Posted in Air, Change, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Garden, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering

If we were having coffee

coffee2

 

Coffee is a beverage that puts one to sleep when not drank.

~ Alphonse Allais, French writer and humorist (1854-1905)

In the juniper.
In the juniper.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you how happy I am to see you.  How was your week?  Did you do any traveling?  Read any good books?  See any films, or go to any good concerts, listen to any good music, or see any plays?

I’ve barely been out of the house this week except for some walks around the ranch, and I’m still reading the same books I was reading last week.  It’s been slow that way.  I’ve been listening to Ed Sheeran, Mayer Hawthorne, and TV on the Radio on Pandora Radio.  If you’re familiar with Pandora, you know that means I’m also listening to similar artists that they choose.  No movies this week, but we might fit one in this weekend.  We just received the new Hunger Games DVD (Mockingjay, Part I) from Netflix.  But with March Madness going on, we probably won’t get to it.

Feeding time.
Feeding time.

If we were having coffee, I’d invite you into the kitchen where we can see the juniper.  The reason we want to see the juniper is because there is a small flock (twenty or so) of Cedar Waxwings hanging around and chowing down on the berries.  Although they live here year-round, it’s the first time I’ve seen them since moving to the Eastern Shore.

Cedar Waxwings are fruit eaters, and they appear to love the juniper berries.  They have been scarfing them down like it is the best meal ever.  I think you’ll enjoy watching them.  They are beautiful birds, and their antics are entertaining.  Sometimes they hang upside down trying to get one of the berries.

A mouthful.
A mouthful.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that the weather has been crazy this week.  Not crazy-crazy as in severe storms, but ups and downs in temperature.  Earlier in the week we had heat and humidity, summer-like conditions.  Today it’s cold with snow (!?) in the forecast.  We’ll be dipping down into the 20’s again tonight.  It won’t last long.  Monday we start a string of days that will have highs in the 60’s.  We’ve also had quite a bit of rain this week.  The ground is pretty soggy, but I’ve noticed that drainage is good here on our part of the Eastern Shore and it doesn’t take too long to dry out.

I'm watching you.
I’m watching you.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that we’re spring cleaning this weekend.  Back in the olden days, when our sons were children, spring cleaning used to be a family affair.  I’d issue invitations for the Big Spring Clean with promises of favorite foods for dinner.  We’d work hard for one day — dusting, vacuuming, washing, scrubbing, airing out — and then feast and relax that evening after a job well done.  Since the boys have grown up to be men, I often do the spring cleaning on my own, little by little throughout the course of a week.  I thought it would be fun this year to bring M back into the mix.  And I was right.  It’s surprising the things that can be made enjoyable with a little company to help along the way.

Showing off his colors.
Showing off his colors.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I haven’t gone out to watch the sunsets this week.  I’ve seen the sunrises, though, and we’ve had some really beautiful light and color shows in the early mornings.

There are at least three birds gathered on this clump of the juniper.
There are at least three birds gathered on this clump of the juniper.

If we were having coffee, I would ask if you noticed how GREEN it is now.  Oh, the trees haven’t leafed out yet, but the grass!  About two days ago it suddenly turned the most marvelous shade of green.  It was if someone came along and poured emerald green over all the brown, and now it looks so bright and new.  It’s also growing.  Fast.  It won’t be long before the mowing season starts.  M has been working on the small tractor for about two weeks, getting it ready.  The blades are sharpened, the spark plugs have been replaced, and I don’t know what else.  Probably several other maintenance type things have been done.  I’m in no hurry for the mowing to commence.  It takes me about six hours or so a over the course of two or three days to get all of the mowing finished.  By the time I finish, where I started is almost ready to be mowed again.

Evening visitation.
Evening visitation.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that the first of the daffodils are finally blooming, the periwinkles are blooming in full force, and there is evidence that some of the trees will be flowering soon (if this cold snap doesn’t get them).  This is also a great time for bird watching because all kinds of birds are either making their way back to us or flying through on their way Elsewhere.  (The Delmarva Birding Weekend is April 23-26 this year.)  I was out in the marsh yesterday and there were hundreds of Laughing Gulls in flight, filling the stormy sky with their laughing calls.  I think I know where they are hanging out this year, and will make my way over there soon.  (If you missed it, the Laughing Gulls spent some time in a farm field next door last year.  You can see and hear them here, if you’re interested, but be warned.  There’s some mating behavior going on.  Actually, it’s not that explicit.  Mostly just a bit of showing off.)

You might recognize this from yesterday's header.  The birds are Laughing Gulls.
You might recognize this from yesterday’s header. The birds are Laughing Gulls.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask you to keep a friend and fellow blogger, Corina, in your thoughts and prayers.  She had to go to hospital, and may be home by the time this post goes out, but is scheduled for surgery in the near future.

A Great Egret that stopped by yesterday.
A Great Egret that stopped by yesterday.

If we were having coffee, I would suggest that we go to the Point for sunset if it looks like there will be a show.  If the Laughing Gulls are where I think they are, we’ll see them along the way.  We’ll need to bundle up.  Between the low temperature and the wind, it’s going to be a little brutal near the water, but it’s usually worth braving the cold to the see the sunset after we’ve had storms roll through.

Dinnertime.
Dinnertime.

Thank you so much for visiting today.  I hope your week has been a good one.  Tell me all about it in the comments, if you’re so inclined.  I’d love to hear what you’ve been up to and how you’re doing.

One more, for the road.  Well, two more birds, but only one more Cedar Waxing image.  For now.
One more, for the road. Well, two more birds, but only one more Cedar Waxing image. For now.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Finally open.
Finally open.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Grab a cuppa of whatever your preference is and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

39 thoughts on “If we were having coffee

  1. Those birds sure seem to be enjoying themselves! I should channel them for my next meal– scarf down whatever food it is with sheer excitement. 🙂

    This week has been good and busy. We are nearing the end of our time in AZ, so this weekend we will start packing everything up and preparing to say goodbye to the desert. I don’t want to do this (at all), but the heat is coming in and that’s our cue to head back up to mild Victoria. (We also technically have to get back to work, even though we’ve been pretending for the past 5 months that we are already retired!)

    I hope your week goes well!

    Like

    1. I like the idea of pretend retirement, Dana. That way, you’ll have some idea of what you want to do (or don’t do) when you retire. I hope the transition goes smoothly and well for you and Marty. 🙂

      I could be wrong, but I think when we eat with joy and excitement, the calories don’t count as much.

      Like

  2. I love cedar waxwings. Their feathers are so smooth and their coloring lovely…esp. that eyestripe! Juniper berries are packed with fat and protein – no wonder they are gobbling. I enjoyed the link to the laughing gulls – what a noisy bunch!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Eliza. 🙂 I didn’t know that about the juniper berries. I’m thinking about planting a few more junipers since we have plenty of space for them. It’ll be worth it just to watch the waxwings gather.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Plant away – the birds will thank you in droves! Native plants are awesome for wildlife. Are you familiar with Dr. Doug Tallamy at UDEL? I learned so much about our ecosystem from this talk: https://youtu.be/UonRPIea48Y
        It is about 1 hr. but I was captivated. You might find it of interest. I hope to do a post sometime to broaden the awareness this man is bringing to the world through his research.

        Like

        1. Thank you for the link, Eliza. We’re expecting rain and storms today, a good day to watch videos (if the clouds don’t thicken up too much — the satellite doesn’t work well with thick clouds or heavy, heavy rain). I just finished reading “The Forest Unseen” and it sounds like Dr. Tallamy’s talk will be a good follow-up to that. The book, by the way, was wonderful. Biology and almost poetry. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. If we were having coffee, I would tell how thrilled I am to see the Cedar Waxwings – they visited me one year but have not returned, despite the abundance of fruit bearing plants in my yard. I would tell you how they look like the richest of velvet to me. I would share my excitement over the greening of my grass and some of the shrubs, the beautiful daffodil, viola and windflower blooms and how the grape muscari is about to pop. I would thank you for the coffee and the company.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Carol. And thank you so much for having coffee with me. I enjoyed your visit very much, and I’m so happy to hear spring is coming along nicely in your part of the world. 🙂

      Like

  4. My week has been busy but good. Today I went out to do a little Easter shopping as the “kiddies”, ages 22 and 19, still like a basket. Of course everyone is watching what they eat now so it’s mostly small gifts and fewer treats. One basket present I am excited about is a body fat/BMI analyzer that I think he will like and I might use as well.

    I love what you used to do as far as spring clean up with the boys .

    Like

  5. The picture you’ve captioned “showing his colors” is one of the main reasons for color photography. Have been pondering color and black and white and looking at photos. They are very different and require a different way of looking when photographing. I would have told you all this over coffee, and maybe brought some apple muffins from the last of the winter apples…

    Like

    1. Mmmmm… apple muffins! Sounds delicious, Arlingwoman. 🙂 I think the two types of photography (color vs. black & white) are very different for the viewer, too. It may be just me, but I find black & white photos more dramatic, especially landscapes.

      Like

  6. Hi Robin! If we were having coffee, I’d enjoy watching your Cedar Waxwings scarf down the juniper berries. I’d say I miss the fickle days of spring on the east coast, cold one day and warm the next. I’d tell you that here in Nanning, which is always green because it’s in the subtropics, the only way I can tell its spring is from the water lilies blooming in the ponds. Rain, rain and more rain seems to be the order of the day here. I’m really tired of gray and dreary weather. I’d mention that I just booked a flight and hotel to go to Hong Kong for the three day Easter weekend. I also just finished reading American Romantic by Ward Just and now I’m sad because it feels like the characters, who have become close friends, have gone away. I just finished Season 2 of Scandal, which I am finding highly entertaining. Nice to have coffee with you again. Better bundle up for the sunset! Happy Sunday. xxx

    Like

    1. Glad you could stop by from Nanning, Cathy. 🙂 I’ve just added American Romantic to my wish list. If you are missing the characters, it must be good. I love books like that (even though I hate to see them end). I’ve never watched Scandal. I might have to add that to my Netflix queue. A friend recommended The Good Wife, another TV show I haven’t seen. So much to watch, so little time.

      Like

  7. We needed some of those birds at our last house/yard. Nothing ate those berries there – wrong plant, wrong place I guess.
    That first bird looks mad like you’re holding him up from breakfast. Lovely pix. THe last one of the 2 birds is beautifully posed and colored. Nice catch.
    Remembering Corina in thoughts and prayers. hope it all goes well.
    Enjoyed visiting

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Robin, if we were having coffee I would be telling you how it appears you have a personal contract with some of these feathered folks to be their private photographer. It’s like they said “HEY! Robin, get this one!” Stunning shots.

    Like

    1. Thank you, CM. 🙂 I’m actually stunned at the way the birds have taken to me since we moved here. Or maybe it’s that I’ve taken to them and they know it.

      Like

  9. Loved ALL the shots, but the heron and egret were utterly stunning!
    I’ve been polishing the old house from ceiling to floor and all the little nooks and crannies in between to get ready to sell it. It’s never looked so good, but I’m utterly pooped and there’s still a way to go yet.

    Like

  10. I would love to have coffee with you some day, Robin, and have a chance to see your cedar waxwings. We watched a movie this week, “The Good Lie” with Reese Witherspoon, about the lost boys of Sudan. It moved us both to tears, trying to imagine ourselves or our children in such a terrifying situation. It made us even more grateful for the blessings we have and more determined never to take them for granted.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Barbara. I would love to have coffee with you, too, someday. 🙂 I’ve added the movie to my Netflix queue. Something that moving is worth seeing. I’ve been going through my queue lately, removing movies. I feel like there is so little time to watch all the movies and shows (just as there is so little time to read all the books) that I need pare it down to what I hope is the good stuff.

      Like

  11. I loved seeing all the waxwings! I’ve been seeing them here too, but not close enough to get a good picture!

    Thanks for the coffee and chat. I enjoyed it as always.

    Nancy

    Like

    1. Thank you, Nancy, for stopping by. 🙂 This is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to get so close to cedar waxwings. It’s as if they posed for me.

      Like

  12. If we wre having coffe… I’d tell you you are a good writer and I’d love to explain your feelings so beautifully as you have done!!!! Are the shots yours?… very nice,indeed.
    Regards from Barcelonsa, Spain

    Like

  13. The photos of the Waxwings remind me it will soon be time to visit our cabin. The Waxwings love the White Pines there and are always fun to watch. Green? You would never know it here! We are still white with snow, though the melting continues!!! Hurry up Crocuses! jane

    Like

  14. So enjoyed your photos today! Love the cedar waxwings, I’ve only ever seen one in person once. How nice for things to be greening up. I think that’s still several weeks away around here.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 We are on the migration path here, and I’ve been lucky to see a lot of birds I’ve either never seen before or have only seen once. Yesterday I spotted a Prothonotary Warbler (that’s a mouthful!) high up in a tree. I’m hoping to get a closer look at one soon.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

