Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering

Balancing

Balancing in the air
Balancing in the air and morning light

Balance.  It was all about balance.  That had been one of the first things that she had learned: the centre of the seesaw has neither up nor down, but upness and downness flow through it while it remains unmoved.  You had to be the centre of the seesaw so the pain flowed through you, not into you.  It was very hard.  But she could do it!

~ Terry Pratchett, I Shall Wear Midnight

Barely balancing
Leaning into balance

There is something perfect to be found in the imperfect: the law keeps balance through the juxtaposition of beauty, which gains perfection through nurtured imperfection.

~ Dejan Stojanovic

I’m on a short break, sort of.  There is a lot going on right now, and I’ll soon be heading off for another mini adventure.  I’ll post when I can, but in the meantime, I’ve set up some posts to fill in for me using the Capture Your 365 prompts.  Today’s is Balancing, and boy, am I working hard at that right now.  Osho said there is no true balance in life, no way to live in the middle, and that to live in the middle is to die.  He compared it to tightrope walking, and how the tightrope walker has to weave back and forth, only briefly finding himself in the middle.  It’s like the gap between breaths where all is still and quiet.  Every now and then, I rest in those gaps.  In between, I weave back and forth, maintaining my balance.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  And have a wonder-filled weekend!  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

6 thoughts on “Balancing

  1. I seem to be resting for too long in one of those gaps at the moment, it’s comfortable, but nothing happens. I must push myself to put one foot in front of the other to continue along the tightrope to weave back and for in the interesting bits again. 🙂
    Hope youre enjoying your break. 🙂

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

