Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Weather

Wind power

Stars
Stars

If you want to find the secrets of the universe, think in terms of energy, frequency, and vibration.

~ Nikola Tesla

Sumac berries
Sumac berries

Last night I spent over three hours at a county Planning and Zoning Commission public hearing regarding the installation of wind turbines throughout the region where I live.  I’ve been sitting here for a little while trying to write about it.  My blog has traditionally been a type of journal or diary where I keep track of life’s adventures, and this was not only one of life’s adventures, it was a learning experience as well.

Sumac leaves draped over darkness
Sumac leaves draped over darkness

But the heat is stealing my energy.  The lack of wind, even a small breeze to help evaporate sweat and allow my body’s cooling system to work as it should, is stealing my power.  My brain feels as if I’ve spent the week in a sauna.

Ripening on the tree
Ripening on the tree

I want to post photos of snow and ice.  I want to wallow in winter.

In case you're wondering what today's lunchtime temperature was.
In case you’re wondering what today’s lunchtime temperature was.

But I don’t.  I don’t because I know quite a few of my blogmates had a harsh winter, may have another harsh winter, and would not appreciate my need for cold, deep and refreshing cold.

Someday I will be like you
Someday I will be like you

I won’t tell you about the meeting, either.  Not right now.  Instead, I will tell you about my walk today.  The daily walk takes place even when the temperature is, as it was today, 90°F at 8:00 AM and 100°F at 11:30 AM.  The daily walk is my commitment to myself, to nature, to mindfulness, to beauty, and to learning about the land where I live.

Melting in the meadow
Melting in the meadow

I will tell you about how I walked the quarter mile up the driveway to get the mail and marveled at the yellows of the goldenrod that are sweeping through the meadows.  I will tell you about the late blooming Black-Eyed Susans in the middle of the meadow paths, flowers that bloomed after the last mowing.  Clearing away some of the other plants opened up space for them, and even though they dawdled through their usual season, they have extended and expanded, the full beauty of their flowerhood responsive to the heat and the sun.

September 2014C 032a
Fashionably late to the party

I will tell you about walking back, another quarter of a mile, and peering into the darkness of the woods, and thinking, “oh, how cool it must be in there,” as I left the driveway and took the path towards the cemetery, avoiding the clear patches where the light shines in, and standing deep in the shadows, my eyes closed, reveling in the drop in temperature and feeling that slight breeze I was looking for earlier in this post.

Goldenrod seeking the light in the woods
Goldenrod seeking the light in the woods

I will tell you about going out to the scrounger’s garden where the zinnias are beginning to droop and the cherry tree has lost most of its leaves and the caterpillars are building tents in some of the trees behind the greenhouse.  I stood watching for the little hummingbird that has kept me company for weeks now, and as I stood there, still as a garden statue, two Bald Eagles came swooping down, not more than ten or fifteen feet from me, as startled to see me as I was to see them, swooping, curving around, and lifting back up into the sky almost faster than I could register they were there.  So close.  So very close.  And oh, so beautiful.  Were they playing a game of tag?  I’m not sure, but there was something playful about their flight.

Soaring
Soaring

I will tell you about my slow walk through the woods where the dry pine needles crunch underfoot, and the arid fragrance of the crushed needles rises up with the dust from the trail.  Near the marsh and the boardwalk to the dock there is a faint hint of decay, death lying nearby, a bird or a mouse or something small or something mostly eaten by now.

Mushrooms are still popping up in spite of the dryness of the past week
Mushrooms are still popping up in spite of the dryness of the past week

Out on the dock there it is, finally, the breeze!  A heron squawks at me, and lifts up, mostly graceful with ungainly spells at the very beginning of his flight.  Clouds are building on the horizon, piling up the possibility of rain and thunderstorms.

Potential
Potential

And lastly, I will tell you about the little butterflies leading me on my walk, one near the meadow, as tiny as the nail of my thumb.  I followed, letting them decide where I would go today.

So small
So small

The other, in the woods, slightly bigger and more colorful, flitting around towards the boardwalk that goes out to the dock.  A Painted Lady reminding me to lighten up, reminding me to dance, reminding me to taste the joy of life.  Say Yes!, even in this heat.

September 2014C 070a
Painted Lady Butterfly

Thank you for visiting today, and joining me on another walk.  Perhaps I’ll go out to the dock for sunset tonight.  It’s at 7:26 PM.  The days, they grow so short.  Hopefully that will mean cooler temperatures for us soon.  Meet me out there, if you think you can stand the heat.  I just checked and we’re up to 110°F in the shade.  But never mind that.  The temperature should drop a little before sunset and now that the breeze is picking up, it might not be too terribly bad out there.  Just think how cool it will feel once the sun leaves us for the evening.

Cuddling
Cuddling

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂  And have a wonderful good weekend!

Today’s joys:  The breeze that has been picking up this afternoon; the flowers and butterflies in the meadows and woods; the magnificent cloud formations; pizza for lunch; iced mint tea that cools and refreshes from the inside out.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

26 thoughts on “Wind power

  1. “I want to wallow in winter.” Well there is one area where we are total opposites. 🙂 I guess this accounts for my choice and the enjoyment I derive from living in the high desert. As for breezes, there is little we enjoy more than sitting on a balcony overlooking the pueblo lands, accompanied by clear night skies and cool breezes. Lovely post, Robin.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Eric. 🙂 I have always been a winter person. The other day I was reading about a study of insects in which the investigators (scientists) found that the insects born during what they referred to as the short days (autumn and winter) acclimated better to cold weather whereas those born during the long days (spring and summer) thrived in heat. I was born in the winter months, so perhaps that explains it. 😀

      Like

    1. It was, Colline. Sometimes I can tune out the heat enough to enjoy what’s out there. We finally got a much needed break. It rained overnight and the temperature this morning was 80 instead of 90. I can’t believe 80 is a relief! lol!

      Like

  2. Happy Friday Robin. It has been hot here as well, though not as hot as you have. People are already complaining about winter that isn’t here yet. It’s “supposed” to be bad. So to drag out the misery of it I suppose they must start the suffering of it now. 🙂 Here’s to cool breezes and thankfulness for what you did tell us about. 🙂

    Like

    1. lol, CM! Yes, some folks do like to start their drama early, whether it’s winter and snow or other things in life. I have to admit I’m prone to that at times, worrying about something before I even get to it. The cool breezes finally arrived, thank goodness! I hear it’s going to get down into the 40’s overnight out your way by the end of the week. You’re welcome to send those 40’s here. 🙂

      Like

      1. If I could I would. We had a PERFECT day here. I don’t want to go to work tomorrow because it’s going to be another great day. Sigh. Ah well. A good job is a blessing as well.

        I don’t mind the 40 degree nights. I do think, however, that there is a limit to how cool or cold I want. 😉

        Like

  3. I would love to join you on the dock if I could sit with my feet in the water, since I am not a lover of heat and humidity. Or perhaps you would like to join me on my deck for a cooling refreshment where there is always a lovely breeze and in our temps in the low 80s.

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for not wallowing in winter! It will be here all too soon, and I am of no mind to rush it along, even though we are experiencing some of the most humid days we’ve had all summer around here.

    Like

  5. I think we made records here the other day hitting three digits on the thermometer. UNHEARD of for this area. I don’t do well in heat, so I’m one of few around here with A/C.. I would wallow in winter with you and then offer sympathy to those others who might suffer from it later in the year. Truly. 🙂

    Like

  6. We are soaking up sunshine this weekend (after what feels like weeks of wet, humid, dark weather) … a brisk breeze and 70 degrees … perfect. The biting bugs are mostly gone, the leaves are changing color and it smells like Fall out there. I wish I could send you some of my cool breezy weather. Thank you for braving the heat to take some beautiful pictures. (I wouldn’t have had the strength for 100 degrees)

    Like

    1. Your weather sounds wonderful, Bearyweather. 🙂 I barely have the strength when it’s that hot, but after my year of getting outside, I decided to make it a lifelong commitment and I can’t bring myself to break it. It just wouldn’t feel right if I didn’t go out, at least for a little while.

      Like

  7. Hi Robin! I have come to your blog via Lake Superior Spirit Kathy Drue. We’re almost neighbors. I live in Sykesville, and love visiting the Eastern Shore for paddling, birding, biking (although it’s been too long on all three counts). Nice to meet you, and your work!

    Like

    1. Hi Terri! Thank you so much for stopping by. It’s lovely to meet you. I had to check the map and, yes, we are almost neighbors. The Eastern Shore is a great place for those three activities. Biking is especially easy since it’s so flat. 🙂

      Like

  8. Robin, thank you for sharing your walk, Robin. I almost felt the coolness of the shade and the bright heat. Did appreciate your kindness toward we northern folks who are–supposedly–supposed to get another harsh winter. I could talk to you of township politics until the sun goes down tonight, but won’t. As a township treasurer, have had just about enough politics to last forever. Hey, I see Terri Bocklund has introduced herself in the comment up above. (She’s the singer/songer who went on our UP Book tour last month.)

    Like

    1. Hi Kathy! Yes, indeed, Terri has been here. It was very nice to meet her, and I’m just returning from visiting her blog. I’m so glad she stopped by. As for winter, I do hope it’s kind to you northerners this time around. It would be awfully cruel of Mother Nature and Father Winter to put ya’all through that two years in a row.

      Like

  9. Hi Robin. I enjoyed your walk. Hot here too although nights are actually cold. I hate too see the cold weather arrive but this year my tolerance for heat has been very low. We have wind parks here. They alter the landscape utterly and are bad for bats. Jane

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

