Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Faith, Gifts, Gratitude, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Weather

17. December Drearies

Proof that the sun is still up there somewhere.
Proof that the sun is still up there somewhere.

We are now more than halfway removed from what the unwritten word meant to our ancestors, who believed in the original, primal word behind all manifestations of the spirit.  You sang because you were answered.  The answers come from life around you.  Prayers, chants, and songs were also responses to the elements, to the wind, the sun and stars, the Great Mystery behind them.  Life on earth springs from a collateral magic that we rarely consult.  We avoid the unknown as if we were afraid that contact would lower our sense of self-esteem.

~ John Hay, A Beginner’s Faith in Things Unseen

Ripples in the sky.
Ripples in the sky.

Have you ever heard of a Hole Punch Cloud?  The technical term is “Fall Streak Hole” (which sounds no more technical to me than Hole Punch Cloud, but I’m not a meteorologist so what do I know?).  We had one here yesterday.  I missed seeing it in person, but there are some great photos of it here.  It’s pretty cool.

Waves above.
Waves above.

It has been a rather dreary week.  We haven’t seen much of the sun since Monday.  The cloud cover continues to thicken day by day.  It is the December Drearies.  The December Drearies are not quite as bad as the February Doldrums (or the February Funk) because they usually don’t last as long.  A quick look at the weather forecast shows us socked in with clouds until next Wednesday.  I do hope that’s wrong.  I try to enjoy all kinds of weather, but chilly and dreary don’t make it easy.  We’ll be adding damp to that combination tomorrow when the rains arrive.

Marsh grass reflections on Back Creek.
Marsh grass reflections on Back Creek.

I went out for a long walk this morning, and will probably go out again soon.  JT, our construction guy, is here today repairing (or replacing, I’m not sure) the joists under the laundry room and installing a new back door.  Needless to say, this kind of work requires a great deal of noise.  There is much drilling, hammering, and pounding.  The cats, Izzy and Bella, are upset about it and probably won’t speak to me for a week.  The house is cold, too, because there is no point in running the heat while there is no back door to keep it in.

Ye olde back door.  (You can't tell by looking at it in this photo, but the door is in pretty bad shape.)
Ye olde back door.  You can’t tell by looking at it in this photo, but the door is in pretty bad shape.  You can also see part of the new concrete slab in this picture.

Faith is not something to grasp, it is a state to grow into.

~ Mahatma Gandhi

I have been giving some thought to my word for next year.  Those of you who have been following me for a while know that I pick a word (or it picks me) as a kind of theme for the year.  This year’s word was Faith.

A portal near the lagoon.
A portal near the lagoon.

All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.

~ J. M. Barrie, Peter Pan

It was around this time last year that I started pondering the word faith, and announced it on the blog near the end of December.  Faith has been an interesting word to travel with around the wheel of the year.  I set out with the idea of learning to have faith in myself, and hopefully having the courage to take a few leaps of faith.  Did I accomplish those things?  Well, sort of.  As usual, the lessons of the word take most of the year to sink in, and some lessons are different than what I was expecting.  There were days when I did take small leaps of faith, but didn’t think of them as such until now.  My current challenge (the 55-Day Be Well Challenge) is a big leap of faith that in a short time has taught me a lot about trust and faith in myself and in my own knowing (or feeling).

Finding the jewel in the center.
Finding the jewel in the center.

I believe in intuitions and inspirations… I sometimes FEEL that I am right.  I do not KNOW that I am.

~ Albert Einstein

Of all the quotes about faith, Einstein’s is my favorite.  His words, in my opinion, sum it up succinctly and well.  It’s something I’ve learned recently.  I FEEL that all is well, but until I’ve jumped through the medical hoops, I won’t be able to prove that I am.  I don’t feel in need of proof, but others do and I have a great deal of love and respect for some of those others so I will jump through the hoops.

Holiday decorations are popping up in the scrounger's garden.
Holiday decorations are popping up in the scrounger’s garden.

I also know what my word for next year will be.  It’s been appearing everywhere lately.  I’ll tell you all about it soon.

Where the hummingbird feeder hangs during the warmer months.
Where the hummingbird feeder hangs during the warmer months.

I guess that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  Thank you so much for dropping by for a visit, and joining me on another walk.  Do you have any plans for the weekend?  I don’t.  I’m just going to let the weekend unfold as it will.  As someone who likes lists and control and planning, letting things unfold is a tiny leap of faith.  The little leaps help me practice for the big ones.

A golden moment.
A golden moment.

The heavy cloud cover and the possibility of rain will likely mean no visible sunset.  If it’s not raining, I will go out to the dock anyhow.  Meet you out there.  We won’t see the sun, but we might see large murmurations of starlings swirling and dancing or flocks of geese flying in their chevron pattern.  And who knows?  Maybe the otter will swim by or we’ll spot a deer in the woods on our way back once it starts to grow dark.

Stars that live in the meadow.
Stars that live in the meadow.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Golden grasses.
Golden grasses.

Today’s joys:  Long walks; warm outerwear without which long walks wouldn’t be possible this time of year because it would be too cold to stay outside for more than a few minutes; winter bouquets in the meadows; JT the Construction Guy, who smiles and laughs as he works and does a great job; art in the clouds.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

17 thoughts on “17. December Drearies

  1. Oooh, I can’t wait to hear what your word for 2015 is! I think I have my word picked out as well, but it’s one that scares the bejeezus out of me! I’ll sit with it for a bit before announcing it, too…

    Like

    1. And I can’t wait to hear what your word is, Dana! It’s a good idea to sit with it for a while. I’ve been known to change mine somewhere around the last minute. I almost went with “courage” last year until I gave a lot of thought to what that might conjure up. Besides, faith has a way of giving me courage. 🙂

      Like

  2. My goodness, has it been that long? I remember when you picked your word for this year, which means I’ve been following you for a year now. I think I’ll not be on the dock tonight – the damp chill drives me inside.

    Like

  3. I’m in the same boat as you, Robin, with the December drearies here in the south of China. I’d say most days I wake up to gray days, which I’m afraid dampens my mood considerably. It’s not as cold here, maybe in the 50s and 60s, but it is very damp, which makes it feel colder than it is.

    I just remembered that for this year I picked the word FOCUS, inspired by you, but I have to say I didn’t do very well with that word. I kept my focus through June, I’d say, and then I totally lost it. Maybe I will try to come up with a word I can actually hold near and dear for this year. 🙂

    Like

    1. The damp does make a difference, Cathy. I can handle cold, but when damp is thrown in with it, forget it. It’s no fun at all. FOCUS is a good word, especially for a photographer. 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s exactly how I feel about the damp. I really don’t like it at all. I guess I should have never complained about Oman’s dry heat!! 🙂 And yes, I guess Focus was a good word; too bad I didn’t stick to it….

        Like

  4. Thanks for the shots of the ‘hole punch cloud’. I LOVE crazy cloud formations and had never heard of such a thing.

    As for weather, I’m feeling spoiled since we’ve been getting rain at night and then along comes a sunny day when it’s perfect to work outside. The ground is just exactly right to be pulling up weeds and doing general cleanup.

    Waiting impatiently for your next word…..

    Like

  5. It’s been dreary and discouraging here too. I’m walking a dog every day, but it’s hard to enjoy being outside when it’s so damp and dim.

    I loved that picture of the marsh grasses! It was my favorite. I’d not heard of a hole punch cloud – it looks rather similar to when a tornado is trying to form and the tail is going up and down. Can you tell I’m from the Midwest? Tornado alley?

    I look forward to hearing about your word. Ali Edwards will be announcing her 2015 class soon on this. I enjoyed the one I took this year and highly recommend it:

    https://aliedwards.com/projects/one-little-word

    I’m still considering my word for next year. Right now, I’m still confused about being outsourced and am not hearing anything too well in my spirit. I’m also not nurturing my creativity very well, which isn’t helping.

    Thanks for the lovely post! I always enjoy what it gives me to think about or nod and say yep, me too.

    Nancy

    Like

    1. Thank you, Nancy. I will check out the link soon. I can understand your confusion. It might take a while for you to find your balance once again.

      I thought “tornado” too! lol! I’m not from the Midwest, but lived there long enough for tornado to come to mind. Now that I think about it, the only tornado I’ve experienced was in Atlanta, Georgia, of all places. It hit a downtown area where I worked. The windows in our office imploded and some filing cabinets were thrown around. I was standing near those filing cabinets when I noticed the darkness and heard that freight train sound (and had time to think, “It really DOES sound like that!”), and ran to the middle of the office. Scary and weird experience.

      Like

  6. December drearies is a great term! It certainly describes Portland in December (and November, and January and February, and March!). Looking forward to hearing your “word”. Some day I might do that too. Maybe I should start with a word a month. I can’t imagine focusing on one word for the year. Maybe I will try a monthly word.

    Like

    1. A word a month sounds like a great idea, Corina! The great thing about choosing a word, phrase, or theme for the year is that there are no rules. I’ve been doing this for what seems like forever (since the 90’s at least), and sometimes the word changes. Or I change it because I don’t like what the word is bringing me.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

