Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Garden, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Weather

As simple as a rose

Individual.
Individual.

Life is as simple as a rose — there’s nothing complicated about it — and yet it is mysterious.  Although there is nothing complicated about it, we are not able to comprehend it through the intellect.  You can fall in love with a rose, you can smell it, you can touch it, you can feel it, you can even be it, but if you start dissecting it, you will only have something dead in your hands.

~ Osho

Almost
Almost

I was up very early this morning, and had the opportunity to watch the sunrise.  I didn’t actually see the sun itself because it was so cloudy and rain was on the way, but the clouds echoed the morning’s awakening colors of pink, gold, and red.  I don’t have pictures to show you.  It was better to watch rather than record.  If I were to add a touch more red to the rose pictured above, I would come close to showing you this morning’s sunrise colors.

One in the crowd.
One in the crowd.

I had hoped to go for a walk before the rains came, but I lazed around longer than I should have if I wanted to beat the wet weather.  I don’t regret the lazing around or the rain (both are needed for varying reasons), but it was refreshingly cool (in the 50’s) and I think it would have been an opportunity to go out without being swarmed by black flies, deer flies, and mosquitoes.  We are well into tick season, too, so cool weather is most welcome if it keeps the insect population quiet and scarce for a day or two.

The crowd.
The crowd.

Life is funny, isn’t it?  It should be simple, but we often make things complicated by the simple act of analyzing it when what we should be doing is simply being, doing, and living.

Painting a pink rose.
Painting a pink rose.

I saw my doctor yesterday, and she confirmed what I already knew.  I have one hell of an upper respiratory infection.  I would have let it play out for another week or so, but my eyes got involved in the process.  It was time to get some assistance.  Of course that means antibiotics again, something I really hoped to avoid.

Scrounger's garden roses.
Scrounger’s garden roses.

I find myself wondering about why 2015 has been the year of illness for me.  Some say that when you keep getting sick, your body is trying to tell you something.  Maybe it’s telling you to rest, relax, stop letting things stress you out.  Or maybe it’s telling you to move more, eat healthier, spend more time meditating.  There may well be infinite messages the body can be conveying through illness and injury, and your job, so they say, is to figure out what those messages might be.

Fighting life only saps our energy, blocking us from the love, healing and compassion available to us from our own hearts.  Once we accept our given reality, our energy shifts.  Release happens.

~ Susan Santucci

May 2015C 004ab
Unfolding.

The more I try to figure things out, the more complicated it all becomes.  As much as I like to analyze and research, I think it is time to just be sick.  Instead of fighting illness, it’s time to surrender to it.  Instead of thinking of sickness as a betrayal, it’s time to be grateful to my body for all that it does, and has been doing, to heal and bring me back to a state of good health.

Bordering.
Bordering.

Pretty simple, really.  Just be with what is.

Gone wild.
Gone wild.

I reckon that’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this rainy Thursday.  Thank you for visiting, and keeping me company while I learn how to follow my own closing advice…

Greenery.
Greenery.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Almost finished for the season.  (Peony.)
Almost finished for the season.  The heavy rain this afternoon has knocked most of the peonies over and helped them shed their petals.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “As simple as a rose

  1. Get well soon wishes poured out in your direction, Robin. I”m so sorry to hear about the URI in this hot, muggy May. And we are both enjoying this rainy, cool, yin day, made for rest 😉 Love photos of your roses, too, Robin. My daughter has strep at the moment. I thought these were winter struggles, best left behind when spring comes. But with the heavy pollen and allergy season, it is hard for our bodies to keep clearing themselves week after week. I hope the Rx work their magic and bring you back to balance. It is a good day for napping, and I hope you’ve allowed yourself some rest. Best wishes, WG

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Elizabeth. 🙂 It certainly has been a heavy allergy season. The trees, especially, exploded with pollen this year. Yesterday was a wonderful napping day. Today looks like the perfect day to spend on the porch, reading, resting, and napping.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like a great agenda to me 😉 Perhaps it will be cool enough again for cups of tea with honey. We’re having another wave of pollen here, and I’m reacting to it. What a long pollen season! I guess that is the trade-off for ‘lush.’

        Like

  2. When I get sick, I do think of it as my body telling me to slow down. If at all possible, I take that to mean sleeping around the clock for however long it takes. Otherwise things tend to just drag on. So much easier to do now that I’m retired. Not that the same thing might work for everyone. My dearly departed would ‘work off’ most of his ills.

    Like

    1. It may be time for me to do just that, Gunta. Sleep until I get well. My husband works off his ills, too, but then again, so do I. It used to work, but it looks like I need a different approach this time around. 🙂

      Like

  3. I am lots older than you and I remember years when I was sick all the time, always associated with stress and for me, high blood pressure. Now I have aches but I am so well all the time. I think it’s retirement, mostly stress free and less time in crowds of people. Drink lots of water! Jane

    Like

  4. Eight years ago, I had pneumonia and remember very clearly lying on my couch one day looking out at the trees in the sunlight and thinking, “there is nothing you have to do.” It was liberating to realize that and relax into getting well. We all have those years when for what ever reason we get colds and flu and one thing after another. Sometimes we can figure out why. Sometimes not. Just relax and get well.

    Like

  5. Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling better, let’s hope the antibiotics help. My naturopath recommends popping the probiotics opposite the times you take the antibiotic, to keep you from being wiped out of the good guys. Do you ever read Louise Hay’s ‘You Can Heal Your Life?’ I consult it when something is up with my body – she has an appendix in the back that lists body parts and illnesses with corresponding triggers. “Lungs: the ability to take in life. (You were feeling overwhelmed recently, you took a blogging break as I recall.) Problems with lungs: Depression. Grief. Fear of taking in life. Not feeling worthy of living life fully. Positive new thought pattern: I take in life in perfect balance. I have the capacity to take in the fullness of life. I lovingly live life to the fullest.”
    Just information to use or discard, but I thought I would offer it for your own introspection. Maybe your body is asking you to just BE for a while.
    Beautiful roses, the peonies go too soon, don’t they? I’m currently enjoying lilacs and lily of the valley – so heavenly. Wishing you a speedy recovery – Blessings! ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Eliza. 🙂 It’s funny that you mentioned Louise Hay’s book. I recently put that on my wish list. I was looking into sinusitis, and apparently Louise Hay sees it as irritation towards one person, usually someone close. I found that interesting because the onset of this illness followed irritation with someone. Louise Hay’s affirmation is: “I declare peace and harmony surround me at all times!” I should have read that before the trip. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As Zazu in Lion King said, “There’s one in every family, sire. Two in mine, actually.” I remember that line often when I’m dealing with mine. Humor and release, that’s about all one can do.
        Isn’t it amazing how much clarity L.H. can bring to a situation? “Was blind, but now I see.” Every bit of awareness helps us come back into balance. Hope you are finding your balance once again. Blessings!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maybe you find the family member negative because you are negative to them. Nothing is either good or bad that thinking makes it so.

        Like

        1. Tis true, Anonymous in Michigan. It’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it? It’s hard when the lines of communication aren’t open enough to discuss it, and it’s possible what I think are positive overtures are being perceived as negative and vice versa.

          Like

  6. I enjoy reading you… health is very important in our lives… much more what we thought being young.I have had 5 operations one on my heart, though I’ve lived well, taking care on some situations. As i’ve fallen 3 or 4 times, my back many times says; ” I am tired of having pains!!!!!”, and it’s trrue, I feel tired many days, i’d like to lay more hours, and on the other side I command myself…”No… go for a walk if not bones will get lazy!”… So Robin, you aren’t the only one to get flu or other sickness!!! Cheer up my friend.
    Roses are beautiful and I’m glad to bear this name Rose… in Spanish Rosa.

    Like

  7. Sorry you’re feeling so lousy. Hope things are improving as we move into the long weekend.
    Your roses and peonies are lovely – wishes for you to be well and outside enjoying their wonderful scent as soon as possible!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

