Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Poetry, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Wonder

Spring beatitudes

Yesterday moon and clouds.  (A collage.)
Yesterday’s moon and clouds. (A collage.)

The core of the seen and unseen universe smiles, but remember smiles come best from those who weep.  Lightning, then the rain-laughter.

~ Rumi

Late afternoon in the garden.
Late afternoon in the garden.

Yesterday was one of those glorious spring days when the sky is clear, the sun is bright, and the air smells fresh and new.  It was windy, though, and got increasingly windy throughout the day.  When I went out for my walk, I thought the wind might lift me up and carry me out to sea.

Crown of yellow.
Crown of yellow.

The Bald Eagles were out and about, flying overhead.  They must have been doing some fishing.  When I finally made my out to the dock, I found fish scales and small amounts of blood on the wooden slats.  Someone had been feasting and they did a thorough job of it.  Little was left behind.  M said it could have been the otters (yes, we have two otters now).  It’s possible.  I’ve seen their muddy footprints on the dock and the boardwalk that leads to the dock, and I’ve read that if they catch a big fish, they eat it on shore (or, in this case, on dock).

Sunshine in the shadows.
Sunshine in the shadows.

I’ve seen what I think is a Prothonotary Warbler in the woods.  What a beautiful bird!  Have you ever seen one?  I wish I could show it to you, but you’ll have to follow the link to Cornell’s All About Birds to see it.  I haven’t been able to capture it with the camera yet.

Drifting in.
Drifting in.

In the evening, right about dinnertime, the predicted clouds and rain arrived.  We had some of the coolest clouds I’ve ever seen.

Light and clouds sky-dancing.
Light and clouds sky-dancing.

I delayed dinner for a little while just to watch the clouds.  Food for the eyes and soul first, then food for the body.

A hole in the clouds.
A hole in the clouds where the light steams out.

I anticipated a lightning and thunder show, but it was all clouds and wind and rain.  The rain was heavy at times, providing a thundering sound as it hit the roof and the ground.  For a brief period of time I thought we might see sunset colors among the clouds since there were so many breaks where the light coursed out with the rain.  If the rainstorm had moved through a little faster, we might have.  As it was, we went from dark clouds to dark of night with no sunset show in between.

Cloud wizardry.
Cloud wizardry.

The clouds, rain, and wind brought some cooler temperatures with them, but not exceptionally cool.  Seasonably cool.  It appears we might be finished with winter.  I qualified that with “might” because with Old Man Winter, you never know.  He might want to stop by for one more visit before he allows the Spring Maiden to take over.

Gathering in.
Roiling.

Have you seen the latest from WordPress?  No?  Oh, you should.  If it starts to worry you or make your blood boil, be sure to check out the tags for the post.  Then think about rain-laughter.  It is April 1st, after all.

Releasing.
Releasing.

That’s about it from yesterday’s sky and from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this beautiful spring day.  Thank you so much for dropping in and admiring the clouds with me.  If spring hasn’t arrived on your doorstep yet, I hope it doesn’t delay for too much longer.  I know some of you could use a little springtime blessings about now.

Tunneling.
Tunneling.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Woodland stars.
Woodland stars.

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

27 thoughts on “Spring beatitudes

  1. We are seeing little signs of spring popping up, mostly in our temperatures. Apparently, I had a yard full of colorful flowers for a few days but I missed them because it’s when I was in the hospital! I came home on a hot day with the remnants of withered purple flowers. I don’t even know what they were because they popped in voluntarily this year! Yesterday we had a very stormy day and we should be having the same-ish stormy weather for a couple of days then maybe Spring will visit us for a little longer.

    Like

        1. Blue bells! How wonderful, Corina! I love blue bells. We don’t have them here on the ranch, but they are native to the area. I’ll have to see if I can find some. 🙂

          Like

    1. lol! That’s what I thought when I first read it, Carol. I’d forgotten it was April 1st so it took me a little while to grasp what was going on.

      Like

  2. Abstract painting by an expert. I’d really like to be where we have more space to see the big sky and horizon from a deck or back porch, and windows. Love to watch storms move across water and open space. Daffodils grew wild on the farms – from old homesteads. It was so magical to dance among them as a little kid. It’s too soggy and wrong soil here.
    Otters are so funny! Enjoy the weather tango

    Like

    1. I’m planning to pop some daffodils in the ground in our woods, PhilosopherMouse, so they’ll naturalize. It’s better than throughout the lawn because the grass always needs mowed before it’s time to cut down the daffodil leaves. “Weather tango” is about right. Another cold front coming soon, but it won’t be too cold.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I, too, am a big fan of clouds. Your pics really show the drama. I’d do the same as you, leave dinner to go cloud-watching! Your daffodil Sunshine in Shadows just stopped me in my tracks, I love it. I think it’s because it being half-hidden feels mysterious somehow. Always a pleasure to visit Wabi-Sabi Ranch!

    Like

  4. Lightening, then the rain laughter. How I love that! On a walk in the woods a while ago thought about how a long day of confusion can see-saw into utter clarity. Why do we so often want the clarity and not the confusion? The periwinkles and not the mud? Wishing you a full day, Robin, of all that your heart desires.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Kathy. 🙂 As for clarity and confusion, periwinkles and mud, the clarity and periwinkles might not be as desire-worthy without the confusion and the mud. I’ve been learning a lot about that over the past week, having curiosity about it all, and not trying to hold on to any of it. Curiosity, it seems, is a good practice. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Looking at your shots and reading your words as if I were in the same place, so clear are both! Very good, by de way… could you tell me where tha “place” is, perhaps you don’t remember I’m from Barcelonba, Spain. Cheers!

    Like

    1. Thank you and cheers, Rosa! I’ve never been to Barcelona. Or to Spain. I’d love to visit your country someday. I am on the east coast of the U.S. on a peninsula known as the Eastern Shore.

      Like

  6. Daffodils, how wonderful! I’ve often said my daffodils are the latest blooming in the world due to their extra cool location I planted them, but I think this year could be the latest I’ll ever see them. They are planted under where I’m still waiting for snow to melt away against the north facing side of my house. I hope you are able to get your photo of your warbler – that is a gorgeous bird!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 I think I’m going to have to go to one of the state parks to catch the warbler. They like to hang out in bald cypress swamps and there are a few not far from us. I’m going to plant more daffodils in the fall. I’d like to have some in the woods where I think they would do quite well. It will be interesting to see how long it takes your daffs to bloom (especially if they’re still under snow!). Maybe you’ll have daffodils and irises at the same time?

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

