Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Health & Well-Being, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather

Into the sauna

Great Crested Flycatcher
Great Crested Flycatcher

Dawn, then, was a time where things changed element for element.  Air ran like hot spring waters nowhere, with no sound.  The lake was a quantity of steam very still and deep over valleys of fish and sand held baking under its serene vapors.  Tar was poured licorice in the streets, red bricks were brass and gold, roof tops were paved with bronze.  The high-tension wires were lightning held forever, blazing, a threat above the unslept houses.

The cicadas sang louder yet louder.

The sun did not rise, it overflowed.

~ Ray Bradbury, Dandelion Wine

Before the humidity became so overwhelming.
When the air still felt clear and fresh, before the humidity became so overwhelming.  Hard to believe it was just last week.

It is early morning as I start this post, the sun just coming up over the treetops on the horizon.  Sunrise today is a lot like Bradbury’s description.  The sun isn’t just rising.  It’s overflowing.  There are streaks of orange, yellow, and pink spilling into and across the clouds.  The window I am trying to look out of is beginning to steam up, a clash between the muggy air outside and the not-quite-coolness of the air conditioning inside.  The air conditioning keeps things bearable, but it is struggling to cool the hot air.

Lavender during the sunset golden hour.
Lavender during the sunset golden hour.

We had storms yesterday evening.  Rain poured and poured and poured from the sky.  Lightning flashed and flashed and flashed, bringing the rumbles and booms of thunder with it.  The clouds were the blackest storm clouds I’ve seen since my encounter with a tornado all those many years ago.  At one point it looked as though one of the black clouds was descending to earth, but M said no, it was just brushing the tops of the trees.  Nothing to worry about.

Beauty at sunset.
Beauty at sunset.

I got up early today to get ready for one of those medical appointments I mentioned in our coffee chat.  I am having a CT scan done today.  I have never had one, and the new when it comes to anything medically related, always makes me nervous.  To help with that, I exercised vigorously (and gave thanks many times for the air conditioner).  Because there is to be no food or drink for four hours before the scan, I had a good breakfast and drank copious amounts of water in hopes it will keep me hydrated.  Four hours is not a long time, but in this heat, thirst comes quickly.

Little suns in the garden.
Little suns in the garden.

I’m going to meditate in a bit because it is another good way to keep calm and cool and collected.

Orange delight.
Orange delight.

By the time I finish, it will be time to shower, get dressed, and head out the door.  I’ll schedule this post for later.  If I have time, I’ll come back and add to it.  In the meantime, it looks like enough.

Daylily at sunset.
Daylily at sunset.

Thank you for stopping by today.  I’m not sure where I’ll be for sunset (which is at 8:27 PM).  Probably in the pool unless a cool breeze blows in and makes it bearable enough to sit on the dock or stand on the beach at the Point.  There is a cold front coming and tomorrow the high will be in the mid-80’s instead of the mid-90’s.  I bet it will feel refreshing.

Cool blue.
Cool blue.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Sunlight in the shadows.
Sunlight in the shadows.

Today’s joys:  Getting one test out of the way (and surviving it in spite of all my worries…lol!); air conditioning (this is likely to appear frequently as something I am grateful to have); a big, fresh salad for lunch; a beautiful morning meditation; a beautiful sunrise.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

12 thoughts on “Into the sauna

  1. I’m pleased to hear you survived the ‘new’ medical procedure! Right now I cannot imagine heat such as you describe. I know it exists because I have experienced it – but it is so bone chillingly cold in my part of the world the memory refuses to go there. Isn’t it strange how quickly we forget! Yay for air conditioning and heating!

    Like

  2. What beautiful flowers you have. That zinnia is just perfect. I’m glad you prepared so well and all went well. I, of course, am still basking in all the heat and humidity. My skin feels renewed. But I won’t complain about tomorrow either! So relieved to be out of what seemed an everlasting deep freeze! And the lovely thing about humidity is how it holds all those scents–roses and honeysuckle and whiffs of magnolia. On the other hand, it’s awfully nice to have the air conditioner when it’s time for bed!

    Like

  3. Hope your day went as well as your morning , Robin, and the news will be good . Storms all around us , but not over us tonight . That was quite a huge system last night and I am glad it passed, leaving only rain behind . May all be well with you . Love your photos , as always . I recognize that hot, sunset light .

    Like

  4. We could use some of the heat you describe when I am right now. But I guess I will just have to endured chilly weather as you hot. Nevertheless your images are gorgeous. I hope everything goes well with you.

    Like

  5. Robin, I think of you often when I’m watching our local weather report and the camera scans down the map to your area, which is almost always much hotter than it is here. The metaphor of the sun overflowing is so apt. Haven’t had a sunrise like that yet this summer but I’m sure one will come sooner or later. Your flowers are so sunny!

    Hope all goes well with your medical tests and that the news will be good!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

