Posted in Beginnings, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Life, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Wonder

Look closely

Flowers are springing up everywhere
Flowers are springing up everywhere

Contemplate in the morning.
Pull weeds in the afternoon.
The joys and labor of a single day
Are part of a whole journey.

~ Deng Ming-Dao, 365 Tao: Daily Meditations

A rabbit's eye view
A rabbit’s eye view

Look closely.  Something wonderful is happening.  You might have to get down near the ground to see it.

What does the bunny see?
What does the bunny see?

The earth is awakening, and flowers are springing up almost everywhere.

April 2014C 016a
I love these little blue flowers

Mother Earth is gifting us with bouquets of flowers.

Magically appeared overnight
Magically appeared overnight

I don’t know if I’ve never paid much attention to what goes on in the grasses during the spring months, or if this is something new, specific to being in a new area.  I suspect it’s the latter.  I was pretty familiar with the land around Breezy Acres in the Bogs.  There are a lot of flowers here I’ve never seen before.

A lovely mix
A lovely mix

Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.

~ Matsuo Basho

Close up and personal
Close up and personal

The clouds from the latest round of rain have finally departed.  They put on a nice show of colors before leaving.  Today’s sunset might be boring in comparison, if one happened to be prone to making comparisons.  I think it’s best not to compare.  Better to appreciate each sunset as it is, even on those days when the clouds hide the light and colors from us and the change from day to night is subtle.

Do you think maybe the fairies planted this little garden?
Do you think, maybe, the fairies planted this little garden?

I took a trip to a local nursery, and picked up seeds and more plants.  I’m working on my flower garden, and decided to make my own version of a Scounger’s Garden.  If you’ve been following me since my old blog, Life in the Bogs, you might remember the Scrounger’s Garden I visited at the Cleveland Botanical Garden.  Follow that link if you don’t remember or have no idea what I’m going on about.  It might give you some ideas for your garden.

Little white flowers
Little white flowers

Right now I’m working on shoveling mulch to make a pathway through my Scrounger’s Garden.  I need a name for my garden.  Perhaps it will present itself as I continue to dream, plan, and labor on it.

I will also need fencing of some sort to keep the bunnies away from the flowers.  I am thinking about trying my hand at wattle fencing/edging.  Have you heard of it?  If you’ve been gardening for a while, probably so.  I’ve seen wattle fencing, but didn’t know the name for it.  Now that I’m enlightened with a name and some instructions on how to do, all I need are some green branches and stakes to get started.  Since we’re doing a great deal of trimming and pruning around here, the branches should be easy to come by.  If those horrible multi-flora roses didn’t have such dreadful thorns, I’d start cutting those down and use them.  They’re quite flexible and would be perfect.  Except for the thorns.

Beautiful bouquet
Beautiful bouquet

That’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this lovely spring day.  Thank you for dropping in to enjoy the flowers.  If you’d like, join me out in the garden.  I could use an outside opinion or two since I’m new at this.  I suspect the rabbits are going to eat a lot of my plants and flowers before I get it all figured out.

I wonder why the rabbits aren't gobbling up all the wildflowers?
I wonder why the rabbits aren’t gobbling up all the wildflowers?

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Stretching upwards
Stretching upwards

 

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “Look closely

    1. Thank you, Michael. 🙂 Coyotes are a rarity here so far, and I hear we have red and gray fox, but I haven’t seen signs of any yet. Our biggest rabbit population controller right now is a pair of Northern Harriers (Marsh Hawks). There are still plenty of bunnies out there so they haven’t been getting too many of them.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Michaela. 🙂 Wattle fencing seems to be just catching on here in the U.S. They’ve been using it in Europe (in the U.K., at least – I’m not sure about other countries in Europe although what I read just states “Europe”) since the 12th century.

      Like

  1. Loved the flower photos, Robin–and the rabbit, too! Hope your week is going well. We just got back from the beach, where we didn’t have internet. I’m trying to sneak in a visit with you. So sorry to have been so scarce.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  2. Love the little bunny – wish I could pick him up and cuddle him for a little while. I wonder why some animals seem so irresistibly adorable to me. Spring is getting under way down there – we have pretty birds singing and constructing their nests, but no green yet. Just some early bulbs – what a long winter this has been. We have to wait for the first Sunday in June for our farmer’s market to open… Loved looking at all the cheerful, pretty wildflowers you have on your land.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Barbara. 🙂 I think Mother Nature made all babies adorable. Otherwise, when they act up, we might throw them to the wolves. 😉 I’m kidding, something I feel a need to point out in case someone reads this and thinks otherwise. I hope spring is greening up for you now. We’re almost into summer here.

      Like

  3. Natures garden, Robin, with such vari-coloured flowers…and Wattle fencing? Is that the one where it stays live and grows or am I thinking of something else? I shall Google after I’m done catching up on commenting and enjoying the looksee of Wabi Sabi waking to Sunshine and seasons change… Deep breath in and on I go…. HNTrails xPenx ..

    Like

    1. Thank you, Pen. 🙂 Sometimes the wattle fencing stays live and grows, especially if it’s made from willow branches which seem to want to grow no matter what you do to them. I’m thinking I might need to grab a few willow cuttings the next time we’re in Ohio and plant them here so I can use them for the fencing.

      Like

  4. The little wildflowers in the grass are so pretty! Perhaps someone sprinkled packets of seed across the grass during a past life at your ranch….who knows? But if the bunnies aren’t eating them, they must be eating something else! Look around and I’m sure you’ll discover they like some other plant that’s growing there. I remember the Scrounger’s Garden and from what you have shown us, I’m sure there will be plenty for you to scrounge from around your own property for your new garden. 🙂

    Like

    1. I thought you might remember the Scrounger’s Garden, Joanne. 🙂 The little wildflowers in the grass seem to be just about everywhere here. I noticed whole fields of some of them when we were on our way to the beach yesterday. It’s amazing.

      Like

  5. What beauty spring is bringing to your ranch! Love your close ups of the wildflowers, Robin. And fresh asparagus- what a wonderful treat. May all be well with you and M- Best wishes, WG

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

