Posted in Air, Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering

A light reminder

Imagine.  (Playing in Photoshop.  I'll show you the original photo in a moment.)
Imagine. (Playing in Photoshop. I’ll show you the original photo in a moment.)

The inner light actually comes from the soul; it is already inside of us.  The moment we can have free access to our soul, we will see that this light is coming to the fore to permeate our whole outer existence.

~ Sri Chinmoy, The Wings of Joy: Finding Your Path to Inner Peace

Quick reminder:  Please join Frank and me over at his place, A Frank Angle, this evening or tomorrow for our collaboration on the subject of Light.  I made a mistake on the timing when I posted about it on Saturday.  The post is scheduled for 9:30 PM (U.S. eastern time, I think).  If I get a chance this evening, I’ll come back and update the link so it will take you right to the post.  And here you go, a direct link:  On Light.  Thank you, Frank!  I love the way you weaved together your words and my images.

You might recognize this from Saturday's coffee chat post.  "Found gladiolas growing in the meadow."  I twirled it around for a while so we could enjoy the light and colors rather than just the form.
The original photo used for “Imagine.”  You might recognize this from Saturday’s coffee chat post. “Found gladiolas growing in the meadow.” I twirled it around for a while so we could enjoy the light and colors rather than just the form.

Today I had some time to play and since it is once again hot as Hades outside, I decided indoor play was the best option.  A few years ago, a fellow blogger named Holly (who, last I checked, had closed her blog) played around in Photoshop with a technique to turn your photos into abstracts.  She taught us how to do it, and a few us played around with it for a while, and then I guess we must have tired of it.  I haven’t seen anyone doing it lately.

Zoom.
Zoom.

While cleaning out my desk drawer this morning, I came across the instructions and thought it fit the “play” bill quite nicely.  I looked for the instructions a couple of weeks ago (unsuccessfully, I might add) because one of the things on my list of things I want to do is “goof around with Holly’s abstract technique and see what happens.”  Basically, that means start with her basic technique and then experiment by clicking on this or that or the other thing.  I am so glad the instructions popped up on their own today.  It gave me a chance to do something I’ve had on my list for years and just didn’t get around to doing.

Spiral.  (This is my favorite of the bunch.)
Spiral. (This is my favorite of the bunch.)

I had a good time with a few photos, and will have to spend more time playing around with it as I saw a couple of good possibilities with some of the filters I used.  In the meantime, I thought I’d share these few with you.  If you’re interested in the basic technique, let me know and I will do a Tuesday Tutorial sometime over the next few weeks to explain it.

The original photo used for "Zoom" and "Spiral."
The original photo used for “Zoom” and “Spiral.”

Time for me to be moving along.  Thank you so much for dropping by today.  I am going to be taking a short break from blogging beginning either tomorrow or Thursday.  If I have time for a Wordless Wednesday post, I’ll go for it.  Otherwise, I’ll be back next week.  I am taking a little time to fill up at the well, so to speak, with a mini-retreat at home.

Riding the wave.
Riding the wave.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The original photo used for "Riding the wave."
The original photo used for “Riding the wave.”

Today’s joys:  Iced mint tea; fresh summer fruit; the feeling of lightness that follows meditation; anticipation; collaborating with a blogging friend (a big Thank you! to Frank for the chance to work with him); refreshing the purple color on my hair.

One more, just for fun.
One more, just for fun.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

24 thoughts on “A light reminder

    1. Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. 🙂 Sorry about the time confusion. Sometimes I’m not even sure what day it is lately. I have been so distracted the past few weeks that I’m not paying attention to the details (such as Frank clearly stating it would be 9:30 PM, not AM). Hopefully I’ve got my head on straight. And if not, maybe the short break will help with that. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love to see what other, very clever people can do with Photoshop and the various programs that are available for playing with colours and designs, but when it comes down to it, I think I’m too much of a nature lover, so I like to see the actual flowers. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy enhancing a photo that was taken in bad light, but I can’t see me ever changing the photo so drastically for my blog. However, if you were to add a Tuesday Tutorial sometime, I’d be fascinated to see how the effect is achieved. You never know when I might have a change of heart, and have the urge to make my kookaburras look like aliens. 😉

    Enjoy your break, Robin. x

    Like

    1. lol! Kookaburras already look exotic to me. I prefer the actual flowers too, Joanne, but sometimes it’s fun to play just to see what happens when they are reduced to light and color. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you are getting a chance to play while the weather keeps you inside. The last two are my favorites! Enjoy your mini-retreat. We’ll see you when you return all refreshed!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the link here as a bit of cross promotion is a good thing. I enjoyed our collaboration – which was never in doubt! Love the pics you selected here because I think they work with my post as well. Enjoy your break – after all, blogging breaks are good. … and stay cool.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Frank. And thank you! You had the tough job of deciding where everything goes. Not sure I explained why I left that to you. I’ve collaborated before, and whenever I tried to place the images (or decide on the images in the first place), my collaborators had different interpretations for their words (makes sense since they are their words) and I’d usually end up turning it over to them in the end. Which is fine, but it would have saved me time if I’d let them do it in the first place. 🙂

      Like

  4. Fantastic! I would love a Tuesday tutorial someday. Enjoy your break. I was gone to the lake for one day and it was wonderful. Feels like I was gone a week.

    Like

  5. Your abstracts are wonderful images for meditation. The colors are vibrant, too.
    I was sent to your blog by aFrank. I had just posted on his Light post in which you had collaberated. You both did a fantastic job. It was very interesting and your photos were right on target with his word – Light.
    Thank you for allowing me to browse through your blog. It’s a pleasure to meet you.
    Isadora 😎

    Like

  6. Cool. I remember Holly doing this some time ago. I might have tried it too, will have to look now. I know you are enjoying your blogging break at the moment, but if you have the chance to pop over to my place some time in the next couple days, there’s something there you might enjoy https://karmardav.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/want-to-play/ I’m posting this for you because you did such an amazing job with it the last time around and I’m really hoping you’ll think about playing! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. It was short, but enough for now. Perhaps I’ll try again (the blog break) in a few weeks. Or the end of this week. Who knows? 😀

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

