Posted in A bit of history, Earth, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Gratitude, Hiking, Life, Nature, Pennsylvania, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Travel, Walking & Wandering

Take a hike

On the Abandoned Turnpike near Breezewood, Pennsylvania.
On the Abandoned Turnpike near Breezewood, Pennsylvania.

I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads.  Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.

~ Rosalia de Castro

Abandoned median barriers.
Abandoned median barriers near the beginning of the hike.

Remember the Abandoned Turnpike?  M and I went for a hike along it at the beginning of our trip, when we were on our way to the Bogs.

Stopping to look at the flowers.
Stopping to look at the flowers.

Now that I’m home and can look at the photos on the big screen (instead of the laptop), let’s set out along the deserted road once again to have a better look around.

Walking towards the mountain.
Walking towards the mountain.

Nothing behind me, everything ahead of me, as is ever so on the road.

~ Jack Kerouac, On the Road

Bunches of flowers.
Bunches of flowers.

It was warm the day we hiked the old highway.  It is hot today.  The three H’s of summer have arrived on the Eastern Shore.  (That would be Heat, Humidity, and Haze, the three sisters of misery, in case you’re not in the know.)  I think it’s likely to stay this way for a while, with the occasional rain showers or storms showing up just to tweak the humidity a little higher.  That’s summer, like it or not.  (And as we all know, I don’t like it, but I’m determined to try.)

In the coolness of the shade.
In the coolness of the shade.

The Black-Eyed Susans are blooming.  I haven’t had a chance to walk out to the meadows and have a look at them, or take photos.  I’m reluctant to take a lot of photos right now since I have a lot to sort through from the trip.  Mowing is taking up a great deal of time, too.  You should see my “to-do” list.  It’s long.  Very long.

Looking down from a bridge.
Looking down from a bridge.

The next few weeks are going to be super duper busy.  I’m going off on another adventure in a few days.  When I return, I’ll be getting the house ready for guests.  It seems everyone wants to come visit at the same time, or at least near the same time.

Looking out over a farm near the abandoned road, mountains stretching out in the background.
Looking out over a farm near the abandoned road, mountains stretching out in the background.

What have you been up to lately?  Did you do anything exciting over the weekend, or not exciting but worth a mention?  I’ve been working on getting caught up.  “Caught up” is not likely, in all honesty.  It is probably best to work on starting where I am.

Some parts of the road are clearly going back to nature.
Some parts of the road are clearly going back to nature.

Thank you for dropping in today, and taking a little hike with me.  I’ll have more from the abandoned turnpike for you soon.  Tomorrow I’m going to leave the road in order to bring you a bit of whimsy.

Lighthearted
Lighthearted.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

We'll walk into the tunnel soon.
We’ll walk into the tunnel soon.

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

11 thoughts on “Take a hike

  1. Welcome back home to Virginia, Robin. So glad you both enjoyed the trip. Looks like a good rain coming down your way tonight- please keep an eye on it- will come after midnight with a lot of noise if the forecast is correct. We have the three H’s here tonight, too. So happy to be inside! Best wishes, WG

    Like

  2. LOVE the juxtaposition of the tagged barriers with the first and third more rural images. Well done, my friend.

    Hope you are doing well. Sorry to have been gone for so long. We were without internet for two weeks and then I traveled to the US for nearly another two. So glad to be home!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

