Posted in Earth, Exploring, Hiking, Pennsylvania, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Travel, Walking & Wandering

In the tunnel

Rays Hill Tunnel.  (The Abandoned Turnpike near Breezewood, PA.)
Rays Hill Tunnel. (The Abandoned Turnpike near Breezewood, PA.)

Don’t wait for a light to appear at the end of the tunnel.  Stride down there and light the bloody thing yourself.

~ Dara Henderson

This was to the
This was to the

Let’s go see what’s in that tunnel, shall we?  In case you forgot or you missed it, the tunnel is Rays Hill Tunnel on the Abandoned Turnpike in Pennsylvania.

One of several entryways.
One of several entryways.

There is, as you might expect, darkness to be found in the tunnel, but it is short enough that you can clearly see the light at the end once you’ve gone in far enough to have lost some of the daylight streaming in behind you.

No eyes
No eyes

You will also find plenty of graffiti in spite of the signs about vandalism.  Frankly, I think the tunnels are a great place to practice the art of graffiti.  It makes them even more interesting.  The preservationists and historians would probably disagree.

Sad frog
Sad frog

Some of the graffiti is easy to see because it’s located at the ends where the light gets in.

At one end or the other.
Running girl

Some of it is freaky.

Have a smoke
Have a smoke.

And some of it is farther along in the tunnel where I might not have noticed it if it hadn’t been for M pointing it out to me.  He has good eyes.

Girl in the dark
Girl in the dark

I don’t often use or appreciate the flash on my camera.  This is one time I did both.

Marilyn in the dark
Marilyn in the dark

Going through the tunnel was a small, but interesting adventure.

Still in the dark
Still in the dark

Speaking of small adventures, I’m leaving today for another one although I hesitate to call it an adventure since my plan is to not do much of anything.  I’m exhausted from traveling and the long list of things that had to be done here on the ranch since we returned.  Normally I would take my camera and go explore since I will be in a city I haven’t visited in more than a decade.

Doorway
Doorway

I might still do that, but only if I feel like it.  I might just hang out in the hotel room and watch the World Cup matches.  The weather has been quite hot, and I’ve no desire to go pounding the pavement in the heat and humidity.  But you never know.  Curiosity or boredom may drive me out there, just to see what’s going on.

Heart of the wall
Heart of the wall

A friend described my plans as a hybrid staycation.  That sums it up beautifully.

Does anyone know where I can get
Does anyone know where I can get

I reckon that’s about it from the inside of the tunnel.  Time to find our way out, and back to the present.  Thank you for dropping by today.  Have a great weekend and I’ll see you again soon!

Mushroom
Mushroomed

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

June 2014C 078a

 

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

6 thoughts on “In the tunnel

  1. Wow, what an amazing post, Robin. I’m a huge fan of street art, as you know, and even more fascinated to know that the tunnel is near the PA turnpike, which I traveled a lot as a kid. And that first photo–WOW! That is TOTALLY cool!

    Hope you enjoy your vacation–get some rest.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  2. Some graffiti is extremely artistic, some is bewildering, but almost always it is interesting. Have a good adventure, whether it is adventurous or not.

    Like

  3. Robin there is such beauty in this graffiti. Some graffiti scares me. Some humors me. Some of it is beautiful. Some of it, I wish they wouldn’t do it where they do it. 😉 But some of it just fits right where it is.

    Like

  4. Very cool. Though I would have been nervous to be there alone for sure. But I’m really glad you showed it to us! Enjoy your modified staycation. I have wanted (very much some days) to stay at a hotel by myself some weekend…to get away from everything and sleep when I want to sleep and read when I want to read. Sounds like a wonderful thing to me.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

