Posted in Air, Beach, Blogging Break, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Weather, Winter, Wonder

Sunset continued

Back on the beach
Back on the beach

Yes, as everyone knows, meditation and water are wedded for ever.

~ Herman Melville

I wonder if there is a message in this bottle...
I wonder if there is a message in this bottle…

Did you notice the bottle in some of the images in yesterday’s post?  My guess is probably not.  It’s not all that obvious.  The bottle is in two of the images, making its way towards the center and the line of sunlight reflecting off the water.  I could tell you exactly which two, but where’s the fun in that?

Standing
Standing

This is, in case you missed it yesterday, a continuation of the sunset at The Point I went to watch on Wednesday evening.  This is also a scheduled post.  If all is well with the world and if our plans have not gone awry, M and I are on our way to Virginia to meet up with some friends.  It’s a quick trip, with only one full day to spend seeing some sights and hanging with our friends.

Slipping away
Slipping away

In the meantime, enjoy a few more sunset shots.  I’ll be back soon.

March 2014K 039a

Empty your mind, be formless, shapeless — like water.  Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, you put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot.  Now water can flow or it can crash.  Be water, my friend.

~ Bruce Lee

Gone for today.
Gone for today.

The soil in which the meditative mind can begin is the soil of everyday life, the strife, the pain, and the fleeting joy.  It must begin there, and bring order, and from there move endlessly.  But if you are concerned only with making order, then that very order will bring about its own limitation, and the mind will be its prisoner.  In all this movement you must somehow begin from the other end, from the other shore, and not always be concerned with this shore or how to cross the river.  You must take a plunge into the water, not knowing how to swim.  And the beauty of meditation is that you never know where you are, where you are going, what the end is.

~ Jiddu Krishnamurti

The colors soften
The colors soften

That’s almost it for Wednesday’s sunset.  Sometimes I wonder if I should have named my blog “Breezes at sunset.”  I’ll have to see what I can do about photographing some sunrises.  Thank you for stopping by today.  I hope Friday has been fantastic, and that your weekend brings you whatever it is you’re looking for in this weekend.

Deepening with the approach of night.
Deepening with the approach of night.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

One last look back before we leave.
One last look back before we leave.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

20 thoughts on “Sunset continued

  1. Thanks for sharing the beauty you find. (And I’m a bit envious of how you schedule posts. When I tried a while back, I couldn’t get it to work like I wanted. Of course, now, who needs to schedule a post when I’m only getting one out every week or two.)

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Christine. And thank you. 🙂 If you need help scheduling a post, let me know. The key is getting the time right (which I’ve messed up on more than one occasion).

      Like

    1. I do like this theme, Christine. I don’t do much with it, but it’s a favorite of mine. My youngest son thinks it’s very 1990’s, which in his opinion is not retro enough to be retro cool. I figure if I wait a few more years, he’ll start considering it retro cool. lol!

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

