Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather

Gray days

Morning mist
Morning mist

Walked for half an hour in the garden.  A fine rain was falling, and the landscape was that of autumn.  The sky was hung with various shades of gray, and mists hovered about the distant mountains — a melancholy nature.  The leaves were falling on all sides like the last illusions of youth under the tears of irremediable grief.  A brood of chattering birds were chasing each other through the shrubberies, and playing games among the branches, like a knot of hiding schoolboys.  Every landscape is, as it were, a state of the soul, and whoever penetrates into both is astonished to find how much likeness there is in each detail.

~ Henri Frederic Amiel

Feeling a little droopy.
Feeling a little droopy.

It’s been dreary here for the past two days.  Gray, misty, just downright damp without, so far, rain.  The rain is coming, and with it the cold.  Tomorrow will be sunny, but the high is predicted to be about 36°F.  Lows will be in the 20’s.

Great Blue Heron this morning.
Great Blue Heron this morning.

A Great Blue Heron was breakfasting in the lagoon when I went out for my walk.  I’m not sure if he or she didn’t notice me, or if s/he is getting used to me.  Whatever the case, s/he didn’t take off when I walked around the lagoon on my way to the meadows.  I saw a few rabbits here and there, too.  I don’t know if our rabbit population has been depleted in some way or if the bunnies are hiding, but there don’t seem to be nearly as many out there as there were during the summer months.

The Backyard Maple is bare.
The Backyard Maple is bare.

A lot of the trees are bare now.  Some of those sheltered in the woods are still hanging on to their leaves, and the oaks will continue to cling to their foliage for most of the winter.

The old oak on a foggy morning.
The old oak on a foggy morning.

In the woods I saw a beautiful buck with two does.  White-tailed deer.  They took off for the marsh once they realized I was there.  I didn’t think to take a picture.  I was too busy admiring the buck’s antlers.  He had quite a rack.

A brief glimpse of blue sky just before sunset yesterday.
A brief glimpse of blue sky just before sunset yesterday.

This week will be kind of a slow week.  I have a few phone calls to make to schedule some appointments, but mostly I’ll be working around the house and the ranch.  We have two more weeks of CSA shares to pick up (this week and next), and we’ll be finished with that for the season.  The garden still needs to be put to bed for the winter.  I’m not sure I’ll get to it, but we’ll see.  Later today I have to write up a book review to be posted tomorrow.

After the frost.
After the frost.

Next week I will be seeing my primary care physician for an EKG, a chest x-ray, and some blood work.  Sometime this week or next I’ll be going for a mammogram.  Nothing says health and healing like a double dose of radiation.  Heh.  All of this is in preparation for a surgical procedure that will be done in January (because the doc is booked up until then).  The procedure is mostly exploratory, to rule out cancer.  It could end in the hysterectomy I’ve put off for years, depending on what happens and what the doc finds.  I’m okay with waiting until January.  The problem that I had, which seems to have resolved itself, is probably (and hopefully) related to fibroids which are benign tumors.  They shrink, sometimes die, after menopause, and my thoughts are that it was a dying fibroid that caused all the ruckus.  Doctors, of course, feel this need to check everything, just to be sure, once they have you in their clutches.

Sheltered colors.
Sheltered colors.

And that, my friends, is all the news from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this gray and dreary Monday.  It’s probably more than you wanted to know, but it didn’t seem right to leave everything shrouded in mystery.

Muted.
In the shadows.

Thank you for stopping by today.  Unless the rain and clouds hurry on by, I don’t think we’ll see much of a sunset tonight.  If it should clear up, I’ll meet you out on the dock.  Dreary days are sometimes followed by spectacular sunsets.

I think this will be the last of the roses for this year.
I think this will be the last of the roses for this year.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s joys:  Dew on grasses and roses; the beautiful white-tailed deer in the woods; visiting with the Great Blue Heron who is normally so shy that I can’t get anywhere near him; walking in the fog; the honking of geese off in the distance.

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “Gray days

  1. Isn’t this a stunning sentence: ‘The leaves were falling on all sides like the last illusions of youth under the tears of irremediable grief’. Could apply to all of us!

    Fibroids can be cruel! It must be somewhat of a relief however to know what is going on. As to doctors and their clutches – it’s true and I keep well away from them 🙂

    Your walks are still filled with such beauty despite the greyness of the weather and season. I cannot imagine what it would be like to walk in my urban green areas and see deer and squirrels and rabbits and all the other myriad of creatures. We just have birds here and a few nocturnal introduced peskies that eat our birds eggs and bother their hatchlings and destroy our native forests. It’s a very different walking experience. This is probably why I so enjoy walking alongside you 🙂

    Like

  2. Love that misty morning shot. Soft and dreamy.
    Sorry to hear of your worries, it will be worth the peace of mind to have it checked out, then you can get on with your life. In the meantime, perhaps you can eat lots of raw foods (I hear its good for fibroids) and cruciferous veggies, – join the ‘kale kraze’! 😉 Being good, kind and loving and just being is definitely the way to go. 🙂

    Like

  3. I like your walks, whether they are bright and sunny or cold and dreary. I’m always so glad to walk along with you. I’m glad you’re getting things ruled out and if you end up with that hysterectomy, you’re better off waiting till after the holidays. You’ll be laid up for a bit afterwards. Six weeks with mine. That was in 1996. Maybe ours different now.

    I’ll be thinking of you and sending positive thoughts and energy your way!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Corina. 🙂 Not sure if the procedure is different now or not, but I suppose I’m going to find out. (I’m going to ask the doc about all that when I see her in December.)

      Like

  4. I enjoyed this walk, despite the mist. I’m glad we had the chance to talk, will pray for fibroids only, and will send daily hugs to be opened and used as you desire.

    Like

  5. I’m sure the diagnosis will be fine, Robin. I had a hysterectomy myself in 1999 due to fibroids and also had a bladder reconstruction at that time. It took a long time to heal, but it was fine overall. The fibroids were not cancerous but they can grow and they were causing me a lot of pain, so we just did the whole kit-n-caboodle at once.

    Your gray misty day looks like what we’ve had here in the south of China for the last two weeks. It looks like the sun may peek out a bit today, at least I hope. The gray days really do affect your mood, don’t they? I’ve heard you’re experiencing a Polar Vortex there now, bringing those temperatures down. Brrr.

    I’ve been waiting for a box of winter clothes from Mike. I really hope they arrive today, because tomorrow I’m on a train north to Guilin and then on to the rice terraces at Longji, what they call the Dragon’s Spine. It’s supposed to be in the 50s up there, but I’m not even prepared for that as I only have summer clothes right now.

    Keep warm and best wishes with all your radiation, tests and procedures. 🙂

    Like

      1. My winter clothing arrived at 5:00 in the evening before I departed for the rice terraces and I was glad it did; it was cold up there in the mountains! I saw some wonderful scenery on the trip, Robin, but was sick the entire time, sadly. I pushed through though, and was glad I did. 🙂

        Like

  6. The “morning mist” is my favorite photo here. Best of luck with your medical tests and procedure. I know they are a hassle (I hate these things myself), but it will be welcome relief to you when you find out that all is well.

    Like

  7. Robin, I hope you are enjoying the same sunshine today we have here. Brutally cold, but at least we have some sun! It is good to hear you are feeling better, and hope you continue to feel better each day. Taking good care of yourself, eating the good health-giving stuff, and getting enough rest make all the difference when we need to heal. You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers, Robin. May all be well with you, hugs, WG

    Like

  8. There was a Dave Barry column lamenting doctors. The premise was something like you could walk into a doctor’s office with an ice pick protruding from your head and the doctor would say, “Yes, indeed, I see have you have an ice pick protruding from your head, but just to be sure, I’m going to take a tiny snippet of your liver every day for seven days for testing.” It’s not too far off, all things considered. Medical providers do a lot of crazy stuff in the name of “health.”

    Like

  9. I initially missed this post where you revealed what you’ve been going through; I came back to find out after seeing your reply to someone else in a comment. My wishes, of course, for it all to turn out to be benign and over seriousness on the doctors’ parts. Sending good thoughts your way as best I can!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

