Posted in Air, Change, Critters, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Family, Fire, Garden, Gifts, Gratitude, Life, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Summer, Walking & Wandering, Walktober

A shift

 

Brilliant towards the end
From the very center

Intelligence is something that comes from your very center. It wells up in you, and with it many things start growing in you. You become happy, you become creative, you become rebellious, you become adventurous, you start loving insecurity, you start moving into the unknown. You start living dangerously, because that is the only way to live.

Just by walking into the unknown you create the path. The path is not already there; just by walking, you create it. Intelligence gives you the courage to be alone, and intelligence gives you the vision to be creative. A great urge, a great hunger arises to be creative. And only then, as a consequence, you can be happy, you can be blissful.

~ Osho

Changing times
Changing times

I went out for a walk early this morning.  There has been a shift in the season, tilting itself towards autumn.  It will be a while before the weather cools and the leaves on the trees really begin their color transformation, but the gestures and nods towards the next season are here.

Light and airy
Light and airy

The geese told me.  I heard them honking in the distance, something I haven’t heard since they migrated in the spring, and their honking was an invitation to look, to see what’s going on.  Ted Andrews in his book Animal Speak writes that whenever the goose comes in, “you can expect to have the imagination stirred toward new travels to distant places — whether in the body or in the mind.”

Purple pleasure
Purple pleasure

Hearing the geese, I was reminded that some of the birds have begun moving in flocks, and the flocks are growing larger.

Red-spotted Purple on a Sweet Gum leaf
Red-spotted Purple on a Sweet Gum leaf

Right now, with the heat still upon us, autumn seems like a distant place.  We will travel there eventually.  The little signals nature has provided have stirred my imagination towards that time of cooler weather while I admire the gifts of the present day and current season.

Creamy white
Creamy white

The mornings are dewy and the Morning Glories are at their peak.  It is said that if you place a Morning Glory under your pillow, your sleep and dreams will be calmer, more peaceful.

Peaceful dreams
Peaceful dreams

The morning glory which blooms for an hour differs not at heart from the giant pine, which lives for a thousand years.

~ Alan Wilson Watts

A pool of aqua gathers in the center
A pool of aqua gathers in the center

The Black-Eyed Susans have finished their season, and the Partridge Peas are now blooming prolifically in the meadows.  The White-Tailed Deer and other wildlife will be happy to see them go to seed as they are a great source of nutrition for them.  I don’t think it will be too long before the Goldenrod and Asters begin their season of flowering.

Partridge Pea blossom
Partridge Pea blossom

Berries are ripening and seeds are appearing.  Bees are buzzing around and harvesting pollen.

The Hibiscus and the Bumble Bees
The Hibiscus and the Bumble Bees

Some of the sunflowers have already gone to seed, and the American Goldfinches and Indigo Buntings are now spending a lot of time with them.

Not gone to seed yet
Not gone to seed yet

It is time for me to get moving.  One of my favorite people, along with one of my favorite dogs, is coming for a visit.  M the Younger and Bo the Dog will arrive sometime late this afternoon.  Bo will be staying with us for a week while M the Younger travels on to meet up with his lovely wife, Mere, at the beach to vacation with her family.  They’ll be back next week to spend a little time with us before collecting Bo and heading back home to the Bogs.  This will be their first visit to the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  I am looking forward to their company, and to showing them around.

Summer walks
Summer walks

Thank you for joining me on another morning walk.  We should think about a group walk in the fall.  In case you’re new here, I have hosted a couple of autumn group walks in the past in which we pick a date (usually a range of a week or so), go out for our individual walks, and then blog about it in words or images or both.  After everyone has checked in with me, I do a round up of the posts (with links) here at Ye Olde Blogg so we can accompany everyone on their walks.  If you’re interested, let me know.  (And in case you’re curious, you can find last year’s walk here and 2012’s walk here.  Don’t be confused by the last one.  That’s my previous blog, from back in the days when I lived in the Bogs.)  There’s no hurry.  We usually do it in October.  I just wanted to throw it out there to get you thinking about it.

Shifting
Shifting

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s joys:  Anticipation; early morning light; the beauty of the Great Blue Heron who visits the lagoon; geese honking in the distance, reminding me of journeys; the abundance of the harvest.

 

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

15 thoughts on “A shift

  1. Nooooooooo! I’m not ready to let go of summer. Good thing I don’t have to. Yet. But this week the ‘back to school’ ads started. And I saw a red leaf. Though I refused to actually LOOK at it. Of course I’ll want to do the walk!

    Like

  2. It’s been feeling fall-like here in Richmond too. I’m really loving the cool summer evenings and early mornings. But yeah, I heard the geese the other night too and thought – no, not yet! It’s still July!!!

    Nancy

    Like

    1. I had a similar thought, Nancy, even though I’m not particularly fond of summer. It’s gone by too quickly (which means life is going by too quickly!).

      Like

  3. Not ready for fall yet, but I will enjoy the process of getting there. I will be in New York State the first two weeks of October, which would be a wonderful fall walk opportunity!

    Like

    1. Oh! What a wonderful place to be in October, Carol! Not that I know from my own experience, but I’ve seen enough great images from New York in the autumn to know it’s lovely. I can’t wait to see what you find. Well, I can wait (don’t want to rush time), but I am looking forward to it. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’m so not ready for fall, it has been a very mild summer here, like it never really got going, Here it is August already though – summer is fleeting for sure. I’m enjoying your butterflies. I’ve had few of my own to admire this year.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 I hope August brings you true summer. I’d gladly share some of our heat (although it does seem to have departed for the day, I’m sure it will be back once this rain passes).

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

