Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Home, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, WeekendCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee

coffee2I bought a decaffeinated coffee table, you can’t even see a difference.

~ Author Unknown

Remember my last post when I mentioned that we might see a rainbow near sunset?  Guess what?  We did!
Remember my last post when I mentioned that we might see a rainbow near sunset? Guess what? We did!

Sounds like a Steven Wright joke to me, but this is the Steven Wright version:

Last week I went to a furniture store to look for a decaffeinated coffee table. They couldn’t help me.

If we were having coffee, I would be happy to see you again.  Come on in, and let’s get you dried off.  I’m sorry you got caught in the rain, but have to admit I am pleased as punch that it’s raining.  I’ll tell you why in a minute or two.

There might be a pot of gold in the woods behind the lagoon.
There might be a pot of gold in the woods behind the lagoon.  It’s probably hiding with the pirate’s treasure we haven’t found yet.

Let’s sit in the living room today where it’s nice and warm.  The weather sure cooled off the past few days, didn’t it?.  Thank goodness it didn’t cool off too much since we already had some vegetables planted.  It did get down in the upper 30’s last night, but everything seems to have weathered it just fine.  I’ve been enjoying the cooler weather, especially since we’ve had a few hot days in between.  I am not ready for the heat and humidity of summer, and don’t mind this mild spring at all.

Blues and greens of spring.
Blues and greens of spring.

How are you?  What have you been up to this week?  Have you seen any good movies?  Read any good books?  Listened to any good music?  Traveled anywhere?

Since we last chatted, M and I watched Ghost World, another indie film.  I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would based on the description on the Netflix sleeve that came with the DVD.  I don’t know who writes the descriptions, but I am glad I don’t base my movie choices on them.  M and I are so slow at getting through our Netflix queue that we’re watching movies from ten or more years ago, and I never remember why I put them in the queue.  Maybe it was a film we wanted to see at a film festival, but didn’t get a chance, or a friend recommended it.

As for books, I haven’t finished what I was reading last week so nothing new to report there.

Thursday, looking at the scrounger's garden.
Thursday, looking at the scrounger’s garden.

I do have a wee bit of bad news, but it’s hardly a crisis.  There appears to be dust on the sensor of my big girl camera (the Canon Rebel).  There are no camera shops in the area so I’ll wait until we take a trip out to Ohio and get it taken care of somewhere out there.  Probably in Columbus where there is a shop that is authorized by Canon (and Nikon) to do sensor cleanings and other repairs.  That way I don’t have to ship it out.  In the meantime, I’ll use Photoshop to deal with the dust and/or use my old Kodak.

It probably won't take you long to spot the dust.  I photoshopped it out of the rainbow pictures.
It probably won’t take you long to spot the dust. I Photoshopped it out of the rainbow pictures.

If we were having coffee, I would mention that I have spent a lot of time outdoors this week.  Sometimes I went for long walks, enjoying the brisk temperatures and gusty winds.  Sometimes I worked in the scrounger’s garden, or had a seat on one of the benches and allowed myself to just be.

See how green it's getting?
See how green it’s getting?

Today I went to a local nursery and picked up a bunch of plants to put in the scrounger’s garden.

Behind the scrounger's garden.  The big tree is a cherry tree.
Behind the scrounger’s garden. The big tree is a cherry tree.

I bought sage, rosemary, lavender (the lavender I planted last year weathered winter so well I decided to pop in a couple more), thyme, catnip (which will go in a pot because I have enough mint on the property, thank you very much), marigolds, echinacea (purple coneflowers), lupines, dahlias, and lobelia.  I might be missing something, but I don’t think so.  The newly purchased and planted flowers and herbs are the reason why I am so thrilled it is raining.  Mother Nature can water everything for me.

I also came home with a bunch of different tomato and pepper plants.  M got those planted in the veggie garden.  He is faster than I am at planting, and it seemed as though it only took him about ten minutes to get everything into the ground.  It took me all afternoon to get the flowers and herbs in.

Flowers and herbs.
Flowers and herbs.

In the greenhouse I have zinnias started, and will have to put them in the ground soon.  I hope to get some oregano started, but may end up buying a plant or two somewhere since it takes so long to get it growing.

Today.
Today.  Good grief.  It looks like the grass needs mowed again!  Seems like I just did it.

It smells wonderful out in the scrounger’s garden.  There is mint underfoot (the whole area was overgrown with mint when we bought the place) and the cherry blossoms are perfuming the air.  I really need to get the cocoa mulch spread out on the path so it will add to the scents out there.

Mulch and more mulch.
Mulch and more mulch, but not cocoa mulch.  That’s in the greenhouse right now.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I wish we had brought our chipper/shredder with us so I could make my own mulch.  We have plenty of brush to chip and shred, that’s for sure.  We left the chipper/shredded in Ohio.  M the Younger and his lovely wife (who are renting our Ohio house from us) use it from time to time to do some clean up around the pond.

We had our second spring bonfire today.  The rain has probably doused it and put it out by now which is good.  Everything we needed to burn was burned.  I think that’s it for the spring bonfires.  It’s nice to get rid of the burn piles.  It makes the place look much neater.

I don't think the chairs are trustworthy.  Better to stand.  Maybe someday I'll put a bench in the scrounger's garden.
I don’t think the chairs are trustworthy. Better to stand. Maybe someday I’ll put a bench in the scrounger’s garden.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that M found a big box full of plates out near the trailer (the one behind the pavilion).  I will use some of them to edge the future beds in the scrounger’s garden.  There are coffee cups and saucers with the plates, and I’m wondering if I can make a water feature of some kind with them (similar to what you see sitting on the table in the photo above, although there’s no water going to it right now because I was testing out how it would look, and would probably — likely — ditch the candle sitting on top).

The cherry tree by the scrounger's garden is weighed down with blossoms this year.
The cherry tree by the scrounger’s garden is weighed down with blossoms this year.

If we were having coffee, it would probably be about time for you to go.  I don’t want to hold you up too long, but you should know you’re welcome to stay longer if you like.  I think M and I are going to watch a movie tonight, something a little more recent (Gone Girl).  I read the book last year, and will try to watch the movie without thinking about the book.  It’s best that way.  Hopefully I won’t fall asleep before it’s over.  All the fresh air and exercise today have left me relaxed and somewhat drowsy.  Anyhow, if you’d like to stay for the movie, I’ll meet you in the man-cave.  I want to pop some popcorn for us, and make a pot of herbal tea to go with it.

I found the gutter-looking things in the woods, and decided to use them for edging.
I found the gutter-looking things in the woods, and decided to use them for edging.  M and I hauled them out of the woods a few weeks ago.  I think they’ll work well, don’t you?

Thank you so much for visiting with me today.  The rain is training in now, and if you need an umbrella, let me know.  We have an extra one or two.  You can return it next weekend if you come back around for coffee.

The Prairie Warbler was hanging out near the scrounger's garden with me today.
The Prairie Warbler was hanging out near the scrounger’s garden with me today.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Chickadee.  (I think it is a Carolina Chickadee.)
Chickadee. (I think it is a Carolina Chickadee.)

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Grab a cuppa of whatever your preference is and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

A sparrow of some kind.  Maybe.
A sparrow of some kind. Maybe.

 

 

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

34 thoughts on “If we were having coffee

  1. Thanks for inviting me in out of the rain, Robin. It feels warm and toasty to be inside. It sounds like you’ve been busy in the yard and enjoying the last bits of cool weather before the heat and humidity descend on the Eastern Shore. It’s a good thing the rain came and put out your spring bonfire.

    I just finished watching all 4 seasons of Scandal, except for the final two episodes of Season 4 that have yet to air. I always feel sad to leave an imaginary world behind, much as I feel when I finish a book, even though all the characters on Scandal are deeply flawed and troubled. I watched Gone Girl myself a couple of weeks ago, although I’ve never read the book. I enjoyed it but I wouldn’t say it was one of my favorites. I’ve put Ghost World on my list as it sounds interesting. I’ve started watching Grey’s Anatomy at Season 5; I left off at Season 4 in 2008 when I basically stopped watching TV just because I got busy with life.

    I did go on a little trip last week to Xi’an, a famous historical city in China that is home to the Terra Cotta Warriors. I was amazed that an emperor living 2,500 years ago commissioned this huge army to protect his tomb after death. Each of the warriors has a different face and archeologists wonder if each warrior is actually the face of a real soldier in the emperor’s army. They’ve only dug up 1,000 out of 8,000 warriors in one vault, and in another vault they think there are more soldiers than in the first vault! The magnitude of it is unbelievable. The army was found underground by peasants trying to sink a well in 1974. No one even knew it existed before that.

    I have another three day weekend coming up this weekend, and I’m trying to decide where to go. It’s becoming a burden to travel in China during these national holidays because of the hordes of people on the move. I have to take a deep breath and dive in whenever I consider planning a trip.

    We have midterms the week after the holiday, so I’ll be marking 146 essays at that time. I dread it and would much rather be traveling or writing my blog.

    Take care and thanks for the coffee! 🙂

    Like

    1. You sure do get around, Cathy! I’m almost envious of all your travel. Almost because I can be a bit of a homebody at times. I’m not good with crowds of people and I think I’d go a little crazy if I had to deal with hordes of people on a fairly regular basis. I’ve gotten used to country living, I suppose.

      So glad you could stop by! I hope to get caught up with you soon. 🙂

      Like

      1. You know me, Robin, I live and love to travel, so I am on the go quite a bit. I do have homebody tendencies too, but it never is long before I get the itch to go again. The crowds in China are a little hard to take, and I’ll be glad when I can travel without hordes of people. I need my peace, quiet and solitude. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that’s a chipping sparrow in the last photo. Glad your prairie warbler is still hanging around singing his sweet song. He’s so pretty. Love the locust leaves against the blue sky, so spring!
    Bummer about the dust in your camera, what a pain, huh?
    My experience with catnip is that it is not rhizomatous like spearmint, but will self-sow like mad, so you may want to deadhead. I deadhead and still have plenty of seedlings to pull.
    Loved your weekly coffee chat, always a pleasure. Blessings!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Eliza. There are so many sparrows, it seems, and I have trouble telling them apart. Thank you for the info about the catnip, too. We had such a large section of yard that was nothing but mint when we moved in. I’ve been hesitant to plant anything even vaguely related to mint. As for the camera, it’s fixed now and all is well in that department. Glad you could stop for coffee. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the coffee. It’s most welcome on a cool day. I cannot recall if I had finished Lisa Genova’s most recent book, Inside the O’Briens, about Huntington’s Disease. It was excellent. Then I read Dept of Speculation – it was an odd little book and I’m not sure I liked it, but it did hold my interest. Netflix sent me The Imitation Game, which I watched and liked. I think tonight I might stream Belle. I mowed the lawn while it was still warmish on Thursday and have tested all the sprinkler runs – had a couple of problems that have been resolved, so maybe I’ll turn it on next week. It has been a pleasure to share a cuppa and conversation with you, but I really must go now. Have carpets calling me to be cleaned.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Carol. It’s good to get caught up with you (although this might be old news by now). I was wondering about The Imitation Game. I’ll add it to my Netflix list. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t remember when we last had coffee – I hope it wasn’t last week because that would prove my memory is going awol along with all the other bits I’m misplacing ….. There is nothing more full of hope and promise than planting up your garden with all those new plants and flowers and hatching plans to do such things as making fountains! And spring rain as well – a double blessing! My garden is now all finished – dead plants still hanging about because I haven’t had the energy to get out there and put it all to bed. My ears are still blocked and the constant high pitched humming is hard to listen through – My homeopath and chiropractor are working on a cure! But it is slow, its almost three weeks! I shouldn’t complain, my condition is temporary and I feel for those folk for whom this un-silent deafness is permanent. I like how your post encourages me to rabbit on in response to you, as if we really were having coffee. I’m sorry to hear about your camera, I did not know such things could happen. Glad you have a trusty spare – though the noun Kodak makes me think of the black box brownies of yore 🙂

    Have a good week and good luck with your fountain creating!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Pauline. 🙂 I’m happy you stopped by, and glad you feel free to rabbit on. I’ve always liked that phrase. I first learned it from a friend who lives in England (and used the name “Rabbit” as her online nickname). I hope the problem with your hearing has improved greatly by now, and that you’re no longer dealing with the ringing.

      Like

  5. Lovely coffee break thanks. 🙂
    We saw Gone Girl a while ago, you’ll have to tell me what you thought and we can compare notes.
    Oh, plates and cups… Great idea, but I’d ditch the candle too. 😀

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Sallyann. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 As for Gone Girl, to be honest, I disliked the ending in both the book and movie (it was the same in both). I understand the author thought it was true to the characters, but it didn’t feel that way to me. It’s not that I expected a happy ending, but I suppose I expected a better twist.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. We still have patches of snow!!!! Beautiful days though and our tulips are pushing up. Those chairs do look a bit unstable! I have a collection of copper I intend to build into a fountain of some sort! Jane

    Like

    1. I look forward to seeing what you do with your collection of copper, Jane. I’m still not quite sure how to put together all the pots, pans, dishes, and cups I’ve found, but I’ll figure it out eventually. I hope all the snow patches are gone by now and that you are truly into spring. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for the coffee break. Looks like you are getting a lot done! So much to do in the spring isn’t there. I have only just barely begun to work on our gardens. We can’t plant for another 4 weeks at least, but the weeds are growing fast. So is the grass as it winds its way into my gardens.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Dawn. Glad you could stop by. 🙂 Isn’t it amazing how fast the weeds and grass can grow? I’ve had to mow three or four times already, and wasn’t too thrilled about it. Another mowing session is coming up soon. Ah well. Such is life. It’s good to have green grass to mow and gardens to putter around in. I should not complain. 😀

      Like

  8. I loved Ghost World! It was actually one of the few movies I owned on VHS way back in the day. And seeing Gone Girl without having read the book before (and without knowing AT ALL what it was about) made for a pretty exhilarating watch. Great performances from everyone involved. Marty and I just saw Big Eyes– can’t say I’m a fan of the artwork, but the (true!) story was pretty fascinating, especially being married to an artist. It’s one of those movies that’s made much better by the fact that it ‘really’ happened.

    Like

  9. Thanks a lot for your coffe. It’s a great pleasure to stay in your company and listeing to you… I do hope we can share more drinks in many weeks ro come:

    Like

  10. I just wrote a very brief (and rare, these days!) blog post, rambling on about nothing in particular, and couldn’t resist stopping by for coffee before rushing off….which I must do now. So good to “see” you, Robin, and I’m loving your spring garden. 🙂

    Like

  11. Lovely views of the garden. Trying to decide how to handle my garden this year. Soil is badly over-used, and my yields haven’t been great past few years.
    You might be able to take care of the dust on your sensor yourself if it isn’t too big. Take your lens off and get one of those little air-puffer-brush things .. do you know what I’m talking about? Its a little brush with very soft bristles with a squeeze bulb for a puff of air (kind of like the things we used to suck boogies, lol, out of our babies noses but in reverse!) Puff a couple bursts of air in the camera, put the lens back on and then turn it off and on a couple times (turning it off activates the sensor cleaning). It may or may not work, but it is sure to be cheaper than having it serviced if it does work! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the tip about cleaning the sensor, Karma. I knew exactly what you meant when you described the bulb thing. lol! I gave tried it, a couple of times, but no luck. I found a place to clean it at a reasonable price so it’s all good now. 🙂

      Like

  12. Oh, I know all about dust on the sensor. I’ve let mine go for much too long and I’ve had more spots than I cared to count. Sent it in to Nikon last year and had it back within a week!! And the best part was that they didn’t charge me for the cleaning, or the return shipping! No idea why, but I wasn’t going to argue 😉
    Sounds…and looks….like things are going well for you in your little corner of the world.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Michaela. 🙂 It’s good to see you again. I thought about sending my camera out to Canon, but packages delivered to us always look like someone stomped on them a few times, no matter which service (USPS, UPS, or Fed-Ex) delivers them. It’s as if they resent having to bring them all the way out to the Middle of Nowhere. I wasn’t sure the camera would make it back to me in one piece. I found a place to clean it, and they had it done within an hour. They did a good job of cleaning off all my grubby prints on the outside, too. lol!

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

