Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Food, Home, Maryland, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Water

A beverage

A mocktail
A mocktail

Oh, I want what we all want: a comfortable couch, a nice beverage, a weekend of no distractions, a book that will stop time, lift me out of my quotidian existence and alter my thinking forever.

~ Elizabeth Gilbert

Delicious and refreshing
Delicious and refreshing

One of my favorite summer drinks is a mix of cranberry juice, mango nectar, and seltzer water.  If I’m indulging in alcohol, I add rum or tequila or vodka.  No, not all three.  That would be a bit much.  Rum is my favorite of the three, but the other two work just fine.

Mango is one of my favorite fruits, and mango nectar is, to me, quite refreshing in a summery, at-the-beach, tropical way.  The cranberry juice adds a hint of tartness, balancing out the sweetness of the mango nectar.  I don’t use a lot of cranberry juice in this concoction.  Just a splash or two.  The seltzer water gives it fizz.  It will add flavor as well if you use a flavored seltzer water (I like Mandarin Orange).

Since we have a beverage, how about some food?

From yesterday's CSA haul.
Garlic, corn, and zucchini from yesterday’s CSA haul.

One of the things I meant to do when we joined the CSA was post about it every week.  I planned to unpack my tripod, pose the food, and show off the beauty of the local harvest.  Alas, I haven’t had the time to do it.  The harvest has been good, and I spend a lot of time just prepping, cooking, and preserving whatever we aren’t eating right away.

Grilled eggplant
Grilled eggplant that was used in Baingan Bharta (Punjabi Eggplant).

And we have been eating well, that’s for sure.

Chopped
Chopped

Yesterday’s CSA package included two beautiful eggplant that went into a dish called Baingan Bharta, along with locally grown tomaotes, onions, garlic, and chilies from my garden.  We had fresh corn on the cob with it.

Red okra and garlic
Red okra and garlic

Tonight I’ll be doing something with the baby potatoes (left over from last week), and the green and yellow beans, and red okra that were also included in this week’s share.  I am not a fan of okra.  I’ve tried it many times.  It’s a texture issue for me.  Okra is slimy.  They say that if you cook it whole it doesn’t get slimy, but I’ve tried that and it isn’t true.  The couple that own the farm suggest roasting the okra with cherry tomatoes and balsamic vinegar.  I’m going to give that a try.

Beans
Beans

It’s not all veggies (or fruit that we typically use as veggies).  We also came home with two cantaloupes and a watermelon.

August 2014C 100a
Melon

When you’re cooking with food as alive as this — these gorgeous and semigorgeous fruits and leaves and flesh — you’re in no danger of mistaking it for a commodity, or a fuel, or a collection of chemical nutrients.  No, in the eye of the cook or the gardener… this food reveals itself for what it is: no mere thing but a web of relationships among a great many living beings, some of them human, some not, but each of them dependent on each other, and all of them ultimately rooted in soil and nourished by sunlight.

~ Michael Pollan, In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto

The mornings are cooler and moister, with fog and dew.
The mornings are cooler and moister now, with fog and dew.

Well, I’m plum out of food and beverages for now, and should be in the kitchen preserving the excess.  Pardon the pun.  I know it should be “plumb out of” but I like to pun around once in a while.

Dewy asparagus ferns at sunrise
Dewy asparagus ferns at sunrise

Thank you for stopping by and joining me for some food and beverage.  How is your garden growing?  Have you been enjoying the fruits and vegetables of the summer harvest?

Delicate
Delicate

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

When sunlight meets dew
When sunlight meets dew

Today’s joys:  Misty mornings; sunrise colors; a bountiful harvest; a lovely kitchen to work in and create delicious dishes we can enjoy; Greenbranch Farm and all the hard work they do to bring us such lovely food.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

6 thoughts on “A beverage

  1. Yummmm..delicious…!!!!!
    Robin,…this is rather,.,..ummm….”wow!”,,,,This afternoon, I have been sitting happily on a wonderfully comfortable couch, in a place right on the beautiful river in NH that I love,… looking out the window at enormous, breathtaking thunderclouds, …feeling outside of a normal sense of “time”,,,,reading a book filled with insights..and just reading some pages in that book with ideas that I am finding very “transformational”…Robin, the book is “The Signature of All Things….!!!!!…. by Elizabeth Gilbert! (the author of that quote you started your post with!) ,,,my goodness,,,,

    Like

  2. Somehow I’ve never been able to develop a liking for any of the tropical fruits. Perhaps it’s somehow connected to not liking the tropics as I place I would want to go. I do love the tart of cranberries and we have plenty of them around here. Luckily my CSA doesn’t provide okra. I suspect I wouldn’t care for it either. About the only thing I don’t like from my CSA is fennel. I’ve tried several recipes, but just can’t work up any enthusiasm for it. We did have eggplant in our Harvest Basket (also yesterday), but it’s the long, skinny Japanese variety that doesn’t require quite as much heat to grow. The summer has been warmer than usual here, so we even had tomatoes earlier than usual. It’s always fun to discover new ways of dealing with the bounty. I look forward to seeing more of what you get and do with it! 🙂

    Like

  3. I finally figured out what I like best about my bamboo wind chime … It sounds like ice cubes in a glass of lemonade. We go to the farmers market about three times a week … The new produce is so good.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

