Posted in Earth, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Life, Mindfulness, Nature, Ohio, Photography, Portals & Pathways

Pond reflections

Pond impressionism.
Pond impressionism.

A pool is the eye of the garden in whose candid depths is mirrored its advancing grace.

~ Lousie Bebe Wilder

Along the edge.
Along the edge.

How about another walk around the pond at Breezy Acres?  I have been sorting through the photos from my trip to Ohio, and thought I’d share a few more with you.  Because I’m still ill (and will be seeing the doctor tomorrow because the flu is growing more complicated), this is pretty much the only walking I’m doing right now.

The house at Breezy Acres.  For those who are new to my blog, the back of the house is painted in sunset colors.  The other two-thirds are a conservative shade of gray.
A (flipped) reflection of the house at Breezy Acres. For those who are new to my blog, the back of the house is painted in sunset colors. The other two-thirds are a conservative shade of gray.  M and I decided to paint the back in sunset colors after we were out on the pond in the pedal boat one evening at sunset, watching the colors reflected back at us in the windows.

The weather is a factor, too.  It’s been hot, humid, and generally stuffy.  I’m not sure if we set a record high yesterday or not, but do know it was 87°F by 11:00 AM.  I forgot to check later in the day to see how hot it managed to get.  There is a cool front coming through tonight, and tomorrow should be much better.  Unfortunately, we did not and will not get much rain from this latest weather system, and we really could use a good dousing.  It did rain heavily for about five minutes sometime in the middle of the night, with lots of lightning and thunder accompanying it.  That’s better than nothing at all, and I’m sure the garden plants are grateful for what they did get.

Looking out at Dandelion Hill.
Looking out at Dandelion Hill.

Would you believe I have nothing to chat about today?  It’s true.  Words are slow to come, and I all I can think to write about is the weather.  My blog has always been a bit of a diary for me, recording what goes on around here as well as my travels and adventures.

Ripples
Ripples

The problem is that I have not been doing much of anything lately.  I have listened to a few talks from the Hay House World Summit.  Some of the talks have presented new (to me) ideas, and some have involved ideas I’m familiar with.  I did enjoy a rather nice healing meditation this morning.  It was at the end of a talk given by Heather Dane.  She mentions a green healing light in the meditation, and that’s what prompted me to have a look at some of the pictures I took during my walks around the pond at Breezy Acres.  Even though spring was just getting started (you can see in some of the photos that the trees hadn’t completely leafed out yet), there was still plenty of green to be found.

Waiting.  (Another flipped reflection.)
Waiting. (Another flipped reflection.)

One good thing about being sick is that it has given me the luxury to listen to talks, to read a little, to meditate, to stare out the window and watch the leaves on the trees dance in the wind.

Another version of the first reflection.
Another version of the first image in this post.

I also have plenty of time to sit and sort through my photos, and get caught up with myself in that regard.  I have even played around a little in Photoshop, experimenting for the fun of it.

The world is a dream.  (Flipped reflection of trees at the back of the pond.)
The world is a dream. (Flipped reflection of trees at the back of the pond.)

I took the above photo, and added a painting-like effect to get this:

Medicinal use.
Medicinal use.

I should have flipped it (as I did with “The world is a dream,” but I like it better upside down, the way it was taken.

Leaning in.
Leaning in.

Looking at these images, I think the pond reflections are one of the main reasons I miss Breezy Acres.  The lagoon and creek here don’t reflect as well, mostly because they are always moving with the tides.  The pond in Ohio is often a big mirror, although there usually are ripples from the fish or the wind.

Reaching out.
Reaching out.

Well, I reckon that’s enough rambling about nothing in particular from me for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by, and keeping me company as I continue to recover from a particularly nasty version of the flu.  I’m going to sit on the porch and watch the sunset (which is at 8:10 PM today).  You’re welcome to join me.  I promise I won’t pass along the flu germs.  I wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy, let alone good friends.

Morning light.  (When M and I planted those willows, they were nothing more than skinny little sticks with roots.)
Morning light. (When M and I planted those willows to the right, they were nothing more than skinny little sticks with roots.)

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The whole 1.5 acres of pond.
The whole 1.5 acres of pond.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “Pond reflections

  1. LOVE your pond photos – I can see why you miss it, it is lovely. I hope you kick this flu ASAP, so sorry to hear it is dragging you down. Thanks for reminding me about HHS, I had forgotten about it. A good thing to listen to while healing!

    Like

  2. Nothing is better than a pond. Dreams, real imaginations, past, future, tears, nothings – all there – it’s the only multiple choice worth viewing and valuing.
    (And the ripples – I like them – wrinkles changing everything – reminder you can’t control, just be.)

    Like

  3. We’ve had a fair amount of rain recently – a very good thing since we had a dry winter. I think most of the rain is stuck in the middle of the country.
    Feel better soon – this year’s flu seems to cling on and on, from what I’ve heard.

    Like

  4. Do the best to get better!!!! When one doesn’t feel well… it’s like being in the dums, so it’s an order…get well!!!!! Your pictures of the Pond reflectiosns are almost all of them very good,.
    I’m reading a book by Haruki Makurami -I like this Japanese writer- and i recomend his books very much, Usually I read both in Spanish or English, but this one is in my mother tongue, Spanish, and the translation of the title is not in English, it’s -I think- his last one- and it’s about a boy whose friend’s names are colours, excet his. The book is interesting.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Rosa. I appreciate the order to get well. I will do my best. 🙂 I’ve read several of Haruki Murakami’s books, and enjoyed every one of them. I have his new on on my book wish list. It’s called (in English) “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage.” I can see how that might be difficult to translate.

      Like

  5. Oh Robin, I do hope that nasty flu will run its course soon – can’t think of many things worse than being sick when it is so hot outside. It’s good you’re finding ways to pass the time and distract yourself. Loving your experiments with flipped reflections… Sending healing thoughts your way…

    Like

  6. It’s so great to visit Breezy Acres with you again! Sorry to hear that you are not well though, there’s nothing worse than a cold during hot weather. 😦 I hope the doctor can prescribe a good fix-up potion for you. Take care. xxx

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

