Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Goals, Gratitude, Home, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Sky, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water

7. Existence

Reflections on the creek.
Reflections on the creek.

Live totally, live intensely, because the deeper your living is the more you are in contact with existence.  You are born of it; every moment you are renewed, rejuvenated, resurrected by each of your breaths, by each of your heartbeats — existence is taking care of you.

~ Osho, from Tarot in the Spirit of Zen: The Game of Life

Galaxies in the meadow.
Galaxies in the meadow.

We are under heavy cloud cover today.  No sign of the sun so far.  I haven’t been out for my walk yet, but will be going soon.  We have concrete guys here on the ranch today.  They’re putting in a concrete slab near the garage so that we will have a little parking area where you can exit your vehicle without stepping into a mud puddle or getting sand all over your shoes.  Hmmm… if it’s sand, would it be a sand puddle instead of a mud puddle?

Celebration
Celebration

There are five guys working on the project.  Two of them, the bosses/owners of the business, are brothers.  They bicker.  A lot.  Bicker is putting it mildly.  At one point I thought they might be getting ready to murder each other.  The f-word was flying all over the place and it sounded like tempers were rising.  Apparently that’s how these brothers communicate.

Harmony
Harmony

They have finished laying things out (putting the forms in, I think it’s called).  The guy with the concrete truck arrived a few minutes ago and told me the brothers are good people who do good work.  Maybe the bickering is their way of raising the energy they need to do such hard, physical labor.  They’re out there yelling at each other again, but the other guys are all laughing.  I guess I can stop worrying about the possibility of homicide.

Normally I would be out there taking pictures of the whole process, but I think I’ll just leave them to it.

Ribbon of grass.
Ribbon of grass.

Existence is enough unto itself.  Inquire into your relationship with existence, and out of that inquiry trust arises — not belief, not faith.  Trust has a beauty because it is your experience.  Trust will help you to relax because the whole existence is taking care — there is no need to be worried and to be concerned.

The whole of existence is full of rejoicing; you just need to open your windows.  Your darkness is your own creation, your alienation is your own creation; otherwise, you are not a stranger to yourself.  You are not a stranger to the trees, to the rivers, to the mountains.

It is our existence; we are part of it.

~ Osho, from Tarot in the Spirit of Zen: The Game of Life

Crisscross
Crisscross

I’m one week into my 55-Day Be Well Challenge, and feeling pretty good.  I’ve been slowly getting back into a good exercise routine.  One that is challenging without overdoing it.  I heed the signals of my body, always a smart thing to do.  The change in diet still presents challenges (cravings).  Do you think it’s possible to be addicted to cheese?  Yeah, I think so too.

Delicate lines.
Delicate lines.

My Osho Zen Tarot card today, in case you haven’t already guessed, is Existence.  There is something reassuring about this card, about the idea of being a part of the whole.

In a small corner of the woods.
In a small corner of the woods the leaves glow.

I reckon that’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you for visiting, and taking another ramble with me.  Most of today’s images are from a walk I took on Sunday.  I don’t think we’ll see much of a sunset this evening so I’ll leave you with a few photos from yesterday’s sunset at the Point.  It was incredibly windy out there, as you’ll see when you get to the image of the water.

The Bird Tree
The Bird Tree

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Making a splash.
Making a splash.

Today’s joys:  Things that reassure; listening to the brothers bicker (they’re starting to sound like a couple of hens, or roosters as the case may be);  lunch with M; jazz on the radio; good friends.

Goodnight, Sun.
Goodnight, Sun.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

16 thoughts on “7. Existence

  1. One of the things I like when I hear people arguing loudly is that I don’t communicate like that nor am I communicated to, like that. It makes me appreciate civility 🙂 I just read an excellent post on Robbie’s blog [Palm Rae Urban Potager] do you know it? Here’s the link – it may be of interest to you http://palmraeurbanpotager.com/2014/11/25/do-you-know-the-top-41-nutritious-foods-on-earth-that-can-fight-disease/ Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  2. I love the Osho quotes. I’d love a set of those Tarot cards. It’s so funny about the brothers bickering, especially in light of the Osho quote: ‘Live totally, live intensely, because the deeper your living is the more you are in contact with existence.” Maybe the constant outpouring of emotion back and forth between the brothers is their way of living intensely. There’s something to be said for letting one’s emotions out instead of keeping them bottled up inside. It’s freeing somehow, and as long as it doesn’t hurt the other person, then it is a form of intense living. These brothers obviously communicate this way, and it probably makes their relationship bearable, if not stronger!

    It looks like a very windy day out there. Have a happy Thanksgiving, Robin!

    Like

    1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too, Cathy! I think you may be right about the bickering brothers. I was talking with one of them yesterday after all the work was finished, and he said his brother gets on his nerves sometimes, but he loves him and they have built up a good business together. If the work they did is any indication, all that bickering doesn’t hurt. They did a beautiful job. 🙂

      Like

      1. That’s good to know. I guess that’s how they’ve managed to succeed. I guess if they held in all their frustrations with each other, they might have too much resentment to actually be successful. 🙂

        Like

  3. You are more tolerant that I would be, Robin. If they are talking and shouting at each other like that and in a volume that I can hear, then I would have said something because that is infringing on my space and my energy. I would just say something like “Hey guys, not everyone appreciates hearing that kind of language and I’m one that doesn’t.” At least that way you let them know gently and see what they do with that. After that, if they didn’t curtail it, then I would consider it very unprofessional and let others know that if/when asked.

    Like

    1. I didn’t mind them too much, Corina, once I realized that’s how they work together and that they were not going to come to blows. In the end, the work they did is beautiful so I have no complaints. 🙂

      Like

    1. I agree, Jane. It does (at least to me) have a family connotation to it, and that’s what it was like listening to the two brothers. I was reminded of the bickering between me and my (three) brothers when we were children. Maybe if we’d been working together all these years, we’d still be bickering. lol!

      Like

  4. I really like Harmony — like the photo and the title and how they go together. Harmony in and of itself. Your photography reminds me of the poetry of Mary Oliver.

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness… thank you so much, BATR! That is an amazing compliment. I am a huge fan of Mary Oliver’s poetry which I find wonderful, sometimes formidable in a down-to-earth way (I can’t explain that, but I know what I mean…lol!), and awesome (or awe-inspiring) in the true sense of the word.

      Like

  5. I think one of the greatest lessons I’ve learned at my age is that I don’t HAVE to get sucked into other people’s soap operas. It’s nice to see you take the bickering in stride and let the brothers do their thing as long as it doesn’t escalate to something more intense or destructive. I can’t help but wonder if they are even aware of how they appear to others.
    Wishing you a very happy bird-day with lots to be thankful for. 😀

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

