Posted in Air, Autumn, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering

Autumn procession

Chicory in the garden
Chicory in the garden

The music of the far-away summer flutters around the Autumn seeking its former nest.

~ Rabindranath Tagore, Stray Birds

Cherry tree at the edge of the meadow.
Cherry and sweet gum trees at the edge of the meadow.

Summer really isn’t that far away from us here on the Eastern Shore.  We still have the occasional warm and humid day.  Then a front moves through with damp and chill and wind, and it begins to feel like fall once again.  Some of the flowers (the goldenrod in particular) have gone to seed, while others continue to bloom.  The garden vegetables are still producing plenty for us to harvest, and our CSA shares have grown so big that I feel overwhelmed at times with the bounty of greens, cabbages, broccoli, pumpkins, sweet potatoes, and beets.

Puttin' on the fall colors
Puttin’ on the fall colors

I am struck by the simplicity of light in the atmosphere in the autumn, as if earth absorbed none, and out of this profusion of dazzling light came the autumnal tints.

~ Henry David Thoreau

A sly look
A sly look

We have an unofficial competition going on here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  It’s a race to see who can shiver the longest.  With the temperature dropping somewhat, it gets a little chilly in the house, especially at night.  M and I are being quietly stubborn while layering our clothing, neither of us wanting to be the first to cry “uncle!” and turn on the heat.

Morning sun before the clouds thinned out.
Morning sun before the clouds thinned out.

After two days of rain and clouds, the sun has come back to light up the landscape.  It is very breezy, and some of the leaves are starting to make their way to the earth like fallen stars.

Earthbound star.
Earthbound star.

I saw my first woolly bear of the season while out on my walk this morning.  He or she is predicting a mild winter for us.

Folklore has it that the wider the brown stripe, the milder the winter.
Folklore has it that the wider the brown stripe, the milder the winter.

The Walktober event ends this weekend.  The deadline is midnight on Sunday, 26 October.  If you need more time, let me know.  I’ll gladly extend it.  To those of you who have already posted, if I haven’t been around yet, I will be soon.  I’ll be doing the wrap-up of the walks sometime next week, either Tuesday or Thursday.  It depends on what’s happening here at the ranch.

Grounded.
Grounded.

I’m still hoping to make my walk a beach walk, but we’ll see.  If I don’t make it to the beach, I won’t bother with an official Walktober walk post since most of my posts involve my daily walks.  Hmmm… maybe all of my posts involve a walk of some kind.

Morning walk
Morning walk

That’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this gorgeous fall Friday.  Our sunsets continue to be blazing with autumn colors.  Meet you out on the dock around 5:30 PM.  Sunset is at 6:13 PM tonight, but the show usually starts a good half hour or so before the scheduled time.  Last night the sky was an amazingly deep shade of ruby red.  I can’t show it to you because, believe it or not, I don’t always carry the camera around with me.  (I know!  Hard to believe!)  To be honest, I have so many images to sort through right now that I’m considering putting the camera away for a week.  Or maybe I’ll wait until autumn has exhausted her colors.

Sweet gum colors blowing in the wind.
Sweet gum colors blowing in the wind.

Thank you so much for stopping by today, and joining me on another walk.  Do you have any plans for the weekend?  Plans or not, have a great weekend!

I have been keeping an eye on this maple tree.  Looks like the colors will catch fire soon (if the wind doesn't blow off the leaves first).
I have been keeping an eye on this maple tree. Looks like the colors will catch fire soon (if the wind doesn’t blow off the leaves first).

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Spot coloring.
Spot coloring.

Today’s joys:  The exhilarating breeze; the little birds flitting about; finding some volunteer zinnias shooting up on the path to the scrounger’s garden (I’m not sure they’ll grow far given the lateness of the season, but I’ll watch to see what happens); sunshine and wispy clouds; walking in the woods and meadows.

Partridge Peas in the meadow.
Partridge Peas in the meadow.

 

Author:

Robin is... too many things to list, but here is a start: an artist and writer; a photographer and saunterer; a daughter and sister and granddaughter; a friend, a partner, a wife, a mother, and a grandmother; a gardener, a great and imaginative cook, and the creator of wonderful sandwiches.

28 thoughts on “Autumn procession

  1. Loved the sweetgum leaf. I was just looking at a map deciding where my walk will be this weekend. Have not decided if Katie will come along or not. She doesn’t know that yet though. Don’t tell her.
    PS: We turned our heat on a couple of weeks ago. There’s only so far stubbornness can keep you warm.

    Like

    1. True, Dawn. There’s not much heat to stubbornness. It’s also colder in your neck of the woods. We’re going to be back in the 80’s by Wednesday, and other than one or two nights in the 30’s and 40’s, we’re still mostly in the 50’s and 60’s at night.

      Like

  2. The Morning Sun photo is awe inspiring. Unfortunately, our local weather has been such that the sun has not broken through at any time of the day in over a week and we probably won’t see it again for at least another week (they’re saying another ten days of this gloom). And we have a prediction for the first significant snow in the mountains…which is not too far from here so we’ll get pretty cold (currently in the mid 40’s overnight but expected to drop soon). All that said, I really need to see your pictures. It reminds me of the non yucky weather and reminds me that it’s only temporary!

    Like

  3. Ha ha! We’ve run our heat several times already, although it’s probably cooler here as we’re quite a bit more inland than you are. We used to live by Lake Michigan (I mean like just several blocks away) and it was a good ten degrees or more different than by my mother, who was an hour west of us.

    I loved the photos. I have no idea what the little sly bird is. It’s not a hummingbird, but I haven’t seen that one around.

    I’m still hoping to get in a walk by Sunday, otherwise I’ll use my autumn observations post that I just did.

    Nancy

    Like

    1. Thank you, Nancy. 🙂 I think the bird is a goldfinch with his winter feathers on. It was like that up near Lake Erie, too. The water really makes a difference in terms of temperature.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Robin! Moving has been keeping us pretty occupied lately, so I might not be able to officially participate in Walktober this year. However, I’ll stop by and check out other people’s walks when time permits. Love the photos in this post, especially the contrasts between cool and warm colors.

    Like

  5. I hope your woolly bear proves to be accurate, Robin. I will have to look for one around here to see if our winter will be mild, too.

    Your photo of the chicory is especially exquisite! Blue is my favorite color and this shade of it is so attractive. Love how it is surrounded by the deep green.

    Like

    1. Mother Nature has a lovely artist’s palette of colors, Colline. 🙂 For the sake of all my friends in the north who had to endure the last brutal winter, I’m hoping the wooly bear is correct, too.

      Like

  6. It looks like September in Minnesota!
    Currently we only have a few stubborn oaks with brown leaves hanging on, a wonderful bed of leaves on the ground and where you can see the grass, it is still green. Most of the birds have flown south .. the only ones around are the ones that stay all winter and a few short-time visitors from Canada stop for lunch on their way somewhere south. The air is heavy with the smell of autumn. Normally it would be hovering around 30-40 degrees and be a bit gray and wet/icy this time of year … but, we have been blessed with sunny warm skies and temps in the 60-70 range … heaven. Hope it lasts a few more weeks.

    Like

  7. Love, love, love the blues in this post. Our wind gusts are still here and strong as ever this morning. Perhaps we’ll send them your way, or maybe not. 🙂 Most of all, I love the changing weather of autumn.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Gunta. 🙂 The winds are here. It’s been quite breezy and gusty the past few days. Our leaves are still holding on, though. Probably because not many of them have changed color yet.

      Like

  8. I love your photos, as always. Truly hoping your wooly bear catepillar is correct. I don’t know how I’ll endure another winter like last year – it was brutally cold here. And how nice that you still have abundance from gardens and CSA. I picked the last things from mine this week actually – a few small eggplants and cooked them up last night as part of a lovely dinner with friends.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 It still feels like a whole new world to me here. I’ve been here long enough that it should be feeling familiar, but every day still brings something new to puzzle or ponder over.

      Like

  9. Ahh, it’s always good to stop by your neck of the woods, Robin. I paused a while by your first chicory photo. I like that flower. We don’t have much of it this far north, although in lower Michigan it bloomed a lot by the roads. We’ve had a rather mild autumn, thank goodness. Perhaps because of it we’ll all be able to bear winter a bit easier. Wonder if your caterpillar’s prediction will come true.

    Like

  10. I’m going to have to keep my eyes peeled for woolybears – I hadn’t realized they had this reputation as weather forecasters! Haven’t seen one lately but you can bet the first time I do, I’ll be looking more closely at its stripe. 🙂 Lovely images as always, Robin – I especially like the first and last ones.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.