Posted in Air, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Woods

Mise en scène

Intricate alliances
Intricate alliances

Sound when stretched is music.
Movement when stretched is dance.
Mind when stretched is meditation.
Life when stretched is celebration.

~ Ravishankar

Spring celebration
Spring celebration

Brrrr!  It is chilly here today.  Surprisingly so, although I suppose it shouldn’t be surprising at all since the weather prognosticators have been prognosticating about it for the past few days.  What I mean is that it is surprising to the body after almost a week of summer-like warmth.

The little pink puffball flowers.  I don't know the official name for this shrub.  Do you?
The little pink puffball flowers. I don’t know the official name for this shrub. Do you?

We did have frost this morning.  Everything seems to have survived it so far.  The peonies were a little droopy, but they’ve perked up.

I don't think we'll have to wait too long for them to flower.
Peonies.  I don’t think we’ll have to wait too long for them to flower.

I’ve spent a good chunk of my day waiting for the plumber who, as it turns out, will not be coming until tomorrow.  He’ll be replacing our water heater.  As you might recall, it sprung a leak which we discovered over the weekend.  We can’t get the water heater we would like to get without a 3-6 week wait.  Living in the middle of nowhere has its disadvantages, that’s for sure.  A wait that long feels like we would be pushing our luck.  There is no way to be sure the current water heater won’t flood all over the place or just quit working.  So, we did some more research and decided on a 30 gallon water heater that the calculations show will meet our needs as well as our requirements.

Spring storm.  (Taken two days ago.  It is sunny and clear today.)
Spring storm. (Taken two days ago. It is sunny and clear today.  Mother Nature painted this picture.  I just resized it and sharpened it a bit for the internet.)

Our poor plumber had to endure two lectures about it when he went to order it.  The folks who sell water heaters seem to think we need a hot water heater that holds at least 50 gallons.  I’m not sure why.  The average shower uses 10 gallons of water.  The average load of wash uses 7.  All the rest is piddling compared to those two operations.  The smaller tank has an Energy Star rating (certified to be energy efficient), and should save us additional money by not holding and keeping warm all the extra water we don’t really need.

Gathered stars, soon to disperse.
Gathered stars, soon to disperse.

We might have to be creative when we have more than one guest staying with us, but that’s just a matter of timing.  Less water should take less time to heat up, don’t you think?

View from grass level.
Kinship

If worse comes to worse and 30 gallons really is insufficient at times, we will adjust.  Because that’s what we do.  Adjust to change.  I don’t think it will be necessary.  According to our calculations, even if we bought a large bathtub, we could probably fill it without waiting for more water to heat up because you don’t fill it with just hot water.  You mix hot and cold.

Beauties of the field
Beauties of the field

I think that’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  I’m going to head outside when I finish here and see if things have dried up enough for me to do some mowing.  The rain spurred on the growth of the grass and it’s already looking lush and jungle-like out there.

Marsh grasses springing up in the woods
Marsh grasses springing up in the woods

Thank you for visiting.  We’re thinking of going down to The Point for sunset.  Meet you there.  I’ll be the one with the thermos of hot chocolate.  I have a feeling we’ll need it, especially once the sun has slipped down behind the horizon.  I’ll bring plenty.  Or at least Enough.  Enough to share.

A song above
A song above

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Life goes on
Life goes on

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “Mise en scène

  1. well, if it´s of any consolation I have a brand new water heater but no gas 😦 so it´s kind of an ornament right now and I have to boil water, put it in a bucket and bath like in the old times …

    Like

    1. Oh no, Ellen! That’s no consolation at all because I don’t like that you’re going through this. That old style of bathing is a lot of work (I know because I’ve had to do it in the past). Hugs and I hope you get things resolved soon so you’ll have gas to heat your water.

      Like

  2. We have here what is called “off peak” water, which means our water reheats itself once a day, after midnight. If we run out, our water is cold, until midnight arrives again. When we had all the family at home, plus Hayley’s boyfriend living here for a year, so seven in total, we were always running out of hot water! With four of us now though, the tank we have suits us fine. I’m sure you know what your own requirements are and if you’ve worked out that thirty gallons is right for you, then I’m sure it is….silly lecturers! We have a fifty-something gallon system, which is just fine for four of us.

    Today’s photos are really spectacular, especially the last two with the blue sky showing through the leaves. It’s cooling down beautifully here, especially the nights, but I don’t think I’ll get too much opportunity to go outdoors today, the whole family will be here for Good Friday lunch, and right now I’m going to bake some hot cross buns. 🙂

    Like

      1. You haven’t? That’s a surprise, I thought they would be traditional in the USA, just as they are here! I will try to write a quick post today, so you can see them.

        Like

  3. I believe teenagers are generally the reason for the bigger tank. If you run into problems when guests arrive, you can temporarily turn up the thermostat (mixing more cold water for showers). Should be quite doable. 🙄

    Like

      1. I liked your 30 gal tank idea so much I forgot to mention that your images are truly beautiful. I particularly love the first one. It certainly does suggest the lovely, serene Asian style. I have a peony like yours. I was given two distinct types from a neighbor who moved to a senior condo setting. The one like yours doesn’t seem to be blooming this year, while the other one has formed two huge buds. The first time it bloomed there was just a single bud, which quickly got knocked over by the wind. It almost seems as though the two plants take turns blooming in alternate years. But they’re worth the wait.

        Like

        1. Thank you, Gunta. 🙂 Interesting about the peonies. I’ve only known the type we have here, and I was thinking about looking into planting more peonies of some kind. It will be interesting to see what’s available.

          Like

          1. And a P.S. That’s okay. I’ve noticed that some people read my words, but most people look at the images and skip the words, so I’m thrilled when someone reads. And if you do both, I’m over the moon. 🙂

            Like

          2. Your reply inspired me to go out and take a shot of the peony bud which is still closed up really tight. It’s leaves are quite different from yours and the larger bud is about the size of a golf ball. The smaller one might be about marble size.

            I may blog about it if I can catch another shot of it blooming. I’m afraid this variety needs to have the flower staked because it’s so heavy and gets knocked over with a mild puff of wind. (Reminder to self to get something to stake the current two buds). 🙄

            Like

  4. the top pixs remind me of fine china designs or lace.
    Hot water heaters are a pain. (Fingers crossed on ours right now) Our neighbor got one that instantly heats on demand – tankless actually. So far they’ve been pleased with it. Costs less to use, so we will look into that.
    Things have gotten one giant size fits all. We’d like a small garbage can. Easier to haul out of crowded garage – and we recycle so much we never fill a “normal size” can – it takes up so much room. Still looking. Enjoy the sunset – cool nights still here, too

    Like

    1. Thank you, PhilospherMouse. I was thinking of Chinese and Japanese prints when I edited the first pic. 🙂 We looked into a tankless water heater. The upfront cost was high, and the savings were not significant compared to what we bought (it would have taken us 20 or so years for the tankless to pay for itself whereas our new water heater will take care of that in 2 years). We have hard, brackish water, and that would also cause problems (build-up and rust), although that’s true of any water heater.

      Like

  5. What a clear blue sky, Robin. The sea breeze really cleared things out.I hope you have that new water heater before the weekend- We have a sculptor now who will inspire you, should you come in May. He makes all of his pieces (animals, plants, etc.) from found metal, and paints them brightly. Neighbors display his work in their yards. So Fun! Best wishes, WG

    Like

    1. Thank you, WG. 🙂 Your sculptor sounds wonderful. We’re socked in with clouds here today, and it looks like it’s going to stay that way for a few days.

      Like

  6. So nice to see spring well on its way around you. We still have a bit of waiting to do around here; spring feels slow to arrive but hopefully this week things will be changing.

    Like

  7. I’ve always wondered about the in-line water heater. Hot water is important to me, so–like a new thing on a new car–I’m not gonna try it….YOUUUUUUUU try it…hey mikey hehehe

    Like

    1. LOL, Elisa! I remember those commercials well. Our new water heater is installed and hopefully it will do as it should and keep us warm when we need to be warm. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

