Posted in Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Food, Garden, Gifts, Home, Life, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Play, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Summer, Travel, Walking & Wandering, Water

Baltimore

June 2014L 003a

I would never want to live anywhere but Baltimore.  You can look far and wide, but you’ll never discover a stranger city with such extreme style.  It’s as if every eccentric in the South decided to move north, ran out of gas in Baltimore, and decided to stay.

~ John Waters, Shock Value: A Tasteful Book About Bad Taste

Sunset
Sunset reflections

How was your weekend?  Did you do anything exciting, or maybe not so exciting but worth a mention?

Pig and oriole
Pig and oriole

M and I went to Baltimore (Maryland) for the weekend where I enjoyed my hybrid staycation.  M was there on business so he had little time to play or rest.

Barrels and beer
Barrels and beer

Baltimore is not too far from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch.  About a 2.5 hour ride in the car on a good day, with good weather, and during a time that is not rush hour.  Unfortunately, M and I arrived in the Annapolis area just at rush hour during a downpour and strong storms on Thursday so our trip took an extra 40 minutes, most of that time spent creeping along on Interstate 97.  The rain had a plus side to it.  It slowed down the insane drivers.  I swear Maryland, especially in the Annapolis area, has some of the craziest drivers, all of them in a hurry.  The speed limit on most of the highways we’ve driven in that area is 55 mph, but a majority of the traffic is usually traveling around 70 or 80 mph.  Police are conspicuously absent which seems to encourage the wild and crazy driving.

Transamerica
Transamerica

Baltimore is warm but pleasant… I belong here, where everything is civilized and gay and rotted and polite.

~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

A touch of Green
A touch of Green

Baltimore is, like a lot of cities, pretty all lit up at night.  M and I took a walk soon after arriving to stretch our legs, have a look around, and find a place for dinner where we could watch the World Cup.

At the Inner Harbor.  The ship is the U.S.S. Constellation.
At the Inner Harbor. The ship is the U.S.S. Constellation.

A note about the images:  The only camera I carried around with me as I went on my walks and explorations of Baltimore was Lulu, the little point-and-shoot, everything-proof, camera.  This trip was about rest and fun for me, and lugging around the big camera would not have been restful or fun.  Lulu’s images tend to be grainy with lots of noise, especially in photos taken at night.  I decided to go with it rather than try to fix it.  I have edited the images in some form, either through small tweaks if that seemed enough, or I went all out to play up the funky weirdness that Lulu sometimes produces.

Another view of the building seen in yesterday's Silent Sunday post.
Another view of the building seen in yesterday’s Silent Sunday post.

One of the coolest buildings I saw on this trip is the Bromo Seltzer Arts Tower.  In case you missed it, it’s the building with the clock tower in yesterday’s Silent Sunday post.  I did not go inside and explore.  I wanted to, but decided to wait and see if M would have time to go with me since I know he really wanted to attend the open studio and clock room tours on Saturday.  Not that there are any rules in life or marriage that say I couldn’t have gone on my own, and then gone back with him if he found the time to go.  I often do that.  This time around I decided to wait, and since M didn’t have time, it’s one of those things I will do when we go back.  I’m sure we’ll have other opportunities and reasons to visit Baltimore again in the future.

June 2014L 046a

Back on the ranch, we are busy preparing for family and friends who are coming to visit this week and next week.  There is nothing like the anticipation of house guests  to help me get my house in order.  Order is becoming easier as the renovations proceed.  M and I even managed to hang some of my images on the walls in the rooms that are finished or almost finished.

I picked our first tomatoes and cucumbers from our garden today.  I also brought in a huge bowl of basil.  I have zucchini from last week’s CSA share, and will be using the zucchini and basil in a pesto-like soup that can supposedly be eaten hot or chilled.  Chilled would be good since we are well into summer weather. The CSA shares are getting bigger each week.  In addition to the zucchini, we brought home yellow squash, cucumbers, Swiss chard, beets, cute little potatoes, and basil.  Our fresh produce cup runneth over with tasty goodness especially when you factor in our garden where we have our own basil and Swiss chard in addition to lettuces, tomatoes, cucumbers, and a variety of peppers.

Our meadows are filled with Black-Eyed Susans now.
Our meadows are filled with Black-Eyed Susans now.

I’d better get moving.  I still have a lot of work to do before I can rest on my laurels for the day.  Happy Summer (now that it’s official)!  Thank you so much for stopping by, and for all your comments and likes.  If I haven’t been there already, I’ll be by to visit you soon, I hope.

Queen Anne's Lace hanging out by the lagoon.
Queen Anne’s Lace hanging out by the lagoon.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

12 thoughts on “Baltimore

  1. It’s really sad. I spent nearly two decades living in Pittsburgh, but I never made it to Baltimore. Glad you had a great “staycation.” I especially love the fourth from last photo, the one looking straight up at the building. That perspective is amazing. Merry Monday to you, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  2. Baltimore and the harbor is fun! (great starting quote)The pictures of that building/tower look like artsy magazine shots – cool or golden which might be more appropriate. (Had to giggle over the bioretention basin – why is it people always have to keep “updating” the names of things…like rediscovering the wheel?)
    It is a bumper crop of basil this year.

    Like

  3. It is one of my favorite cities. I lived 20 minutes away for 20 years. Spent many days, nights and weekends there for various events. Annapolis is fabulous, too. Your pictures are wonderful. A lovely post about a wonderful place.

    Like

  4. Thanks for taking me on your trips, I don’t get out of the woods very often. Your little camera did a great job. I think there is a story in that “three barrels and a beer” picture .. and a great title for it.

    Like

  5. Years ago we had some friends living in Baltimore and we visited them once. They took us and our kids to the Maryland Science Center, which we enjoyed very much. We had lunch at Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, and that is the extent of my connection with Baltimore.

    Like you, knowing house guests are coming is the incentive I need to start cleaning and organizing again… I love the picture of the Queen Anne’s Lace and I think it’s wonderful that you use your own pictures do decorate your home.

    Like

  6. I am enjoying seeing Baltimore thanks Robin, I completely missed it when I was over there years ago …. Lulu does a great job … I did get tired of carrying my big camera while we were away and sometimes used the little one instead …

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

