Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Garden, Gifts, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee: The malevolent flu edition

coffee2No coffee can be good in the mouth that does not first send a sweet offering of odor to the nostrils.

~ Henry Ward Beecher

Blue-eyed grass
Blue-eyed grass

If we were having coffee, I’d be happy to see you again, but I would ask you to keep your distance.  This flu I picked up on my travels is a doozy, and you really don’t want it.  Poor M has caught it now, too, so it’s a good thing, at least this time around, that these coffee chats take place in cyberspace rather than in real time and space at my home.

So.  How are you?  What have you been up to lately?  Have you taken any good walks?  Read any good books?  Watched any good films?

Chive talkin'
Chive talkin’

I just finished reading the third book in the Southern Reach Trilogy.  According to Wikipedia, Paramount has bought the movie rights to the series so maybe we’ll have some good films to look forward to based on the books.  It is difficult to describe the series.  One of the descriptions on the book states that they are psychological thrillers, and that’s true.  I found it difficult to put the books down, wanting to find out what happens next.  The odd thing, in the end, is that I am still not entirely sure what happened, but that’s all I can tell you without giving away what I think the books are about.

Common vetch.  (I think.)
Common vetch. (I think.)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it has been a slow week.  I’ve been busy resting and haven’t spent much time outdoors.  Just some short walks every now and then.  I went out to the scrounger’s garden this morning with every intention of planting some oregano, putting down some more mulch on the path I am creating, and doing a bit of weeding, but I didn’t last more than 10-15 minutes.  The heat and humidity made me feel worse.

Knock Out Roses.
Knock Out Roses.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that the pink, old English-style roses are in bloom.  Normally I’d be carrying on about their wonderful scent but, alas, I can’t smell them right now.  Hmph.  Still, they are lovely to look at, and worth the walk out there just to see them.

Pink rose in the scrounger's garden.
Pink rose in the scrounger’s garden.

We finally got a bit of much-needed rain last night, but not enough to thoroughly soak things the way they need to be soaked.  We have rain in the forecast for the next few days before another cool front arrives.  I’ve been doing my rain dance every now and then in hopes of getting a good soaking rain.  We’ve been watering but, as any gardener well knows, watering with a hose doesn’t seem to promote the same kind of healthy growth that rain water does.  Mostly it keeps the flowers and veggies alive long enough to wait for a good rainfall.

Before the mowing and leveling.
Before the mowing and leveling.

If we were having coffee, I bet you noticed the Bare Meadow on your way in.  That’s how I think of it right now.  We have had a few visitors to the Bare Meadow.  The wild turkeys seem to love it.  I keep waiting for the males to break out in their mating display and strut, but it might be too late in the season for that.

A before and after.  I think this was the first cut made.
A before and after. I think this was the first cut made.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that two Bald Eagles came by right after the mowing.  Turkey Vultures have been picking around out there, too.  I don’t like to think about it, but I’m sure “the leveler” caught a few critters along the way.  The eagles were interested in the fresh kills.  The vultures, of course, are okay with it being aged a bit.

Bald Eagles looking for remains.
Bald Eagles looking for remains.

I have not taken a very extensive walk out in the Bare Meadow because I want to wait until the clean-up is accomplished.  I am extremely grateful to Mother Nature for providing a clean-up crew.

The Leveler.
The Leveler.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that we should have thought about leaving a hedgerow out near the road.  With all the trees and tall shrubs gone, we can see straight out to the road now, and cars going by can see straight back to the house.  I keep wondering how many people have driven by so far thinking, “I didn’t know there was a house back there!”

Looking straight out towards the road.  The large clump of dark pines in the background are the Mysterious Woods across the street from the ranch.
Looking straight out towards the road. The large clump of dark pines in the background are the Mysterious Woods across the street from the ranch.

If we were having coffee, I would imagine it’s time for you to go.  I don’t think we’ll see much of a sunset this evening so it’s not worth the walk out to the dock or a drive down to the Point.   If you’d like to stay, just in case the sky clears, we can watch from the porch the way we did the other day.  That way the black flies won’t bother us.  Everyone seems to have a different name for the black flies.  Our petsitter calls them Mayflies.  Some call them biting flies (simple and direct) while others refer to them as She-flies.  That’s accurate since it’s the females who do the biting.

Looking to the right.  The line of trees and shrubs you see in the background are part of the next third that will have to be mowed.
Looking to the right. The line of trees and shrubs you see in the background are part of the next third that will have to be mowed.

Thank you so much for visiting with me.  Take good care of yourself, and I hope to see you again next week.

Looking to the left.  Some of the last third is off in that direction.
Looking to the left. Some of the last third is off in that direction.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

The Knock-Out Roses are doing exceptionally well this year.
The Knock-Out Roses are doing exceptionally well this year.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Grab a cuppa of whatever your preference is and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Awakening.
Awakening.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: The malevolent flu edition

  1. How long until the Bare Meadow starts to fill in again? I hope you and M get over this flu bug quickly.

    Add always, I enjoyed the look around your part of the world.

    Like

    1. If we get some rain, which we really need, it might grow back fairly quickly, Corina. I’m always amazed at how fast things grow here.

      Thank you. 🙂 I think I turned a corner today when my fever broke. At least I hope so.

      Like

  2. Darn the malevolent flu! At the very least I hope your sense of smell returns soon, so you can really enjoy the essence of those beautiful roses! The mowing is rather apocalyptic isn’t it – what a difference! Will the road privacy hedgerow regrow naturally or will you need to replant it? Be well!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Pauline. 🙂 I think it will regrow naturally. Things grow quickly here. All we need is a good day or two of rain, and all sorts of things will be sprouting up out there. “Apocalyptic” is the perfect word for it. I can’t believe how empty it looks.

      Like

  3. Sorry to hear about the flu. I’ve been a bit under the weather for an unknown cause. Just very tired and running on empty, but finally made it out to the yard for some weeding today. It’s the perfect day for it, though a bit too warm for my taste. The roses are to die for… may you get to smell them before they fade. We’re supposed to head up north along the coast for a couple of days. May even do some kayaking. Hope the energy level continues to rise.

    Like

  4. Ack! You’re sick again??!! How frustrating. It looks beautiful by you though. Hopefully you’ll be back up to your daily walk and tick inspections.

    I finished this book the other day by Elle Luna and really enjoyed it. I’ve moved on to “Start With Why” by Simon Sinek. For everyone who’s raved about it, I’m not too enthused so far.

    http://www.brainpickings.org/2015/05/05/the-crossroads-of-should-and-must-elle-luna/

    I got a job offer but it pays no relocation. It’s by my daughter though. So we’ve been crunching numbers like mad and looking into various options. I turned them down once and they came back again, so I’m really hesitant to just turn it down a second time. But I’m not sure what to do either.

    Nancy

    Like

    1. Yep, sick again, Nancy, and yes, it’s extremely frustrating. I feel like I do everything right in terms of self-care, but I keep getting sick anyway. Hopefully this will be the last of it for a while. I’m probably going to have to see a doc soon since the sinus infection is getting pretty bad.

      That sounds like a tough decision. I think I would struggle with it, too, especially if it involved being closer to my children and/or grandchildren. I hope the right answer comes to you soon. 🙂

      Like

  5. If we were having coffee Robin, I think we’d have this nice talk, then hopefully sit back and maybe just rock for a bit. Do you have rocking chairs outside? I love rocking chairs in the evening, or when I’m not feeling well. Or in the morning early. Though I seldom that chance….but some weekend mornings I do. Not often, but when I do. I hope you feel better. Soon.

    Like

    1. I do have a rocking chair on the back porch, CM. I call it my Granny Chair. It’s the perfect place to sit and rock.
      Thank you. Soon would be very good. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Dawn. 🙂 I’m glad someone got a chuckle out of that (especially since I ended up with the Bee Gees singing in my head as a result).

      Like

  6. If we were having coffee, I’d sniff your roses and try to describe the scent to you. I’d tell you how lovely they and your peony are (that is a peony, right?). I’d tell you how much I hope both of you feel better very soon – springtime is such a wonderful season, it’s sad to be ill and not be able to enjoy it. I’ve heard the flu that was going around in our area clings and clings and resists leaving. I hope yours is not like that. I recently finished reading “One Lane Bridge” – I think it was a Bookbub selection – and enjoyed it. I watched about half of “The Grand Budapest Hotel” the other night, but it was not my kind of movie and I decided House Hunters would be better than it was. Tonight perhaps I’ll watch the Billboard awards or perhaps I’ll watch something in my Netflix watch list – I want to see the new series “Grace and Frankie”, so that’s an option. And now I must go, I’m sure you’d like to rest, so until we have coffee another time. . .

    Like

    1. Thank you, Carol. 🙂 I appreciate that. And yes, it is a peony. “The Grand Budapest Hotel” was an odd film, that’s for sure. I kind of enjoyed it, but it took me a while to really get into it. M didn’t care for it much at all. I’ve heard about “Grace and Frankie” and planned to add that to my Netflix queue when we finish “House of Cards.” We’re finally watching the second season (now that everyone else seems to be watching the third).

      Like

    1. Thank you, David. 🙂 It does seem a shame to be missing out on the wonderful scents that are going on right now. The roses came with the property and I was thrilled to find the heirloom roses especially because of their scent. The hybrid tea roses seem to have the scent bred right out of them.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

