Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Health & Well-Being, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Woods

A Wednesday walk

A patchwork of colors and plants in the scrounger's garden.
A patchwork of colors and plants in the scrounger’s garden.

The present is the object of vision, and what I see before me at any given second is a full field of color patches scattered just so.  The configuration will never be repeated.

~ Annie Dillard, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

Into the dark and green of the woods.
Into the dark and green of the woods.

Summer is like that, patches of color scattered about.  Even in the greenness of the woods, you can find variety in the greens and browns, and if you look closely, you’ll find oranges, reds, and yellows blooming here and there.

Let’s take a walk, shall we?  We have had a beautiful and refreshing breeze blowing hither and yon around the ranch today, keeping the heat, humidity, and insects at bay.  Or perhaps by the bay.  Whatever the case, it’s a pleasant day for a walk.

Someone has been knocking over the large mushrooms in the woods.
Someone has been knocking over the large mushrooms in the woods.

We’ll start on the Woodland Trail and go out to the dock to catch the breeze there.  The wind likes to hang out by the creek, blowing over and around the dock and through the grasses.  We’ll probably startle a muskrat or two, a Great Blue Heron, and if we’re lucky, a river otter.  The tide is coming in, and the fish have been jumping and splashing today.  Maybe they are enjoying the breeze, too.

This morning's view from the dock.
This morning’s view from the dock.

I have a thousand things I’d like to share with you, but will have to pare it down to this or that, or maybe the other thing.  We’ll see what comes up as we walk.

Leaving the dock to go back to the woods.
Leaving the dock to go back to the woods.

Can you sense that I am restless today?  I suspect it is hard to miss.  The last few days have been uncomfortable, and in my discomfort I was fearful.  In my fearfulness, I found it difficult to make decisions.  So, as I walk today, I echo a meditation I’ve been using with reminders that I am safe, I am whole, I am healed.

A deer path.
A deer path.

As Annie Dillard wrote, “The interior life is often stupid.”  My interior life has been going round in circles, and not in a very productive way.  This morning I woke up and thought, “Enough.”  I thought about being whole and healed. I thought about how it was time to stop listening to the negative Nellies residing in my head, and simply breathe.  As my mother frequently said of things, it’s not the end of the world.

Nearing the edge of the woods.
Nearing the edge of the woods.

Speaking of my mother, did you see the doe on the path?  Wasn’t she beautiful?  You might be wondering what a white-tailed deer has to do with my mother.  This post at my old blog explains it, but in a nutshell, whenever I feel the need of my mother’s presence, a doe seems to come along, sometimes in unlikely times or places.  Seeing a deer on one of the paths here while out walking is unusual.  They hide during the day, and even seeing them from a distance at dawn or dusk is a lucky sighting.

Passing by the vegetable garden, we see the first of the garden Morning Glories has bloomed.
Passing by the vegetable garden, we see the first of the garden Morning Glories has bloomed.

Someone once sent me a quote from The Medicine Cards by Jamie Sans and David Carson:

If Deer has gently nudged its way into your cards today, you are being asked to find the gentleness of spirit that heals all wounds. Stop pushing so hard to get others to change, and love them as they are. Apply gentleness to your present situation and become like the summer breeze: warm and caring. This is your tool for solving the present dilemma you are facing. If you use it, you will connect with Sacred Mountain, your centering place of serenity, and Great Spirit will guide you.

…Deer teaches the need for compassion and kindness towards others and yourself. Don’t drive yourself so harshly! Be gentle with yourself, and you will cease to project your fears onto others. Deer is a power animal that is directing you towards a serenity of heart, mind and spirit.  Gentleness has the power to melt a heart of stone.

Sage and lavender in the scrounger's garden.
Sage and lavender in the scrounger’s garden.

As we walk to the scrounger’s garden, I think about applying gentleness, and about being as soft and warm as a summer breeze.

Young and old.
Young and old.

You are probably wondering what all the fuss is about.  I am still not feeling particularly well, and have had to make decisions about what I should do, but more importantly, about what I want to do, what I need to do.  And then I have to trust my decisions.

Did you know sunflowers are associated with healing?
Did you know sunflowers are associated with healing?

This morning, finally, I walked.  As I walked, my mind calmed and I found some clarity.  When I returned home, I took handfuls of vegetables and an apple or two and put them in the crock pot to make a healing, loving, nourishing vegetable broth.  I will sip on it for a day or two, helping my body to heal and settle down.

Bright and beautiful.
Bright and beautiful.

I have made other decisions, and now that I have, I want to continue our walk and let the rest go for now.  We can chat about the breeze, the flowers, the beauty of the day.  There is rain coming, and behind that, another fresh breeze to tone down summer’s heat.

Wild hair day.
Wild hair day.

Thank you for dropping by and taking a walk with me.  I hope you enjoyed the breeze as much as I did.  Where the deer ducked back into the woods, a little something was left behind.  Let’s go see what it is.

A small black-eyed susan.
A small black-eyed susan offers a little encouragement.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The crepe myrtles are blooming.
The crepe myrtles are blooming.

Today’s joys:  The patchwork of colors in the gardens; the beautiful breeze; a morning walk; the flowers in the meadows; the songs of the birds.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

28 thoughts on “A Wednesday walk

  1. The crepe myrtles are blooming here – I love the watermelon colored ones, but this house has a white variety that smells very sweet – so I’ve shaped it into a graceful tree to shade to sit under. A light breeze always makes the day.
    So you have a spirit animal, the deer. Even better than you have noticed.
    They don’t often come out during the day unless it is important.
    We saw a frantic doe out in mid day along a busy intersection/road fretting and darting. Managed to get the road blocked and she cautiously tripped across the road back to some woods – possibly a fawn hidden there – she was definitely on a mission and determined to cross that road instead of seeking shelter of woods/creek on the side of the road she was trapped on. Went by later and no sign of her, so fingers crossed the drifted back towards safety.
    They go where they will, but we must look out and accommodate them – the ones who merely seek to live and let live

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This decision making thing is such a mystery isn’t it. We make them and then second guess ourselves or distrust ourselves – well, I do anyway…… I have noticed that for me it is important to make a decision – otherwise I become fretful and feel panicky and not-in-control [which is another mystery to me – for when have I ever truly been ‘in control’?] When I make a decision and move myself into trust I soon find out if the decision was right or wrong – and that’s the wonderful thing about decisions they can be changed … up to a certain point. I pay attention to how I feel in the hours and days after making it – not to the fear – to the heart, to the gut. And I trust. I trust in the wisdom of the journey, in being in the experience I am having and knowing that all is well and the picture is bigger than I know and that this life is one of many, and the sum of who we are is added up in how we move through each of our chapters. Your woods know all this.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There are so many wonderful ideas and truths in your comment, Pauline, that I don’t know where to start. Thank you. 🙂 I love the idea that my woods know all this. No wonder it’s so calming to be out there among the trees.

      Like

  3. Your photos are so beautiful, as usual, but two I particularly like for their light are the path nearing the woods and the sage with lavender. My, my. I do hope you are able to make decisions that you feel are best and move forward with them. Pauline is right. Sometimes you have to trust yourself and move forward. And I’ve found sometimes movement is good in itself, because, of course, you can always change direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your walk today was so relaxing Robin. Every time you mention seeing a deer, I instantly remember your mother, she’s always with you though, with or without seeing deer, they are just her way of reminding you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Joanne. 🙂 You have such a remarkable memory. I am in awe. I do remember the first time you said my mother would always be with me, and it was (and still is) a comforting thought. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. trust our decisions. it´s the part I have more difficulties with most of the times. It´s all about fear, ultimately … glad to read your blogs as usual, even when I was lost somewhere and now trying to come back

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

