Posted in Earth, Exploring, Family, Grandparenthood, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Winter

Black and White Challenge #5

Dueling cameras.
Dueling cameras.

Black and white are the colors of photography.  To me they symbolize the alternatives of hope and despair to which mankind is forever subjected.

~ Robert Frank

A night in Washington, D.C.
A night in Washington, D.C.

One of my favorite uses for black and white is with images of people.  I don’t take many pictures of people except for family and most of them have no wish to have their mugs on my blog.  There are, as you can see, ways around that.

Such as avoiding real people.  (At the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum.)
Such as avoiding real people. (At the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum.)

Well, this is the last of the Black & White Challenge for me.  That doesn’t mean you won’t see black and white from me again.  Just not as much of it at one time.

Strangers in a mirror.  (Smithsonian Air & Space Museum.)
Strangers in a mirror. (Smithsonian Air & Space Museum.)

The rules of the Black and White Challenge are simple:

  1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in black and white.
  2. Each day invite another blogging friend to join in the fun.

My invitation today is extended to any of you who would like to jump in and join the fun. Come on.  You know you want to.

Styling.
Styling.

Thank you to Woodland Gnome for inviting me to the challenge, and thank you for dropping by.  Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

A little something from this morning's walk around the ranch.
A little something from this morning’s walk around the ranch.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

7 thoughts on “Black and White Challenge #5

  1. I enjoyed very much as you experimented with black and white this week. You and I are very similar in our preference for color, but trying black and white forces us to see photos differently which is always a good thing. I love the shots where you used tiny pops of color to direct our attention somewhere. I’m sure I have asked you this in the past, and you have surely answered, but as with many of my unfulfilled intentions, I have never tried this photography method and would love to know what program or site you do it in or on.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 It does help to step outside of the routine every now and then. You’re right about how it forces us to see things (and photos) differently. When I go out with black & white in mind, I have to see beyond the colors (which is hard to do this time of year when it’s nice to actually see colors!). I can do selective coloring (or “focal black & white” is the technical term, I think) in Photoshop. It’s more accurate that way, and not that difficult, but it’s time consuming because it requires “painting” the color back in (actually, it’s more like uncovering the color). If you want instructions on how to do it that way, let me know and I’ll email them to you. The easier options are either Picasa (which you would have to download to use) or you can use the online editor PicMonkey (picmonkey.com). Just look for “focal black & white” under “Effects.” It’s near the bottom. It’s easy to use and it’s just a matter of sizing and centering the color where you want it.

      Like

  2. Congratulations with the completion of the B&W Challenge. And you end it with a series of delightful photographs. I think my favourite is the second one from the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum. It’s almost an absurd picture.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

