Posted in Air, Autumn, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Gifts, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather

Play

An autumn collage.
An autumn collage.

In rare moments of deep play, we can lay aside our sense of self, shed time’s continuum, ignore pain, and sit quietly in the absolute present, watching the world’s ordinary miracles.  No mind or heart hobbles.  No analyzing or explaining.  No questing for logic.  No promises.  No goals.  No worry.  One is completely open to whatever drama may unfold.

~ Diane Ackerman, Deep Play

One of the original photos used in the collage.
One of the original photos used in the collage.

The fall foliage peaked over the past week.  I was not able to get out on the hikes I had planned to take the photos I wanted to take.  Instead, I have been taking slow walks around the ranch, sometimes concentrating on one or two trees rather than wandering around different parks trying to capture many trees.  I like this different approach.  There’s a focus to it, and focus is something I haven’t engaged in much lately when it comes to my photography.  This focus requires me to spend more time seeing, truly and deeply seeing, with more than just my eyes.  It is a seeing with the heart and soul as well as with my other senses.  There is no hurrying, no just click-click-clicking, no absentminded photography.

The other photo used in the collage.
Tree spirits.  The other photo used in the collage.

It’s been raining off and on today.  During the off mode, I went out to look at the maple trees.  They are losing their leaves now, and I suspect after this latest bout of wind and rain, there won’t be many leaves left on the trees.  I could be wrong.  Some of the trees still look pretty full, and the leaves are persistently hanging on.  The maple leaves, though, are liberating themselves quickly.

Another abstract.
Flowing.  Another abstract.

I got to thinking about abstract images while I was looking at the trees.  I decided to see what I could do with motion and a long exposure.  I love the way this method captured the colors and the spirit of some of the trees.

Impassioned
Impassioned.

A little bit of play led me to a little more play, and that’s when I decided to work on the collage you see at the beginning of the post.  As I was looking through some of the collages I’ve done in the past, I noticed that I have been doing an autumn collage or two every year for the past few years.  Want to see a few?

October 2012 collage.
October 2012 collage.

The next is one of my favorites.

2012-10-10 October 2012
Another one from October 2012.

One more, which some of you may recognize from last year.

Autumn 2013
Autumn 2013.

That’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this rainy Thursday.  Thank you for stopping by.  The weather folks seem to think the rain and clouds might clear out by sunset.  I think it depends on how fast that last band of rain gets here and moves through.  If it does clear, let’s meet on the dock.  Sunset is at 4:58 PM today.  How insane is that?  Sunset before 5:00 PM!  Anyhow, the sunsets can be spectacular after a front moves through so we might be in for a treat.

Rain and fire.
Rain and fire.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Feathered.
Feathered.

Today’s joys:  Time to experiment and play; watching the rain; the Great Blue Heron visiting the lagoon; bluebirds flitting around out front this afternoon; lunch with M.

Crepe myrtle ghosts.
Crepe myrtle ghosts.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

7 thoughts on “Play

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

