Posted in Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Weather

18. Seasonal decorations

Ornament
Ornament

Changing is not just changing the things outside of us.  First of all we need the right view that transcends all notions including of being and non-being, creator and creature, mind and spirit.  That kind of insight is crucial for transformation and healing.

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

Tiny self-portrait.
Tiny self-portrait.

We woke up to a warm and slightly hazy (foggy) morning.  I hear visibility was bad in some spots, but most of our fog was of the light and hazy variety rather than thick clouds that fell to earth.

Mother Nature's seasonal decorations.
Mother Nature’s seasonal decorations.

I went for a long, slow walk, enjoying the warmth and the humidity.  Someone remind me of that next summer when I’m complaining about the warmth and humidity.  It’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it?  Or maybe it’s a matter of seasons and seasonal thinking.  After a few days of cold and chilly, warm and humid feels good.

Slightly off.
Slightly off.

During our outdoor cleaning spree this past spring, we found a lot of things in the outbuildings on the property including a large box of Christmas decorations that were weathered from their time outdoors.  The bottom of the box was damp, and any non-coated/painted metal parts (the hanging hooks, mostly) were rusting.

The pines are full of cones.
The pines are full of cones.

M was going to throw them all away, but I confiscated them and put the box in the greenhouse.  Every now and then, I take an ornament out and hang it somewhere in the scrounger’s garden.  I don’t think they’ll last a long time exposed to the elements.  Windy days often knock them down, and I did run over one with the lawn mower the last time I mowed.  But I do think it adds a touch of whimsy to the garden, and I might as well have fun with them while they last.

The long and short of it.
The long and short of it.

The magnolia tree we transplanted in the spring, the one that shows no signs of life, has become my favorite place to hang the ornaments.  Today I stayed out there for a while, hanging decorations.  I’m not sure we’ll have a tree indoors this year, and this satisfies my need to hang things on a tree.  Maybe we’ll resurrect the Christmas lava lamp tradition.  At least that way we can say we decorated for the holidays.

Cones on earth.
Cones on earth.

It’s hard to compete with Mother Nature when it comes to decorating.  Even though I referred to this time of the month as the December Drearies in yesterday’s post, if you look closely enough, you’ll find it’s not dreary at all.  There are still plenty of beautiful things to look at even if when the sky insists on being gray.

The short and long of it.
The short and long of it.

The rains came shortly after lunch, and that put an end to my outdoor decorating for now.  They say we’ll see the sun tomorrow although it will be blustery and not nearly as warm.  We might be celebrating here tomorrow, but I’ll tell you all about that tomorrow.

You can still find flowers blooming here and there.
You can still find flowers blooming here and there.

That should do it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  The fog has thickened along with the rain so there is no point in going out to watch and wait for the sun to set.  It’s dark enough at times that I’m not sure we’d notice the difference once the sun does go down.  In case you’re wondering, sunset is scheduled for 4:43 pm today.  Sunrise this morning (and we did briefly see flashes of sunlight) was at 7:03 am.  In just a little over two weeks, the days will be growing longer again.

A bow.
Silver is the most prominent color in the box of ornaments.  There are no gold decorations.  Purple, pink, silver, red, and blue, but no gold.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Mama Nature has plenty of gold to go around.
Mama Nature has plenty of gold to go around.

Today’s joys:  Spending most of the morning outside, following the people trails, following the deer trails, and decorating the scrounger’s garden; burritos for breakfast made with soyrizo (a vegetarian version of chorizo), potatoes, onions, peppers, and beans; a lazy afternoon; my lap-cat, Izzy, who shows up whenever I sit down lately (I suspect she’s seeking heat which I don’t mind because she’s sharing heat, too); an early birthday gift that made me laugh so hard I feel like I had a good ab workout.

A little of this and that.
A little of this and that.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

7 thoughts on “18. Seasonal decorations

  1. What wonderful photos! Those ornaments contain so much history. I’m glad you saved them and are giving them new life. My favorite is your first photo of the silver ornament with you reflected in it. I hope all of your news is good, Robin. I posted a link to a great (healthy) recipe with you in mind. I hope you are enjoying the weekend, and that you get that celebration 😉 Best wishes, WG

    Like

  2. I love both the natural decorations as well as the weathered decorations you found in your garage, Robin. All add sparkle to the season. I’d love to see that Christmas lava lamp too.

    It is so much work to put up a tree, and I have to say I don’t miss all the work of preparing for the holidays when I’m away. I did enjoy doing it last year, after several years away, but I’m fine not to do anything for Christmas here in China.

    I’m curious to know about that early birthday gift that made you laugh so hard you got an ab workout. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love the tree decorations outside in the garden.
    A friend of mine sent me a message about it being national tree decorating day today, I had a wonderful yarn bombing post planned, but my time got carried away buying curtains… Orange ones. I’m sure you’ll see the yarn bombing… and the curtains soon enough. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

