Posted in Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Garden, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: Life is what happens edition

A summer day in what was the Bare Meadow. Flowers are popping up all over.
A summer day in what was the Bare Meadow. Flowers are popping up all over.

All human plans [are] subject to ruthless revision by Nature, or Fate, or whatever one preferred to call the powers behind the Universe.

~ Arthur C. Clarke

Maurice.
Maurice.

If we were having coffee, I would be honest and tell you that I didn’t think I’d make it to this weekend’s coffee share.  I had other plans, but you know how it is with plans.  As Robbie Burns put it:

The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men,
Gang aft agley.

Queen Anne's Lace
Queen Anne’s Lace

As I’ve been mentioning for the past two weeks, this weekend was about getting together with family.  As we were preparing to do just that, we received some unsettling news about another family member, and now we are waiting to hear what is going on with him.  If you’re so inclined, please say a prayer or two.  That’s about all I can say about the situation right now.

Almost finished for the season.
Almost finished for the season.

That was a poor welcome, wasn’t it?  Hugs if you’re accepting them.  I appreciate having you here while I wait.  Help yourself to whatever you would prefer to drink.  We have tea (a wide variety of regular and herbals), coffee, water, red or white wine, and beer.  I’ll be having tea.  Maybe a nice, calming chamomile.

How are you?  What have you been up to for the past week?  Please, have a seat on the porch and help me keep my mind distracted from worrisome thoughts by telling me all about what’s happening with you.  Have you read any good books?  Seen any good movies?  Gone on any good walks?

Spending time in the flower garden.
Spending time in the flower garden.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it has been a hectic week.  Yesterday in particular was busy, and I was exhausted by the end of the day.

Summer fruit.
Summer fruit.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my heart and mind really aren’t into chatting today.  Let’s just sit here and watch the clouds.  We might get some storms later.  There is a big rain system moving north of us and we will probably get clipped with a tail that’s dragging to the south.  We are under a tornado watch until 8:00 PM.  Let’s hope the bay helps the storms dissipate before they get here.

Blossoming together.
Blossoming together.

If we were having coffee, I would thank you for visiting with me today.  I’m sorry this is such a short visit.  I would have cancelled but I thought this might help me take my mind off of things for a few moments.  I do enjoy your company, and appreciate that you were able to sit here with me for a few minutes.

Clouds from Thursday's storms when we received about 2.5 inches of rain.
Clouds from Thursday’s storms when we received about 2.5 inches of rain.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.

It's nice to have someone to talk to even when you can't talk.
It’s nice to have someone to talk to even when you can’t talk.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Put on the kettle, start the coffee maker, open a bottle of wine, or whatever your preference is, and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

20 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: Life is what happens edition

  1. Oh dear. I’m so sorry your family is struggling with something. Prayers are and will be sent. And hugs to you all too. Lets just sit here quietly and watch the clouds. And remember to breath. Big hugs.

    Like

  2. If we were having coffee, I’d sit and prattle on about loads of little things, things that didn’t really need thinking about, or answers so you wouldn’t have to think.
    I’d tell you I had to go and buy a swimsuit for my holidays, how I picked up the size I’ve dieted down to, and the size I was just incase and headed to the changing room.
    I’d tell you how I got the smaller size on but because it was one of those suits which pulled and pushed things into the right place, everything left outside the swimsuit looked bigger. :-/
    I gave in and comforted myself with the fact that cheaper shops usually had smaller sizes but I was horrified when the next size up looked even worse.
    Every now and again I like something enough to ignore the label so I sent Hubby to find the even bigger size.
    It looked like a tent on me!!
    I checked back at the ones I’d already tried and it turned out that the wrong sizes were on the wrong hangers.
    To Hubby’s despair he ended up waiting outside the changing room for a third time but this time it fits in all the right places. 🙂
    Fingers crossed for good news for you in the next few days. 🙂

    Like

  3. Of course I’ll accept that hug and before leaving, I’m offering you one! It sounds like you need one. I’m so sorry you and your family are going through this unsettled and unsettling time. Please take care. I hope things resolve themselves for the best. Hugs. Prayers. Positive Energy!

    Like

  4. So sorry to hear you’ve gotten distressing news. May your weekend be as peaceful as possible!

    And just so you know. This summer I’m going on two-month RV trip with my nearing-ninety Godmother and her cat Pepe le Mew. I leave for the US in a week. The RV is huge, 37-feet. My Godmother will be driving and towing an SUV the entire way. She was a Flamenco dancer during her entire professional life. I’m going to try to blog about our trip and write a book about the 64 beautiful years she and my Godfather, a Venezuelan movie star (I kid you not!), were married, until Raul died last fall one month shy of his 97th birthday.

    Hang in there, Robinl. Sorry to have been away so long!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  5. Good morning, I hope you’ve received some good news by now and that all is as well as can be. The pictures are lovely as usual, and have a soothing feel to them.

    Like

  6. Sorry to hear that the Fates have disrupted your much-looked-forward-to visit. Prayer and light sent your way for the Highest Good to be served. I think sitting on the porch, walking in Nature and deep breathing is the order of the day/week. Looking for the best possible outcome.
    As always, I am soothed by your beautiful photos, meadow, flowers and sky. ❤

    Like

  7. Thank you all so much for your comments, thoughts, and prayers. There are still some challenges and hurdles to get over, but at least things have stabilized for now. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

