Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Woods

Monday meanderings

A walk in the woods
A walk in the woods

Life just seems so full of connections.  Most of the time we don’t even pay attention to the depth of life.  We only see flat surfaces.

~ Colin Neenan

A good day for a walk
A good day for a walk

It is so beautiful here on the Eastern Shore today.  Blue sky, puffy white clouds, and a cool, dry breeze have all conspired to keep me outdoors for a good part of the day.

Fancy hat
Fancy hat

Nature will bear the closest inspection.  She invites us to lay our eye level with her smallest leaf, and take an insect view of its plain.

~ Henry David Thoreau

Uplifting
Uplifting

Did you have a good weekend?  It went by quickly, don’t you think?  Mine did.  I spent a good portion of it resting my knee, and that paid off for me.  Although my knee is not what I’d call normal, it is much better than it was on Saturday, and pretty much pain-free unless I overdo it.

Tent on the lawn
Tent on the lawn

Yesterday I made about 5 quarts of Tom Solomon’s Spicy V8 juice.  It’s good stuff.  Spicy, lively, and full of veggies.  I altered the recipe to suit my needs and taste.  For instance, I had some carrots that needed to be used so I threw those into the pot to add sweetness rather than add sugar.  I left out the salt because I didn’t think it needed it.  The vinegar in the recipe adds plenty of brightness and acidity.  I can always squeeze in a little lemon juice when I go to drink it if I think it needs something more.

Teeny tiny
Teeny tiny

I haven’t seen the hummingbirds lately.  I wonder if they have already started their great migration?  When I checked the feeder this morning, the liquid was at the same level it was when I put fresh nectar in a day or two ago.  I’m not sure if I should refill it with fresh food or not.

Puffy
Puffy

It is easy to suppose that few people realize on that occasion, which comes to all of us, when we look at the blue sky for the first time, that is to say: not merely see it, but look at it and experience it and for the first time have a sense that we live in the center of a physical poetry, a geography that would be intolerable except for the non-geography that exists there — few people realize they are looking at the world of their own thoughts and the world of their own feelings.

~ Wallace Stevens

From the dock
View from the dock

I reckon that’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by, and joining me on another ramble.  I hope your Monday has gone well, and thrown a few delightful surprises your way.

Garden delights
Garden delights

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Heaps of Morning Glories
Heaps of Morning Glories

Today’s joys:  The day itself, a gift of beauty; butterflies dancing in the gardens and meadows; clouds drifting; a small scoop of ice cream that was Just Enough.

Swaying over the garden
Swaying over the garden
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

17 thoughts on “Monday meanderings

  1. My blue sky moment happened when I was 19, in the navy, and stationed outside of Pensacola. It was moving enough that I never forgot it. An epiphany for sure.
    Nice post, Robin.

    Like

  2. Gosh Robin, everything is looking so lush right now, and that sky is breathtaking. I sometimes look at the huge blue expanse overhead and feel very small, and so contented. Somehow, the largeness of the sky can make worries seem so unimportant; it puts everything in the world into perspective.

    Like

  3. The first picture (like the last lake one except no lake? the ripples are very nice in the 2nd one) is a totally relaxing scene.
    We’ve butterflies, bees, but since you mention it, the hummingbirds are MIA…must watch more closely and let you know.
    (That 3 mushroom picture reminds me of a friend’s hairdo in high school…how funny we mimic without knowing)

    Like

  4. Like that ‘puffy’ mushroom. I try to be aware of what I see, but I have ‘flat surfaces’ and ‘blind spots’. For example, I may know every flower in a ditch but I forget to look at the horizon. We had the lake property for a couple of months before I realised there was a church on the further shore, but I knew every rock on our ‘beach’. Jane

    Like

    1. I’m the same way, Jane. I get so focused on one area, that I fail to look at others. I’ve been trying to change my perspective every now and then (looking up instead of down, or out instead of up, etc.).

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Still enjoying the hummingbirds out in the midwest! I’ll be sad to have them leave when they begin to travel. I have never noticed them as much as this summer.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

