Posted in Air, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

A summer embrace

Summer glow
Summer glow

Love … it surrounds every being and extends slowly to embrace all that shall be.

~ Kahlil Gibran

Savoring the day.
Savoring the day.

It happens every  year.  I never know when it will happen, but it does seem to be inevitable.

Summer grace.
Summer grace.

I am not sure how to define it, how to put it into words.  Perhaps it is a type of grace.

Luminous.
Luminous.

It happens when I switch from grumbling to practicing gratitude.

Affirmation.
Affirmation.

It happens when the weather conspires with the splendor of summer.  The promised cool front moved through yesterday, and when I woke up this morning it was an extraordinary 66°F with the gift of a northerly breeze.

Summer reunion.
Summer reunion.

It happened today.  Summer embraced me, not with the usual sticky heat and biting insects, but with gentleness and beauty, and I returned the hug.

Reverence.
Reverence.

I walked and walked and walked this morning, marveling at the beauty of summer’s gifts to us.

Treasure.
Treasure.

I walked among the wild gifts, not the gardens.  In the meadows, and into the woods.  Along the creek, the lagoon, and the edge of the marshes.

Hold dear.
Hold dear.

When I walked out the back door I heard the chatter and whistling of Bald Eagles, and one flew so close that I could hear the whoosh of its wings and feel the displaced air in the form of a slight breeze in my hair.  Seeing the eagle that close brought on a kind of frisson that lifted the hair on the back of my neck.

Surrender to the moment.
Surrender to the moment.

Cool summer mornings are a serendipitous dispensation from Mother Nature.  A reward for the days of high heat, sweltering humidity, and scorching sunlight, and a liberation from the air conditioned indoors.

Mercy.
Laughter.

There is so much more to show you, but I want to go back out and continue to enjoy the wonder of this July day when summer is showing her softer, milder side.  Thank you so much for visiting, and I’ll probably see you again either at your place or this weekend for coffee.

Relief and release.
Relief and release.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A note from autumn.
A note from autumn.

Today’s joys:  Summer mercies; cool breezes from the north; a long, slow walk exploring the wildflowers, the wildlife, and the wildness of summer; reflections, ripples, and sparkles on the water; lunch with M.

Adored.
Adored.

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

29 thoughts on “A summer embrace

  1. DEElightful temperatures – glad you got a reprieve. I just love it when Canada sends us her breezes! 🙂 Lovely shots all – I particularly love the simple beauty of ‘Hold dear.’

    Like

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 Isn’t it nice of our northern neighbors to send us some cool weather once in a while? Maybe not in winter, but I sure appreciate it during the summer months.

      Like

  2. This almost feels like a Wordless Wednesday post, meaning you have written all of the words, about the feelings you have felt and the sights that you have seen, and they are all so beautiful and calm….how dare we interrupt the magical flow with words? Enjoy the next part of your walk, Robin. ❤

    Like

  3. So happy for you to be experiencing the kindness of summer these days. We are experiencing similar weather here and I can’t bare to be indoors for very long periods of time. Your words and your photos are lovely.

    Like

  4. Ah yes, my favorite kind of summer day, low humidity and gentle breezes… I love the butterfly you captured in “Reverence” and the close encounter with the bald eagle must have been a thrill! I love it when we can turn off the air conditioners by day and sleep with the windows open…

    Like

  5. I arrived back in Virginia for this cool respite from the summer heat, Robin, and believe me, it was a welcome surprise after the sweltering and humid heat of Nanning. I don’t know how long it will last, but it is lovely while it does! I love your photos and the way you describe your embrace of summer. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

