Posted in Air, Beach, Beginnings, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Endings, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Winter, Wonder

If we were having coffee

coffee2

I put instant coffee in a microwave and almost went back in time.

~ Steven Wright

Spring has sprung.
Light in the garden.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you how much I enjoy our weekly visits.  Let’s take our coffee, or tea, or whatever it is we’re drinking, out to the porch and have a seat out there so we can enjoy watching the rain and listening to the sound of the birds.  The birdsong has changed lately.  It sounds more like spring.  And oh!!  Did you hear the spring peepers on your way in?  I first heard their otherworldly chorus early this week.  Monday, I think.

A pair.
A pair.

How was your week?  Have you read any good books lately or seen any good movies?  Did you travel anywhere or see something new?

My week was a little on the rough side, mostly for health reasons, but I seem to be leveling out now.  I gave up sugar and coffee, and who would have thunk that giving up sugar can cause symptoms of withdrawal?  Not me, that’s for sure.  I expected trouble from the caffeine.  Not only did I give up the small cup of coffee I have in the mornings, but I switched to strictly green tea and I’m limiting that to two cups/glasses a day.  I usually drink a cup of green tea and a cup of black tea every day.  Or sometimes two or three cups of black tea.  Who am I kidding?  I kept up a steady infusion of tea all morning long.   It was time to cut back.  I was getting too jittery and caffeine contributes to anxiety, something I’m prone to from time to time.  Insomnia came to visit this week, too, along with some tummy troubles on Friday so all and all, I’m kind of glad the week is over.

They look like small hands reaching towards the sun.
They look like small hands reaching towards the sun.

If the rain subsides, and after we’ve had our beverage and caught up a bit, we should walk out to the scrounger’s garden.  The crocuses are putting on such a lovely show this year.  A bunch of them popped in an area where I’ve not seen them in the past.  I don’t know how they got there.  I was thinking of planting more last year, but never got around to it.  It’s almost as though someone came along and planted them for me.  Was it you?  Nobody around here is taking credit for it.  (I do know that crocuses naturalize so I’m kidding when I say I don’t know how they got there.  I found this article this morning, and I’m thinking about planting more crocuses to help spread the joy.  I’m also thinking I should plant daffodils in the woods, but that’s a whole other story.)

Soft and light.
Soft and light.

I went out to visit the crocuses on Thursday and the sunlight was pouring through the petals of the flowers, lighting them up in a soft and beautiful way.  I stretched out on the ground to look at them and take a few (many) photos.  While I was admiring them, I heard laughing gulls overhead, looked up, and a large flock of them flew by, their white feathers glowing in the sun.  It’s one of my favorite sights around here.

The gulls have returned.
The gulls have returned.

M and I have been painting this week.  M has been working on the hall that runs from the office and guest bedroom to the living room and kitchen.  It was dark and dingy, and looks so much better now that it’s been brightened up with white paint.  You may have noticed when you came in that I’m still in my painting clothes.  I have a dedicated pair of jeans just for painting.  They have splotches of paint from three houses we’ve owned and renovated.  A lot of the paint has faded with washing.  So have the jeans, for that matter.  Anyway.  I’ve been painting the yoga room today.  Finally!  It will no longer be the Before & After Room (half finished).  Yay!  Once the paint dries I can start moving things around and do a little decorating.

Are you tired of looking at the crocuses yet?
Are you tired of looking at the crocuses yet?

Let’s see.  What else is new?  I finished reading The Vegetarian: A Novel.  It was a strange and interesting book.  I honestly don’t know how to describe it.  Dark and disturbing.  Still, I’d recommend it.  Here’s a brief bit from a review by Daniel Hahn in The Guardian:

This is Han Kang’s first novel to appear in English, and it’s a bracing, visceral, system-shocking addition to the Anglophone reader’s diet.  It is sensual, provocative and violent, ripe with potent images, startling colours and disturbing questions.

You can read the full review here, if you like.

The other thing you might want to know is that the northern part of the Chesapeake Bay is closed.  Well, not really closed.  But boating is restricted due to icy conditions, and you will need permission from the Captain of the Port of Baltimore (or his designee) to do any boating in the region.  If interested, you can read the story here (but beware of ads that pop up).

Just one more.
Just one more.

If we were having coffee, I wouldn’t want to hold you up too long although I also don’t want to rush you along, either.  I’m enjoying your company.  We can sit here on the porch for a while, and when you’re ready, I’ll walk you out.  I need to go up and grab the mail, something I forgot to do earlier.

Not sure we'll see a sunset today.  This one is from Thursday at the Point.
Not sure we’ll see a sunset today. This one is from Thursday at the Point.

Thank you so much for visiting.  The clouds and rain often clear out at the end of the day.  If that should happen, I’ll be going down to the Point to watch the sun set.  You’re welcome to join me.  Sunset is at 7:09 this evening.  The temperature is in the 60’s, but you’ll still need a jacket.  It cools off quickly once the sun slips behind the horizon.  There are a couple of eagles out there and it’s likely we’ll hear them whistling and chattering.  On Thursday we saw them cartwheeling around each other as they whistled and called.

Beautiful evening.
Beautiful evening.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Song of nature.
Song of nature.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Grab a cuppa of whatever your preference is and join us.  I’d love to hear all about what you were up to this week.

Swimming in color.
Swimming in color.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

29 thoughts on “If we were having coffee

  1. I love the surprise gifts of crocus and other spring flowers. I have too much acidic clay soil in my yard to encourage anything other than heirloom roses (which would grow in the cracks of the entrance to Hell if anyone suggested it to them) but I look forward to seeing them in other people’s yards. Sugar withdrawal = horrible. So, so horrible.

    Like

    1. Horrible is a good word for it, David. Had I known, I might not have done it. Now that it’s been almost a week, and I survived it, I don’t think I’ll want to go back. Ever. That’s good to know about heirloom roses. I keep worrying that I’ll unintentionally kill off the roses that were here when we bought the place, yet somehow they have survived everything I’ve done to them (including pruning). Now I know why. (And given how hot the summers are here, we might be near the entrance to Hell.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You can’t kill the roses, unless the acquire something mildew-y that eats the leaves…but that’s the beauty of the heirloom varieties; they’re much more resistant to black spot,etc.

        I’ve never been able to make it a full week through sugar or caffeine detox. I think I’d have to be locked in a rubber room. I don’t eat a lot of sugar to begin with, but caffeine is another story.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What wonderful colors, the crocus and the sunset. Lovely place to sit awhile. Thanks for visiting with me! I hope your anxiety level has dropped some. It was a rough week, wasn’t it? But now we’re looking at a new one and perhaps it will go smoother. We can hope.

    Like

  3. I was admiring the subtle advancement of autumnal colouring on our morning walk earlier today – the season is turning and always causes me to become introspective and retrospective!

    As usual your photos are spectacular!

    I normally have one cup of coffee a day and drink water the rest of the time. On special occasions I have two cups of coffee and a peppermint tea. I’m pretty cheap to keep around 🙂

    I gave up sugar just over two years ago and have never regretted it. I had a headache and mildly upset stomach too for three to four days, but all my congestion disappeared and all my health problems cleared up over the ensuing months. I chucked out wheat at the same time and that revealed many surprising facts about it’s relationship to poor health. The really big bonus is that whenever I taste something with sugar in now, there is a party in my mouth that engages all my senses. 🙂 And I discovered that foods are naturally so sweet who needs added sugar.

    Like

  4. We have many bulbs popping up out here… the azaleas are almost done blooming, the camellias look sad and the magnolias are in full bloom, but for some reason we don’t seem to get crocuses around here. Can’t imagine why.

    Like

  5. I’ll probably never give up coffee, but I do have only one cup of caffeinated and one cup of decaf. Then tea, or water. I do so enjoy these visits, whether we have coffee, tea or water.

    Like

  6. I love the photos of the light shining through the petals of the crocuses. I haven’t seen that before. Now I’ll never forget. I have a patch of what looks like crocuses coming in but they are a lot later than the crocuses that have been blooming for the past three weeks almost right next to the reluctant ones. I didn’t put them there so who knows what they are and when they’ll come in?!

    I think the key to detoxing, at least in my experience, is to do it in steps. When I cut out eggs and meat, I allowed myself to have eggs only three times a week instead of six or seven. The same with meat. Then I went to only one serving of eggs per week and the same with meat. It made it a lot easier than cutting them both out entirely at the same time. I kept the once a week routine because I knew that my daughter had a horrible time reintroducing meat into her diet when she had to (like on a flight from California to Baltimore that was delayed leaving California then was diverted). She had a very painful time of it. So I decided (after I read articles about it) that I would eat eggs and meat once a week so that the enzyme that processes them would keep producing. If you don’t use it, apparently, you lose the enzyme. The body stops producing it. Anyway, that’s my two cents (x 10) for the day!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Corina, for the great advice. I think you’re right about taking it slow. I’m through it all now, but if I have to do it again (I hope not!), I’ll cut back instead of cutting out completely. 🙂

      Like

  7. What a lovely post! I have been absent from the blogosphere this week without meaning to be. The crocuses are wonderful. And peepers! How fabulous! Spring is really coming when you hear them. We have one of those serendipitous photo posts again (yes I actually posted after having not done so for almost a month!) – but certainly not crocuses here, although the snow is finally melting. Snow banks will be here til April at least, I’m sure.

    Like

  8. Normal sugar is worse to get off of than the organic, for me. Going back to it after a long while and it really does taste like licking chemical blech! You might try throwing in a half of a cinnamon stick in the tea, it helps to regulate and fix the blood sugar issue! Tastes pretty good too!
    Sometimes I exchange lemon, ginger and cinnamon stick with boiling water for some of the tea.

    Like

    1. Oh, I watched This Is Where I Leave You yesterday and I finished reading a trash novel. Read so long that my eyes were blurry and not very much able to view the movie, so I had to use ears instead. If my eyes cooperate I will probably start reading, The Girl With Glass Feet today. I really enjoyed The Man Who Rained and the same author wrote both books. We can see brown grass now, much of snow has melted but where it was piled high from the plow or in a shade spot. I managed to walk a mile the other day on the bike thing close to the tree place. I may have overdone a wee bit. I think I will go back to doing laps around the house as a better beginning.

      Like

  9. Beautiful post! I enjoy visiting! A mug of hot water with freshly squeezed lemon is always refreshing, especially when detoxing sugar, gluten or any other potentially nasty substance. It’s like lemon tea…without the tea. 🙂

    Like

  10. To think that you have spring flowers! I am excited for you, that you can actually see them so early. One of the books that I am reading is called “Braiding Sweetgrass” and it’s about–let me go check the title–Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants. The author is a botanist as well as Native American and writes in such a lovely way.

    Like

  11. I was just gifted a book called “Sastun” from one of Marty’s training friends. It’s about an American woman apprenticing with a traditional Maya Healer in Belize. So fabulous! I read it in a day, part of me wanting to pace myself and the other part of me just wanting to devour the book. It was quite different from the books I’ve been reading lately, so I really enjoyed it. 🙂

    PS: Sugar withdrawal is THE WORST. And to combine it with caffeine withdrawal at the same time… well. That’s plain torture. Good luck and feel better soon. 😉

    Like

  12. The crocus images are heavenly, as are the sunsets. And peepers?! Oh, dear, how can I continue to wait for mine? 😉 Are the redwing blackbirds still there or have they moved on? Hugs from your pal stuck in the Ice Queen’s world. 🙂

    Like

    1. But the Ice Queen’s world is so beautiful, Eliza! 😀 Still, I know how it is to be itching for spring after a long winter. The bulk of the blackbirds have moved on. The swans and snow geese have been on the move, too. They may be gone by now. Spring must be heading north soon.

      Like

  13. i can see spring has sprung for you … and I imagine I will be seeing major changes this coming week. Although March likes to tease, there still is a positive trend. Meanwhile, a big wow to the colorful skies you captured!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

