Posted in A bit of history, Blast From the Past, Earth, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Hiking, Life, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Summer, Travel, Water, Weather, Wonder

Trying to stay cool

Acadia National Park, Maine.  June 2012.
Acadia National Park, Maine. June 2012.

Does a place have consciousness, such that it can receive gratitude for what it has given just by being itself?

~ Trebbe Johnson

Lupines.  Prince Edward Island, Canada.  June 2012.
Lupines. Prince Edward Island, Canada. June 2012.

Hello!  How are you?  I’m sorry I missed the weekend coffee share.  M and I had to take a little trip to Pennsylvania to see family.  It was a last minute decision and there wasn’t time to put anything together before I left.  It’s no longer the weekend, but I can still offer you a beverage and a comfy place to sit while we chat a little bit.  You might have to do most of the chatting as I’m not feeling particularly talkative today.  It’s the heat, mostly.  There are other things, but they’ll wait for another day.

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia.  June 2012.
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia. June 2012.

It is a scorcher here today.  The heat was turned way up a few days ago, and it’s been getting hotter and hotter.  It is not a good day to be outside unless you’re in the pool.

Cool blues.  (Cape Breton.)
Cool blues. (Cape Breton.)

This is the time of year when I would normally do something that displeases my friends from the north.  I start posting photos of snow and ice in an effort to help me cool off and take my mind off of my summer version of SAD.  I thought I’d do something different this year and flash back to a trip M and I took in 2012.  We traveled through some of the Canadian Maritimes (New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia), and then went to Maine to visit Acadia National Park.  We went early in the season (beginning of June) when the weather was still delightfully cool.

Fog and sun.  Cape Breton.
Fog and sun. Cape Breton.

I enjoyed all of the places we visited, but my favorite by far was Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia.  I would move there in a heartbeat if I could, something I’ve probably mentioned several times either here or on my old blog.  It is one of the most beautiful places I’ve visited so far on my not too extensive travels.

Enjoying the blues.  (Cape Breton.)
Enjoying the blues. (Cape Breton.)

Today is a good day to look at all the refreshing blues and greens, and bring back the memories of cooler weather.  I am pretty sure we wore jackets, or at the very least long sleeved shirts, during most of our trip.  We hiked in the rain and in the fog as well as on sunny days, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it.

Wonderful fog.
Wonderful fog.

That’s about it from me and from my photo archives for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by.  If you’re dealing with the heat like we are, I hope the images helped to cool you off a little.  If you’re in the midst of winter, perhaps the sunshine in a lot of the photos will help to warm you.

Cool water over smooth rocks.  (Acadia National Park, Maine.)
Cool water over smooth rocks. (Acadia National Park, Maine.)

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Maine reflections.  (Acadia National Park.)
Maine reflections. (Acadia National Park.)

Today’s joys:  Air conditioning; ice; the luxury of taking it slow and easy; the luxury of being able to stay indoors on such a hot day; the luxury of being able to take a dip in the pool.

In the cool shade of the forest.  (Acadia.)
In the cool shade of the forest. (Acadia.)
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

21 thoughts on “Trying to stay cool

  1. We were in Maine a year ago now. Was beautiful. Here it’s 10 degrees cooler today then yesterday and it will be cooler still tomorrow. So you should have our today’s weather tomorrow. It will be nice I promise.

    Like

  2. I love your opening question – thought – quote. I say “Yes!” I enjoyed seeing all your beautiful photos. It’s not so cold here today, we are hopeful your warmth is spreading south and westward 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Pauline. 🙂 “Yes!” was my answer, too. I’m glad you’re starting to warm up. I’d send your some of our heat if I could. We have more than enough to spare.

      Like

  3. Definitely a cooling post with all that lovely and chilly North Atlantic water. Much more preferable than ice and snow, thank you! One of my fantasies is to summer up there in a wonderful old Gingerbread Victorian with a big veranda that has a hammock, rocking chairs and a view of the sea. Sigh! 🙂

    Like

  4. I feel so guilty for enjoying this weather so much! Just came from the garden where the zukes, dukes and basil are just crazy. But your pictures are wonderful. Maine is lovely and Nova Scotia knocked my socks off. Perhaps it’s time for a trip to the north country–I recommend Gordon Lodge in Door County WI…Hope things cool down out there on the shore…

    Like

      1. I know what you mean about auto correct. Or at least a way to edit our own comments. I leave typos all over the internet when I’m commenting on posts. Our cukes are coming in like gangbusters and you’re right. They are cooling.

        Like

    1. Door County WI is a beautiful place, Lisa. We spent a vacation traveling around Lake Michigan when we were young, camping along the way. About 15 years later, we rented a cabin Up North in Wisconsin. I’d love to go back someday. No need to feel guilty about enjoying this weather. My husband loves the heat, too. We’re ill-suited in a way, but I figure he revels in the summer weather and I revel in the winter snow and ice, and that sort of evens out the year for us. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hotter than we’re used to out here, too. But it’s all relative. Most folks would likely enjoy our upper-80s temp until they acclimated to our more normal mid-70s range. The worst thing is that the fog doesn’t seem to be rolling in to cool things down at night. Unless you’re right on the beach, which I’m not. Thank goodness I had A/C installed a couple of years ago. I don’t do well in heat.

    Like

  6. As I sit here at my computer, shivering, I completely sympathize with your being overwhelmed by the heat. Now if you moved to Nova Scotia, you’d probably tire of the constant snow during winter! I think it would be a small sacrifice for living with such beauty though. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

