Posted in Air, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, The Body Beautiful, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter

Taking it easy

Peace.
Peace.

Silence is the source of healing.  When we bring things from within ourselves out into the light of awareness, a healing process happens.  In the silence, we can let go of all anger, sadness, fear, loneliness and frustration.

~ Swami Dhyan Giten, Presence — Working from Within

Winging it.
Winging it.

It is quiet here on the Wabi-Sabi Ranch today.  After a sunny start to the day, clouds thickened and took over the sky.  The air is still.  I have been practicing stillness, too.

A sun pillar.
A sun pillar.

The past couple of days have been filled with motion.  On Tuesday I had an appointment with the doctor that resulted in rescheduling the surgery that was postponed.  There wasn’t a lot of time to think about it.  I went in requesting answers and the doctor called my bluff, so to speak.  She had an opening in her surgical schedule on Wednesday.  I took it.

On Tuesday, the day the nor'easter didn't bring us snow.
On Tuesday, the day the nor’easter didn’t bring us snow.

It felt right, although I had a lot of inner turbulence about it because even with out-patient surgery, it’s still surgery.

Wind and waves near sunset.
Wind and waves near sunset.

So, M and I had a date night on Tuesday.  We went bowling which was tons of fun.  It’s something we haven’t done since we moved here.  Then we went to the beach to see what the ocean and waves were up to.  The nor’easter that brought snow to the New England states passed by our way.  It brought plenty of wind and rain, but no snow for us.

Big wave from the Atlantic Ocean.
Big wave from the Atlantic Ocean.

The waves were thunderous, crashing and booming.  They had some lovely curls, too.  It was the right place for me to be during that space of time.  A place of liveliness, exhilaration, natural joy.  Exuberant Life.

Celebrating with the wind.
Celebrating with the wind.

Photographs can not quite capture the beauty and motion of the water or the depth and variety of clouds and colors in the sky.

Walking out to greet the sea.
Walking out to greet the sea.

We had dinner at a found restaurant.  “Found” because the restaurant we’d planned to visit was closed so we drove around until we came across this place on the water that turned out to be a great find.  The food was wonderful and we were seated near the window where we could watch the ducks fly in at sunset.

Looking out the restaurant window at sunset.
Looking out the restaurant window at sunset.

It was a good way to head into yesterday’s surgery.  I can’t say I was calm, cool, and collected about it.  But I did feel ready.  All went well.  I am grateful to the doctor and to the nurses.  I am especially grateful for the nurse who understood what I was talking about when we discussed my nervousness.  She told me that the way she thought of it when she had surgery was that she had done everything she could up to that point and now all she could do was relax, trust, and turn it over to the doctor and medical staff, allowing them to do what they could to help her heal.  I can’t explain why that was exactly the right thing for her to say to me, but it was calming and reassuring.

I am grateful to M, for everything.  He probably won’t be reading this (he rarely visits my blog), but I want to put it out there anyway.

On the dunes.
On the dunes.

Today I am taking it easy and quickly recovering.  There is still some pain, but the wooziness from the anesthesia has finally worn off, and I feel better now that I know some of what was going on.  We’ll have to wait for the pathology report to confirm what I thought all along and what the doc thinks now that she’s done the surgery.  “Nothing looks suspicious,” she said.  That’s code for “it doesn’t look like cancer.”

An answer to a question asked a few days ago.
An answer to a question asked a few days ago.

I guess that’s about it.  Thank you so much for visiting.  I hope life is going well for you, and that all manner of things are well.  We won’t have much of a sunset tonight so let’s just stay indoors where it’s warm and cozy, and have a nice chat.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a book review that I was supposed to have done yesterday.  Well, I hope to have it done tomorrow, but we’ll have to wait and see.  It doesn’t do to overdo.

Walking out to the dock a few days ago.
Walking out to the dock at sunset.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Another sunset at the Point (last week).
Another sunset at the Point (last week).
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

43 thoughts on “Taking it easy

  1. I’m glad your surgery went well and praying the results are good. All of your photos are beautiful, but the photos of the ocean waves are what I always hope to get but never quite manage.

    Like

  2. I can hear the sound from the waves – oddly they do inspire stillness as you watch them. Pictures like the on looking out of the restaurant make you wonder as to why we as artists even try to compete. But maybe the images creates give those who cannot be there a bit of the wonder.
    Glad to hear you are recovering easily. Stay cozy and warm!

    Like

  3. The ocean and inner quiet are the two greatest forces for healing I have found. So it seem to me you are doing everything just right. What a great nurse! She spoke the truth of the matter and from her own experience – so of course you could hear it. All will be well Robin. All is already well!

    Like

  4. It’s so reassuring when the doctor says those magic words, “Nothing looks suspicious”….they have experience, and we can trust they know their job. It’s great to hear from you Robin, I have missed your post announcements popping up in my emails, and I have really enjoyed all of your photos today. The sea is so calming, no matter how loud it roars. xxx

    Like

    1. Thank you, Joanne. 🙂 I must have had your comment in my head just a few seconds ago when I wrote the same thing about the sea being calming even when it roars.

      Like

  5. Hi Robin! I’m happy to hear that your surgery went well, and I’m beaming you warmth (but not too much heat) and healing vibes. I think it’s not what the nurse said beforehand per se that helped, but how she said it. You probably picked up on her authenticity and genuine desire to reassure, and it’s great that what she said helped to put you at ease! Wishing you a smooth transition from grogginess back into shining health! xx

    Like

  6. I’m glad she called your bluff. Sometimes that’s the only way to get us to move on things that need to be done. I’m also very grateful that you can enjoy those magic words from the doctor. Take it easy. Be good to yourself. Keep resting and recovering!

    Like

  7. If we don’t take it easy, Robin, often the alternative is unhealthy and unattractive. It takes intentional awareness and effort to challenge and heal ourselves. However, the reward for such focus can be landing where we want to be physically, emotionally and spiritually. Be and stay well!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Thanks for the update and for the lovely pictures! I loved hearing how you and your husband treated yourselves the day before at a “found” restaurant. That’s a great description of how our wanderings can sometimes be successful.

    Nancy

    Like

  9. The ocean is perfect for sending some healing thoughts to you. Glad nothing looked suspicious. I’ve missed you! Tomorrow will be even better than today. I’m sure of it.

    Like

  10. Wonderful group of shots, Robin. I love the way a moment in time changes the entire scene in so many instances … your waves are a good example of what I mean. 😉

    Like

  11. Sometimes it takes that nudge to do what we really ought to do. Glad it went relatively smoothly and hope all the results are good! You might have guessed by now that I love waves…?

    Like

  12. Healing thoughts and well wishes Robin!!!! I love those wave pictures!!!!!! They captured something wonderful! Even if not the full power and sound of them. I think they must have given you an extra umph of strength and energy for your procedure. Be well. Please. 🙂

    Like

  13. Lovely sunsets and great surf shots. They related to the agitation and calm you were feeling – opposing yet of the same whole. Glad to hear things went well and you’ll be up and about in no time. Enjoy your weekend.

    Like

  14. A wonderful post! I hope you’ve received good news from the pathology report by this time, since I am catching up with you a few day after the fact. Happy to know surgery is done and things look good. The photos here are wonderful. My part of Massachusetts didn’t receive nearly as much snow as other parts, but my world is thoroughly covered in white. I love seeing your ocean curls and colorful skies.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. No news yet. I won’t know anything until I see the doc later this week for a post-op visit. I assume if it’s anything urgent, they’ll call sooner. Glad to hear you’re not buried in snow. We haven’t had any significant snowfall here this year, and I suspect we’re not going to. But I could be wrong. I hope so. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

