silken threads suspended in the chamber of consciousness, and catching every air-borne particle in its tissue.

~ Henry James

I took a walk in the woods the other day and in the middle of the pathway, hanging in mid-air, was a small cluster of pine needles.  This morning I came across the quote by Henry James and the two fit together so well that I couldn’t resist sharing the coincidence.

Ocean City (Maryland) on a June night.
Ocean City (Maryland) on a June night.

It has been cloudy and/or rainy here over the past two days.  I’m enjoying it.  Without the sun beating down on us, the temperature hasn’t been quite as high as on a normal August day.  I was able to get some weeding done in the garden.  I mowed.  I got caught up on household chores.  Now that it is raining again, I have time to go through photos from when my granddaughters and their parents came to visit.

Polish Water Ice.  (On the boardwalk in Ocean City.)
Polish Water Ice. (On the boardwalk in Ocean City.)

Maybe I’ll get caught up before the next round of family visitors arrive.  August is going to be a busy month, I think.  And if I don’t get caught up?  Well, that’s okay, too.

Curiosity.
Curiosity.

The photos in this post were taken in Ocean City or on Assateague Island.  A fun time was had by all, and I’m still having fun with the memories.

Wonder.
Wonder.

That’s about it from me on this beautiful rainy day.  Thanks for stopping by.  I don’t think we’ll see a sunset tonight, but if the clouds should happen to clear, let’s head to the Point.  Sunset is at 8:06 PM.  If you can’t make it, maybe I’ll see you for the weekend coffee chat.  Either way or otherwise, have a great weekend!

Explorer on the shore.
Explorer on the shore.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Miss Hollywood.
Miss Hollywood.

Today’s joys:  Watching the rain; cooler temperatures and a rest from all the bright, sunny days we’ve been having; clean sheets on the bed; tomatoes from the garden (is there anything better than a freshly picked tomato?); sorting through images.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “Suspended in time

  1. I thought it utterly magical, and extremely quick witted of you, that you had managed to catch the pine needles as they fell – but you say they were somehow – and perhaps equally as magically – simply ‘suspended’……. It is raining here today too with a storm tracking up the country, the worst of it having bypassed us this time. Small gratitudes 🙂

    Like

    1. It was suspended by a spider’s web, Pauline. If you look carefully, you can see some of it (clicking on the photo will take you to a slightly larger version). Small gratitudes are some of the best. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoy rainy days for just the same reasons, Robin. When it is nice out, like it has been for us the past few days, I feel I should be outside. Rain is a good excuse to attend to the inside chores that around here get quite neglected in summer! 😉
    My favorite photo is of your granddaughter (explorer) on the beach. It’s a great shot!

    Like

  3. Oh no, you’re going to the dark side, too, with the black and white. Or perhaps I shouldn’t have been doing a Star Wars marathon the last few days….. 😉

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

