Posted in Air, Autumn, Critters, Digital Art, Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Faith, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering

It’s okay

Learning from the rose.  (Processed in Photoshop and Pixlr.)
Learning from the rose. (Processed in Photoshop and Pixlr.)

You can learn from everybody, not only from people but also from animals, from trees, from clouds, from rivers.  But there is no question of imitating.  You can’t become the river, but you can learn some quality that is river-likeness: the flow, the let-go.  You can learn something from a rose flower.  You cannot become a rose flower, you need not, but you can learn something from the rose.  You see the rose so delicate yet so strong in the wind, in the rain, in the sun.  By the evening it will be gone but has no care about it, is joyous in the moment.  You can learn from the rose how to live in the moment.  Right now the rose is dancing in the wind, in the rain, unafraid, unconcerned for the future.  By the evening the petals will wither away, but who bothers about the evening?  This moment is all and this dance is all there is.

Learn something from the rose.  Learn something from the bird on the wing — the courage to go into the unbounded.

~ Osho, from Tarot in the Spirit of Zen

Unbounded
Unbounded.  (A composite.)

I’ve been spending a lot of time in the woods lately.  Communing with the trees, walking the deer trails, watching the light and shadows, breathing in the scent of pine and fresh air, listening to the wind singing through the trees and the marsh grasses at the edge of the woods, and crawling around on the ground to admire the mushrooms and other fungi.

Fairy dome.
Fairy dome.

I think I’ve been going out there to look for something that isn’t out there unless I bring it with me.  A sense of calm.  A respite from worry and anxiety.

Magnolia shadows.
Magnolia shadows.

If you obsess over whether you are making the right decision, you are basically assuming that the universe will reward you for one thing and punish you for another.  The universe has no fixed agenda.  Once you make any decision, it works around that decision.  There is no right or wrong, only a series of possibilities that shift with each thought, feeling, and action that you experience.

~ Deepak Chopra

I found that quote after I came back from the woods this morning feeling more or less the same as when I went out.  I had some spells of calm when I let go of thought and allowed myself the joy of the moment, but the thoughts followed me back to the house as they are wont to do.  Chopra’s words (in the quote) are reassuring, almost like taking a deep, deep breath, and then releasing the worries on the exhale.

Behind bars.
Behind bars.

Anxiety and worrisome thoughts are like a hamster running on a wheel.  They run and run and run, but never get anywhere.  The key is to stop the running, break the loop.  Pause and breathe.

Light bulb moment.
Light bulb moment.

I have days of acceptance, of no worries, and just when I think I’m home free, the worries jump out from behind a door I didn’t even know was there.  “Ah-ha!” they say.  “Let’s work on this some more!”

Murky.  (Mud running from the shore into the creek.)
Murky. (Mud running from the shore into the creek.  Tinted in Photoshop.)

After warming up in the house for a little while, I went back outside, through the woods and out to the dock to watch the water and the sunlight dance with each other.  Mud from the shore flowed into the creek, swirling around like smoke as it spread into the water.  It was beautiful, the way the mud allowed itself to become part of the water.

Dissolving.  (More mud and water, tinted in Photoshop.)
Dissolving. (More mud and water, tinted in Photoshop.)

Sleep was elusive last night, and I know that’s contributing to my dis-ease today.  It was like this:

It was that sort of sleep in which you wake every hour and think to yourself that you have not been sleeping at all; you can remember dreams that are like reflections, daytime thinking slightly warped.

~ Kim Stanley Robinson, Icehenge

Lagoon reflections.
Lagoon reflections.

I think I’ll go back outside while the sun is still lighting things up.  Best to take advantage of these brilliant days because you never know when the Drearies will return.

Sparkles.
Sparkles.

Thank you for visiting today.  Let’s go to the Point and watch the sunset.  I couldn’t get out there yesterday (I had to go to town for another pre-op test), but did see the sun pillar.  It was beautiful, especially against the colorful clouds.  It looked something like the sun pillar in this post.  I read somewhere that Native Americans call sun pillars the Sun’s little brother, and that you can only see little brother when the sun has dipped below the horizon.

Anyhow.  Sunset should be interesting this evening unless the just-enough clouds build up and become too-many clouds.  Sunset is at the usual 4:43 PM.  Come early and bundle up.  It’s chilly and windy, but I think it will be worth braving the cold to stand on the shore and watch as the sun paints the clouds.

Leaving the woods.
Leaving the woods.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s joys:  Sunlight playing through the trees; a flock of Cedar Waxwings sitting in one of the oak trees; the scent of fresh air and sunshine on the sheets I dried outside on the clothesline; time to walk and walk and walk; forest bathing.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

17 thoughts on “It’s okay

  1. I love you and your blog. Your openness and honesty touch such a chord in me and are such a reflection of my own journey. Today, as you swing between your joys and your fears I want to send you a message and even though I know you know all this – sometimes such words have helped me and so I pass them on to you.

    My place is where there is water. My eternal question to those reptilian brain non-thoughts is ‘how true is this?’ I pay attention to how I feel and if the worry has raised my adrenalin then I do everything in my power to counter it. I walk or sit by water when I can – but that is not so easy given my urban surroundings. But wherever I am, I count my blessings. Again and again if need be. I remember Mark Twain’s words that go something like this ‘I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened’. [And if it proves that he never said it – he should have 🙂 ]

    I think we are taught from infancy that the voice in our head that endlessly plays out dire scenarios, is us. It is not. We can choose to counter that voice, challenge it. Remember its past dire predictions that came to nothing and remember that we are loved, we are protected and we always are exactly where we need to be – no matter what.

    I love your Osho cards – how accurate is he with that first quote! I love your water photo that looks like an oil painting – how magical is that! Please go walk in your woods and just be there, love them, love being there, dance with your breeze and raise your arms to each sunset and sunrise – and let the other go. You will deal with it if and when the need arises. Worrying changes nothing and undoes all the good your diet, your positivity and your surroundings do for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing such “spot on” quotations today, Robin. I especially love the Deepak Chopra wisdom 😉 Then only thing I could possibly add, preferably over a glass of good wine, to The ContendedCrafter’s wisdom is this: in some ways we create our world and our circumstance through our thinking… our imagination. Things often manifest as we expect things to manifest. Point being- it helps, I believe, to hold positive expectations. Also, to count our blessings and let our hearts (and minds) brim with gratitude and appreciation. It is a beautiful, light-filled antidote to the fears, drearies, and anxieties which inevitably come. We can express appreciation for our good health, our loved ones, our home, our opportunities to enjoy life in a conscious way to stop the worry-chatter cold in its tracks. May all be well with you. So happy you were able to get out to enjoy today, and to share your stunning photos. Hugs, WG

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, WG, for your words of wisdom, and your blessings. I do think we have to take time to work though the fears, the worries, and the anxieties, but in, as you say, a positive way. With love, with curiosity, with room for the possibility of learning and growing from them. I hope you’re enjoying this beautiful day. It’s a little cold out there, but at least the sun is shining. 🙂

      Like

  3. We’re right in the middle of the ‘drearies’ here, but the house is warm and there’s a smell of brownies from the oven. Life is good. Just let it be. (Easy enough to say, I know, but it’s worth working towards!) 😉

    Like

    1. I’ve been singing “Let It Be” since I read your comment, Gunta. It’s a good song to be singing, and great advice. 🙂 Brownies!! I’m coming over to your house.

      Like

  4. “There is no right or wrong, only a series of possibilities that shift with each thought, feeling, and action that you experience.” I like this. Good stuff to think about in this post today. Hope things are progressing well for you in your countdown. Love the sparkles.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 I like that idea, too. There is something reassuring about it. Sometimes I get wrapped up in wondering whether or not I’m making the right decision, forgetting that there is no right or wrong. Only what’s best for me.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

