Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Food, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Home, Maryland, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Play, Spirit, Summer

My Everyday

Gifts from the garden
Gifts from the garden

What did the papa tomato say to the baby tomato?
“Hurry and ketchup!”

Why did Mrs. Tomato turn red?
She saw Mr. Green Pea over the back fence.

There is salsa in our future
There is salsa in our future

I’ve decided to jump into Katrina Kennedy’s Capture Your 365 for the month of August.  I’m not making any promises.  Usually when I start something like this, I’m good for about a week and then I give up, but I do like a lot of the prompts so perhaps that will keep me going.

The prompt for today is My Everyday.  I was going to take some photos of M and M the Younger working on the deck (we are replacing the old decking which was in bad shape).  It’s chaos out there at the moment, and chaos has been pretty much My Everyday since we moved into the house here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  That’s the way of things when you buy a property and house that need lots of elbow grease and tender loving care.

The tomatoes are taking over.
The tomatoes are taking over.

However.  My Everyday for the next few weeks (at least!) will be tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes.  You see, I was so excited about having a greenhouse that, early in the spring, I started lots of tomato plants thinking that some of the seeds wouldn’t come up.  I was wrong in my thinking.  We had so many tomato plants that we had to let some of them go.  Even so, we planted many of them, thinking that maybe some wouldn’t make it through the early spring or the dry early summer.  Well, I was wrong about that, too.  All of which leads to an overabundance of tomatoes.  But wait!  There’s more.  Our CSA share includes a lot of tomatoes now, too, adding to our tomato glut.

Roasted
Roasted tomatoes, onions (from our garden), and garlic (from our CSA share).

Next year I will plan things out a little better.  I hope.  We have been giving away a lot of cucumbers, basil, and tomatoes so they are not going to waste (and M has found a good way to make new friends at work).

Today, while M and M the Younger work on the deck, I am making a few batches of Simple Roasted Tomato Soup.  I’ve made this a few times, and it’s my favorite tomato soup.  I leave out the butter (as yummy as it sounds), and have alternated between basil and cilantro.  I like it both ways, although I’m partial to cilantro.  Maybe that’s because we’ve been eating so much basil lately.

Rich and delicious
Rich and delicious

I don’t plan on canning this year.  The kitchen is small, and I can’t bear the thought of the extra heat and humidity that would result from boiling large pots of water.  M is talking about setting something up outside next year so we can at least do the processing part without heating up the house.

In the meantime, I’ll be freezing soups and sauces, and praying we don’t have any major power outages once I get our big chest freezer stocked.

There are other things in the garden besides vegetables.
There are other things in the garden besides vegetables.

Thank you for dropping in today, and joining me in the kitchen.  It’s overcast today with storms predicted for this afternoon.  We were hoping to go kayaking and hiking with M the Younger, but it doesn’t look as though the weather is going to cooperate.  Going to watch the sunset is probably out of the question, too, but you never know.  Sometimes the sky suddenly clears up around sunset, and if we do have storms, after-the-storm sunsets can be pretty spectacular.  If it does clear up, join us down at the Point.  Sunset is at 8:12 PM tonight.

Hummingbird with sunflower
Hummingbird with sunflower

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s joys:  The scents coming out of the kitchen from the roasting vegetables; the beauty of a simple tomato soup; spending time with my youngest son; fun with Bo the Dog; the bounty of the garden and the joy of eating something you grew yourself.

 

 

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “My Everyday

  1. Our tomatoes are beginning to ripen, but I remember last year’s overwhelming bounty, similar to what you’ve written about in this post. We are eating and enjoying them as they ripen. Perhaps we’ll keep pace for a while, and then give them away as delicious gifts.

    Like

    1. Tomatoes have a way of taking control after a while, eM. I think we kept pace with them for about two weeks and then, all of a sudden, a bunch of them decided to ripen at once. That happened bout the same time the CSA found themselves with more tomatoes than they can handle. In their latest weekly email, they mentioned that they had run out of crates, boxes, and buckets to put them in. Tomatoes and cucumbers are having a banner year. 🙂

      Like

      1. I relish the invasion nonetheless, as I can no longer stomach tomatoes from the market. I have spoiled myself well. Each summer, I anticipate their appearance with such childlike excitement, and enjoy their disappearance even more. 🙂

        Like

  2. I’m so happy M Jr. was able to visit. We are thinking of Sept, maybe for J or my birthday. I am laughing at your silly tomato jokes but so green with envy at you tomato glut… Sun dry some!

    Like

  3. My last post was tomatoes too! This is the second time this has happened to us lately, lol! I certainly, however, do not have your abundance.
    Bah-dump-dump! Like the one about the green pea! :mrgreen:

    Like

    1. lol! How’d you get the green smiley, Karma? I like it. Funny how we’re in sync lately, in life and in posts. I like that, too, in some ways. Not the sadder parts, but empathy and sympathy that comes with them. There’s a gift in that: Friendship. 🙂

      Like

      1. I agree. Funny how people who have never met in person can develop a friendship like this.
        The green smiley is made by typing a colon, followed by the words mrgreen, followed by another colon. WordPress has a few little hidden smilies like 🐻 🌯 🍸

        Like

  4. I am so jealous of your tomatoes. I have 6 plants about 4 ft high with little green tomatoes (the size of marbles) and yellow flowers. I will be lucky if any of them ripen on the vine this year (and I even planted early girls) .. just too cool and wet the first part of summer for them to get a good start.
    Thanks for the morning smiles (were you dipping into laffy taffy?) and gorgeous pictures like always.

    Like

  5. We don’t normally get enough heat (without a greenhouse) around here to get many tomatoes to ripen, so I am also turning green here. There is nothing quite like a freshly picked, ripe tomato. I gave up on the ones in the supermarket years ago. They taste kind of like cardboard. And this year (dealing with health problems), I never even got my cherry tomato planted until about a week ago. I doubt there will be any tomatoes for me except the CSA ones.

    Like

    1. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been having health problems, Gunta. The good thing about cherry tomatoes is that even this late, you will probably still get a few to enjoy before the season is over. I agree with you about supermarket tomatoes. They’re lacking all the tomato-y flavor goodness in exchange for being able to travel far.

      Like

  6. Why do veggies all come on at one time? We’ve had so much lettuce lately it’s coming out of our ears. Now it’s getting bitter and will soon be done. Same with cilantro and basil. But our tomatoes won’t be ripe until the end of August, god willing. Would love a handful of your garden ripe tomatoes right now. At least vicariously eating one from your garden right now.

    Like

    1. I wonder that, too, Kathy. We had a lettuce glut, too. I’m wondering if it isn’t nature’s way of telling us to enjoy, enjoy, enjoy until we can’t stand it anymore because we’ll have to wait until next year to enjoy, enjoy, enjoy again. 🙂
      As I mentioned to Bearyweather, I wish I could share some of these tomatoes with you. We over-planted, and I can’t bring myself to just throw away what we’re not going to eat right away so I’m finding all kinds of ways to preserve our harvest. It’s a lot of work, but I know it will be worth it when we’re eating summer veggies in winter.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

