Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water

Past lives

Yesterday's sunset.
Thusday’s sunset.

Listening to one’s self as well as to others is a sacred act of healing.  There is a higher octave of listening that hears the wisdom within the words.

~ Cheryl Hamada

Flow
Flow

The sunsets have been lovely lately.  The colors start out quiet and subdued, and then begin to deepen as it it grows darker.

Open handed.
Open handed.

I watched the moonrise last night.  I hadn’t intended to be awake for it, but that’s how it goes some nights.  It was one of those gifts that insomnia sometimes brings.  Although it was only a quarter moon, it was still bright and big as it came up over the trees, a brilliant shade of tangerine.  I thought about bundling up and going out to watch the Geminid meteor shower.  It was pretty cold out there, though, and brisk, chill air does not lull me to sleep.  I will go out tonight because it is the peak night for the Geminids, and it’s said they are quite bright so we should be able to see them well enough in spite of the quarter moon.

Deepening.
Deepening.  (You can almost make out the sun pillar in this image.)

Better yet, I’ll go out early.  Moonrise isn’t until 11:38 PM.  It will be nice and dark, perfect for meteor shower viewing.

Always changing.
Always changing.

Today’s Osho Zen Tarot card is Past Lives.  At first I found it creepy looking (you can see it here), but it has an interesting message, and my perception of how the card looks changed as I read the message.  The quick meaning of the card is:

This is a wake-up call; the events in your life are trying to show you a pattern as ancient as the journey of your own soul.

Magenta sky.
Magenta sky.

The in-depth explanation starts:

One dream comes, is followed by another dream, and is followed by yet another dream.  The pilgrim starts from one moment and enters into the next one.  Moment after moment, the moments keep disappearing, but the pilgrim continues moving on.

And ends with:

“Who am I?” is a very fundamental question, and a very existential question at that.  “Who am I?” is a question which involves the totality of our existence in all its depths and heights.  This question will take me where I was before I was ever born, behind all my past lives.  This question can take me where I was in the primeval beginning.  The profoundness of this question is infinite.  And so is its journey equally profound.

~ Osho, Tarot in the Spirit of Zen

Water colors.
Water colors.

Sometimes when I’m out walking I think of my life as a dream, and tell myself that this is a very good dream.  I don’t know how or why, but the thought of this life as a very good dream suddenly enhances the beauty of the woods or the meadows or the beach or wherever I happen to be walking.  Maybe it is a heightening of my senses.  Colors become more vivid, sounds become clearer and almost musical, scents become more obvious, and I feel more present within myself as well as within the world and the moment.  It is, indeed, a very good dream.

Expanding into the night.
Expanding into the night.

The sun is visiting us again today.  The birds appear to be enjoying it.  While doing my yoga practice this morning, I looked out the patio doors to see a small flock of bluebirds playing in the leaves and trees.  At least that’s how they looked to me: playful.  Hopping, flying, and dancing around the backyard, brilliant flashes of blue feathers sparkling in the sunlight.

At the edge of time.
At the edge of time.

I guess that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this sunny day.  Thank you for stopping by, and joining me on another ramble through sunsets and thoughts and tarot cards.  Let’s meet on the dock for sunset tonight.  Bundle up.  Don’t let the sunshine fool you.  It’s cold and windy.  I’ll bring some hot herbal tea to help keep us warm.  Or maybe hot chocolate.  What do you think?  Tea or chocolate?  Or both?  Sunset is still at 4:43 PM.  I wonder when it will change?

Small sun pillar.
Small sun pillar.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂  And have a great weekend (if you aren’t already doing so)!

One last look back through the cedars before returning to the warmth of the house.
One last look back through the cedars before returning to the warmth of the house.

Today’s joys:  The sunshine, of course!; sweet mango for breakfast; a warm and comfy sweater that feels like a hug; bluebirds playing in the backyard; a friend who sent the perfect Festivus gift (which will be featured on Ye Olde Blog soon).

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

11 thoughts on “Past lives

  1. I should enjoy a hot chocolate, perhaps with a dash of chili? I went to bed last night soon after 10 pm, I was VERY tired. It was still light enough not to need lights on in the house. It made me feel like a little child again 🙂 The card’s message is a hard one! But it is always good to put a life into perspective and to know there is more to it than we can begin to understand from this viewpoint – and that is okay. xo

    Like

  2. I’d love to share some hot chocolate with you, Robin. I don’t drink it often and so consider it a special treat to share in good company. I’m really interested in those Tarot Cards. Do you have a set or do you get a card of the day from an online website? I like how your idea that life is a very good dream heightens your senses and your gratitude for all the things life brings. Lovely post.

    Like

  3. I really liked these two statements in your post, but am still thinking them over:

    “One dream comes, is followed by another dream, and is followed by yet another dream. The pilgrim starts from one moment and enters into the next one. Moment after moment, the moments keep disappearing, but the pilgrim continues moving on.

    Sometimes when I’m out walking I think of my life as a dream, and tell myself that this is a very good dream. I don’t know how or why, but the thought of this life as a very good dream suddenly enhances the beauty of the woods or the meadows or the beach or wherever I happen to be walking. Maybe it is a heightening of my senses. Colors become more vivid, sounds become clearer and almost musical, scents become more obvious, and I feel more present within myself as well as within the world and the moment. It is, indeed, a very good dream.”

    #

    I think both are true and the execution is very doable. I think though I’m more comforted by these statements than seeing my life as lacking in executing them.

    I just pulled a book off my shelf – my “favorites” shelf – called “Between the Dreaming and The Coming True” by Robert Benson. It too is about pilgrimage and the mysteries of faith’s road. One of the sentences I highlighted said,

    “Until there is good-bye, there is no hello. Until there is a journey away, there is no coming home.”

    This is not just physical either. It’s what’s happening in your life with your health, it’s what’s happening in my life with one job ending and another phase of life beginning.

    I guess I should make this into a blog post of my own. But I’ve written this out here to

    a) encourage you and

    b) encourage myself

    We both need it. Things are going well, but not as expected.

    Hugs & kisses from Virginia.

    Nancy

    Like

  4. Mmmm…. I love tarot cards, but I don’t have the Osho deck yet. (My mom does, though!) Yes, the Past Lives card is a little creepy at first glance, but I think the overall message of it is really potent. Love the idea of this lifetime being a very good dream!

    Like

  5. I haven’t seen the Past Lives card (I put the deck on my Christmas list because I don’t have a lot of things to ask for and the kids had to have some ideas!) but I like the description of the card meaning. It kind of speaks to me at the stage I’m going through right now.

    Like

  6. ‘Sometimes when I’m out walking I think of my life as a dream, and tell myself that this is a very good dream.’ I feel the same way. I think the realization heightens the appreciation many fold. Lovely sunset, thanks for sharing it with us.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

