Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Wonder

Soft and gentle

A gift from the sky.
A gift from the sky.

A single gentle rain makes the grass many shades greener.  So our prospects brighten on the influx of better thoughts.  We should be blessed if we lived in the present always, and took advantage of every accident that befell us.

~ Henry David Thoreau, Walden, or Life in the Woods

In the garden this morning.
In the garden this morning.

This morning we received a gift from the sky.  We woke up to a soft and gentle rain watering the gardens, the lawn, the meadows, and the woods.  I daresay the rain was likely falling across the farm fields surrounding us, too, but I wasn’t out there to be sure so I can only speak about what was happening here on the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.

A drop here, a drop there.
A drop here, a drop there.

I’m not sure how much rain we received.  The rain gauge is barely registering anything at all.  It was enough for now, enough for an almost audible sigh of relief from the land and all the plants that were watered while I slept.  There is the possibility of more rain accompanying storms that are expected to either pop up on their own or travel here from the west later this evening.

Consumed by love.  (The Rose of Sharon meaning in the Victorian Language of Flowers.)
Consumed by love. (The meaning of the Rose of Sharon in the Victorian Language of Flowers.)

When I went out for my walk this morning there was a mellow mist ebbing and flowing with a silky breeze, and both the breeze and the mist seemed to wrap around my body like a light blanket, my skin absorbing both elements of air and water.  It was warm, of course, as it tends to be this time of year.  The hummingbirds were chasing each other around the feeders, and the goldfinches were singing and chattering in the sunflowers.  Bees and butterflies were sampling the flowers.

Charming.
Charming.

Before I stepped outside, I read this:

“You are freedom and you have no identity.  You cannot be labeled, and that’s your beauty and glory — that you cannot say who you are.  You are is always in the making.  By the time you have asserted that you are this or that, you have moved.  You are deciding each moment what to be — to be or not to be.  Each moment there is a fresh decision, a fresh release of life.  A sinner can become a saint in a single moment, and a saint can be a sinner in a single moment.  The unhealthy can become healthy, and the healthy can become unhealthy in a single moment.  Just a change of decision, just a change of insight, of vision, and everything changes.”  ~Osho, from Everyday Osho

Each moment there is a fresh decision, a fresh release of life…  isn’t that delightful?

A nest of possibilities.
A nest of possibilities.

I think that should do it for this Monday Meander around the ranch.  It was a short, but full, walk, the kind that satisfies the senses.  The cloud cover was a wonderful break from the brightness of the summer sun, and stayed with us for much of the day.

Becoming.
Becoming.

Thank you for joining me.  I don’t think we’ll see much of a sunset this evening, but if you want to drop by the dock just in case the sky puts on a show, sunset is at 8:17 PM.

Don’t forget to stop by Frank’s place tomorrow for an exploration of Light, a collaborative post using Frank’s words and my images.  I have not yet seen the final result so I am excited and looking forward to seeing what Frank has put together.  I believe the post is scheduled to be published at 9:30 PM (U.S. eastern time).  Hope to see you there.  Note:  I had to correct the time.  When this post went out, I had 9:30 AM.  Not sure if anyone will see the correction, but it’s here.  Just in case.

Heart entwined.
Heart entwined.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Drying off.
Drying off.

Today’s joys:  Sitting on the bench and watching a Great Blue Heron for about thirty minutes this morning (this was especially joyful because the herons usually fly off as soon as I get near the lagoon); the gifts of rain and cloud cover giving us a small break from summer’s glare; the variety of colors in the gardens; butterflies and hummingbirds; laughter.

Stretching.
Stretching.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “Soft and gentle

  1. I love that blue heron; I’m glad he stayed still for you so we could see him through your lens. I love that Osho quote as well. We are in truth being defined each moment. No one should try to pigeonhole us, to define us, to make us who they want us to be. We should evolve without limits, without judgment.

    I’m encountering a lot of judgment right now, and to be honest, I’m a little tired of it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Did you smell the rain, Robin? Summer rain has the most heavenly perfume to it, although it probably isn’t the rain with the fragrance, but rather the earth sighing with relief and exploding with joy. Or maybe it’s a combination of the two.

    I find Osho’s quote comforting, “you are deciding each moment what to be — to be or not to be” explains to me why I can be completely satisfied with a particular thought or action, yet hours, days, or months later I find that I’ve moved on from it, without consciously giving it any thought. Knowing that each moment there is a fresh release of life is indeed delightful. ❤

    Like

    1. I did, Joanne. Petrichor! That’s the word for it. (I got excited and had to use an exclamation point because I’ve been sitting here for a few minutes trying to come up with the word.) The earth releases an oil into the air just before the rain falls, and that’s the scent we pick up with our noses.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. 🙂 The herons are indeed peaceful, and they carry themselves like royalty. I was thrilled to be able to sit with him or her for a while, and watch as s/he stalked the fish and crabs.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so encouraging to be reminded that every moment offers a fresh decision and a fresh release of life – I needed that this morning! (Thank you!) What a delightful treat you had watching the great blue heron for so many moments as he went about his morning…

    Like

  4. Your words are so poetic in this post – lovely and refreshing as the rain shower must have been. I love the blue heron shot, it has been a long time since I’ve been able to get very close to the ones I usually see in Maine.
    On my way to check out the post at Frank’s 🙂

    Like

  5. Hmm, I’m confused. You posted this yesterday so today should be the tomorrow you mentioned, right? LOL Didn’t see post. Perhaps a hiccup at Frank’s place?

    Like

    1. No, that’s my fault. I got the timing all wrong. The post will go out tonight at 9:30. I should have come back and fixed this. I’ll do it now. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

