Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, The Body Beautiful

Healing

Another day
Another day

The more I can love everything — the trees, the land, the water, my fellow men, women, and children, and myself — the more health I am going to experience and the more of myself I am going to be.

~ Carl Simonton

Nestled
Nestled

I am spending most of my time sitting on the sofa with my legs elevated, ice on my left knee and a book in my hands.  I did not go for much of a walk today, and the camera got left behind.  I think it might be a while before I take the usual long walk, but maybe in day or so I’ll be able to take a few short walks out to the gardens.

Drying out
Aging

My computer time is limited, too.  There’s no comfortable way for me to prop up my leg, and sitting this way for too long means swelling.  I’m still holding out on seeing a doc, but probably won’t hold out too much longer.  We’ll see.  I was hoping not to have to go until an appointment I already have scheduled for September 9th.  That might be too far off.

Helmet
Helmet

Thank you for visiting while I recuperate.  Hopefully I’ll be back on track soon.

Cedar dreams
Cedar dreams

The leaves of the trees will stroke your cheeks,
The wind will blow through your chest and cleanse your soul,
The magical sounds of the earth, animals, and the elements
will hug your ears,
The positive vibrations of the earth will fall asleep next
to your heart and the breathtaking beauty of the earth
will ease your mind.
If you allow it, the earth, in itself, will heal you.

~ Julia McCann

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

10 thoughts on “Healing

  1. Sending healing wishes… no walking or computer time is pretty bad unless you’ve got a really good book! Here’s hoping it improves on its own. I hate doctors, but sometimes they’re necessary and sometimes even helpful! 😀

    Like

  2. Our poor knees! They often take a beating as we go about our lives. “If you allow it, the earth, in itself, will heal you.” Wonderful poem and I do believe that! Wishing you well on your road to recovery, Robin. Sending healing thoughts and energy your way.

    Like

  3. Robin, I don’t know if you saw the blog post of one of the Pacific Crest Trail hikers (trail name is Rambling Hemlock) who had to stop hiking the PCT due to a stress fracture… insights she had written about and posted while she was off trail, in the redwoods. Today, she has a new post…she’s back on the PCT again…and some more special thoughts and insights from her. Thought you might like them: http://ramblinghemlock.blogspot.com/2014/08/day-138-back-on-pct.html

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

