Posted in Critters, Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Winter

If We Were Having Coffee

coffee2

If this is coffee, please bring me some tea; but if this is tea, please bring me some coffee.

~ Abraham Lincoln

Flowering Tea.
Flowering Tea.

If we were having coffee, I’d probably be having tea.  I don’t drink much coffee.  Most mornings I have about a half cup of the dark, bitter stuff just before I exercise.  I never have acquired a taste for coffee, and usually let it cool and then chug it down as quickly as possible.  Why do I drink it at all?  All those studies that say it’s good for the body (and mind) have influenced me.  (You can find 7 Reasons here.)  Plus that jolt of energy just before exercising helps me work out a little harder.  I can be a lazy exerciser if left to my own, uncaffeinated, devices.

Oolong
Oolong

If we were having coffee (and/or tea), I’d tell you how much I appreciate you stopping by to have coffee with me.  I would ask you how you’re doing.  How’s your weekend been?  What have you been up to lately?

Late January Moon.  (A collage.)
Late January Moon. (A collage.)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I don’t find it easy to take it easy.  It’s been four days since I had surgery and I want to be back to normal right now.  Oh, I know it doesn’t work that way.  The problem is I am not patient with illness and recovery when it comes to my own illness and recovery.  If you were recovering from surgery and growing impatient with the recovery process, I would tell you to enjoy the slow.  The slow is when you don’t have to be anywhere, doing anything.  The slow is when you can curl up in a comfy chair with a good book, and not worry about whether or not the laundry is getting done.  The slow is when you can go out for a walk and take your good old time about it which gives you a chance to see and enjoy the details in the beauty that nature has to offer.

At the feeder this morning.
At the feeder this morning.

If we were having coffee, I would ask you if you’re going to watch the Super Bowl this evening.  I’m not.  M is going to a Super Bowl party, but I’ve elected to stay home.  I don’t feel up to it, and frankly, I’m not a fan of football.  I don’t think I would have gone even without an excuse to stay home.  There are so many other things I’d rather do than watch football.

M offered to stay home, but he does enjoy football so I think he should go and have fun.  Hang out with the guys.   He can’t watch it here at the ranch because we can’t pick up the television network that’s broadcasting the game.

Northern Flicker on frosty grass.
Northern Flicker on frosty grass.

If we were having coffee, I might tell you about how I am learning to embrace solitude.  Ever since I can remember, I have told a story about how I would make the perfect hermit because I enjoy solitude.  Little did I know when we moved here that I would be tested to see if what I always thought about myself is the truth.  It has taken some time to adjust, but now that I know the difference between being alone and being lonely, solitude and I are becoming friends.  Like most things in life, it’s a matter of perception.  Besides, I am not alone all the time, and this is hardly a hermit’s life I’m living.

Song Sparrow at the table in the scrounger's garden.
Song Sparrow at the table in the scrounger’s garden.

If we were having coffee, I’d probably chatter a lot at first because of all the time I spend alone.  Don’t worry.  It won’t last long.  My words build up, and they usually come rushing out in the first few minutes and then I slow down, becoming my normal listening self once again.  In the event that I actually do drink coffee, that makes me chatter, chatter, chatter, too.

He had this food all to himself for a while.
He had this food all to himself for a while.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask if you want to take a short walk before you go.  We could go out to the woods where I would show you the tree that fell down.  Friday and Saturday were blustery days, and some of the gusts were strong.  I’m surprised more trees didn’t take the plunge towards earth.  The one that fell is a loblolly pine, and it was already dead.  There are a few of those in the woods.  Two are standing near the boardwalk to the dock, and I’ve seen them sway during gusty winds.  Someday I’ll walk out there and find them on the ground, too.

Goldfinch in the bath.
Goldfinch in the bath.

If we were having coffee, it might be time for you to go because you probably have other things to do .  Thank you so much for stopping by and visiting with me today.  I appreciate it.  I’d invite you out to the dock to watch the sunset, but I don’t think we’ll see much.  The sky is thick with clouds, little spots of blue peeking out here and there.  In case you’re wondering, sunset is scheduled for 5:25 PM.  It’s warm today so if the clouds do happen to break up, feel free to have a seat on the bench on the dock and enjoy the show.

Cloud cover.
Cloud cover.

This post is in response to Part Time Monster’s #WeekendCoffeeShare.  Thanks to Corina for introducing me to it.  You can read her coffee share here.

Flying away.
Flying away.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

42 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee

  1. It’s hard to tell someone to relax when they don’t want to. Perhaps it means you’re getting better faster than you think? I hope so. And my goodness, your flicker left me breathless. So beautiful.

    Like

  2. I like this. It didn’t feel like there was any effort to do anything other than to share. No covering up, no excusing! I love it! I’d ask for tea. I’d probably not talk very much, so your chatter would be an aide to the walking alongsidedness. I might or might not share that I was pondering hermit, solitude, alone, loneliness and how insistent the world can seem in deciding for a person what an action is. If I tried to share it outloud I might cry and then I would worry that I was too much and would lose the personal connection. I would to wonder if the request to know how I was ect. was ‘real’ or just the small talk niceties. I am bad at knowing the difference. Ok, beyond being bad, I really dislike small talk that has no meaning and I’d answer anyway, possibly also ruining tea.

    Oh darn. I think I just outted myself in a form a caring what other people think…smacks self on forehead with the palm of frustration! I waffle between people pleasing and trying to do what is socially appropriate. I take things literally and sometimes only figure it out after.

    (at this juncture I’d wrap my hands round the mug holding up to my downturned face–hair(if I still had long hair) hiding my face) I might be glad for the bird feeders outside of your window on which to focus.

    oh yes, your questions distracted me from empathy and I want to ask you if you have that horrid have to sit too still wriggly crampy thing in the legs, I had to do some slow foot slides up to my hiney and back down the bed to help with those

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I ask because I genuinely want to know, Elisa. I don’t always know the difference, either, and have more than once (or twice) blurted out a true answer only to find the person asking wasn’t really asking. They were making small talk. I waffle between the two, too. It’s hard for me to let go of that people pleasing thing. Sometimes I think it’s in my genes.

      Oh! That wiggly crampy thing in the legs is yucky! I’ve been taking walks to avoid it. Otherwise, it would drive me crazy.

      Like

  3. It’s a cold blustery day here so it was nice to look at something not covered in snow for a bit. I don’t drink coffee either, never learned to like it though my dad told me I would in college. Didn’t happen and I’m glad it didn’t. Hope you’re feeling better every day. I ‘m not watching the game either. Am going to curl up on the sofa in front of the fire and read a bit and nap a bit.

    Then I’m going to go and snowblow the driveway for the second time this afternoon.

    Like

    1. I miss the snow, Dawn. We’ve only had the lightest dusting, and that disappeared rather quickly. However. I don’t miss having to drive in it or clear the driveway or any of the other work involved. It’s easy for me to romance the snow if all I have to do is enjoy it.

      Thank you. 🙂 I’m getting there, I guess. Still uncomfortable, and having had no experience with this sort of thing, wondering if what I feel is normal.

      Like

  4. Usually, when I visit Breezes at Dawn, I sit at my desk with my morning cup of herbal tea, reading, and it feels as if we have had a visit. I love to catch up on your daily news. If we were having coffee, I might have tea, depending on the time of day. Tea is gentler to my half-asleep taste buds, but as the day progresses, coffee doesn’t startle my taste so much, and I love the flavour of coffee, especially with dark chocolate. The combination is decadent, especially with a touch of mint added. I hope you are feeling your usual faster moving self soon, Robin. Take care, and yes, enjoy the slow. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hello lovely friend! I’d love to come over and share some tea and coffee (you tea, me coffee, as we know) and have a lovely long chat! This time I’d bring some interesting teas for you and lots of lovely fruit and veg, plus some homemade soup – to help your healing. I hope you make a very speedy recovery Robin, from your surgery. Sending healthy vibes and lots of love to you. xxx

    Like

    1. So good to see you, Bunny!! Thank you for the healthy vibes, the love, the good, wishes, the lovely fruit and veg and soup. I imagine we could chat for hours and hours, drinking our tea and coffee. 🙂

      Like

  6. I loved having coffee with you today, Robin. I’m glad you gave it a try and you did an awesome job. I think these are really fun and if I ever stopped blogging, I would make sure I always did a #weekendcoffeeshare . I can’t get the game either. I wish I could. This year, I want to watch the Seahawks’ second Super Bowl win!

    I hope you do this again next week!

    Like

  7. I suspect you might just need a dash of patience with that coffee. It sounds as though you’re healing after your ordeal and hopefully things will be back to normal before you know it. Pity I can’t drink coffee (which I love) for it sends me ricocheting off the walls and sends my heart racing. I do miss it so, but have learned to enjoy tea instead.

    Like

    1. Patience is something I still need to learn, Gunta. 🙂 Coffee puts me on fast-forward, too, and can give me a good case of the jitters. Tea, on the other hand, never seems to bother me in an overly-caffeinated way.

      Like

  8. If we were having coffee, I’d ask for a hot chocolate. When I am cold, this winter, chocolate is my go-to drink. Funny, I usually drink tea. We have lots of snow and more tomorrow … I’ll send you some to keep in your freezer. I know what you mean about talking …. Today I had a writing group meeting and I monopolized the whole conversation. …. Jane

    Like

    1. I miss the snow, Jane. I keep hoping we’ll get at least one good snowfall before the winter is over, but it’s looking less and less likely. It’s in the 50’s here today. Meanwhile, back in the Bogs, they’re getting about 15 inches of snow today. I hear the pond is frozen and the kids have been ice skating on it. Hot chocolate is a wonderful beverage on those cold and snowy days. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. If we were to have coffee later in the day, I would prefer tea because I now drink only two cups of coffee in the morning (one with caffeine, the second decaf). If we were to have coffee I would love that you chatter to jumpstart me and keep my attention, since I tend to become distracted by birds and outside critters. If we were to have coffee, I would also tell you to enjoy the slow, but I would agree it’s easier to do that when its your choice, not forced upon you.

    Like

    1. If we were to have coffee or tea, I bet it would be a thoroughly enjoyable time, Carol. I get distracted by the birds and outside critters, too, so we’d have to take turns keeping each others attention. 🙂

      Like

  10. Good morning Robin! I hope you are feeling exceptionally well this morning! Coffee, I didn’t start drinking it until I was 42. Couldn’t stand the taste of the stuff. Now I love it. Tea, I love as well. Though for a workout boost, I prefer a green tea for that lift. And that moon shot? Absolutely amazing! 🙂

    Like

  11. It is a snow day from school again as I am sitting here with my cup of coffee reading this lovely post and wishing I had something to take pictures and post about besides snow, lol. Only thing at my bird feeder currently is a persistent squirrel, happily chomping away at my “squirrel proof” feeder. Love knowing I can come here for something lovely to look at and a wonderful perspective to consider for the day. Thanks for the beauty.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Karma. And thank you. 🙂 I’m a little envious of your snow day. Maybe you could practice your food photography since the snow is not inspiring you? That’s usually what I do when the outdoors loses its luster (which it is beginning to do here with all the grays and browns).

      Like

  12. I can’t resist … but if we were having coffee, it seems you will be talking a lot! 😉 All kidding aside, many good points to ponder and to engage in conversation. There is something special about solitude, but I don’t think I would be a good hermit.

    Like

  13. I know exactly what this impatience you are talking about is like. But you own advise to enjoy slow is good, not only for the recovery but any time. If we were having coffee – I would drink it. 🙂 I wish you a smooth recovery.

    Like

  14. If we were having coffee, Robin, I’d want to share some of that lovely pot of tea you’ve brewed! I love watching the leaves and flowers grow in bloom in clear pots like yours, and it always tastes so delicate and “special.” I hope you are feeling a bit better each day. Your photos show how beautiful your garden is at the moment despite the blustery weather. Will you get snow tonight? We started out with spring like temperatures this morning, how strong winds at mid-day, and expect ice by morning. But we must have our coffee long-distance, Robin. I’ve been “in” for 8 days now getting over a walking pneumonia, and would not share that with you (or anyone else) just for the opportunity to get out of the house. There is healing and peace in solitude. I hope you will be out in your garden again soon, with renewed energy and good heath. Hugs, WG

    Like

    1. I am so sorry to hear you’ve been ill, WG. I wish the same for you — that “you will be out in your garden again soon, with renewed energy and good heath.” We didn’t get any snow. They’re saying we might get some tomorrow morning, but it won’t be more than a few flakes or a dusting. The wind finally died down overnight. I’m heading out to the woods soon to see if any more trees fell down.

      Like

      1. Thank you for the good wishes, Robin 😉 No snow here, either, although it is more than cold enough! We loved last night’s full moon in the clear sky, and are glad the clouds went elsewhere. Looking forward to your photos later today- E

        Like

  15. I wish we could have coffee sometime soon (I’d even accept your drinking tea, though I’d want real coffee). I owe you an e-mail – I’ll find time in the next couple of days, promise. I’m glad you are recovering, but don’t fret about speeding things up – listen to what your body tells you. Give M my best.

    Your “anonymous” pal…… 🙂

    Like

    1. Good to hear from you Anonymous Pal. No worries on hurrying with that email since it took me so long to finally write to you. Hope all is well. I’ll pass on your message. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

