Posted in Air, Beach, Critters, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Gifts, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Winter, Wonder

Gathering at The Point

Gathering to watch the sunset.
Gathering to watch the sunset.

Life is a great and wondrous mystery, and the only thing we know that we have for sure is what is right here and right now.  Don’t miss it.

~ Leo Buscaglia

Blackbirds gather at The Point.  (This is a new image, although it does look a lot like one I posted a month or so ago.  The blackbirds must gather here most evenings.)
Blackbirds gather at The Point. (This is a new image, although it does look a lot like one I posted a month or so ago. The blackbirds must gather here most evenings.)

I went out to The Point yesterday to watch the sunset.  It was glorious.  If you look carefully at the tree on the far right in the first image, you will see the birds flying around it, getting ready to land.  Before the blackbirds arrived someone else had the prime seat on the tree.

Waiting for sunset.
Waiting for sunset.

He stayed a few minutes while I walked around.  Then he took off, allowing the blackbirds to have the tree for a little while.  When he came back, the blackbirds scattered, and the eagle stayed the rest of the time I was there.

It was a little windy out there.
It was a little windy out there.

I almost didn’t go.  Sunset is a little later these days (6:00 pm yesterday), and I hadn’t started dinner.  Then I thought that was a stupid excuse not to go, so off I went.  Who cares if dinner is late?  Nobody in my household, that’s for sure.  Well, the cats care when their meals aren’t delivered on time, but they had already been fed for the day.

Let's walk on the beach.
Let’s walk on the beach.

Once again, M and I were the only people on the Point.  It’s lovely to have all that beauty to ourselves, but I do wonder why no one else bothers to go out there for sunset.  Sure, it was cold.  That’s what clothing and coats and hats and gloves are for.

At the edge
At the edge

The winds of grace blow all the time.  All we need to do is set our sails.

~ Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa

Blocking the light
Blocking the light

It’s been a good Thursday.  I had an appointment with a dentist this morning.  This was my first visit, and everyone I met in the practice was wonderful.  The dentist passed my test, too, showing himself to be conservative when it comes to treatment.  Yay, Doc!

There it is.
There it is.

They’re a bunch of foodies in that office, and we talked about kale chips, Brussels sprouts, and asparagus.  The dentist has an asparagus bed he inherited from his great-grandfather.  He said it’s over 50 years old.  That’s pretty impressive.

Boot prints in the sand.
Boot prints in the sand.

I’ll have to ask him for tips the next time I see him.  I didn’t ask this time around because I don’t plan on doing too much with the asparagus bed this year.  I’m going to wait and see what comes up.  From the looks of the old ferns, it’s doing well enough without me messing around with it.

Glorious evening
Glorious evening

John has been here since mid-morning, working on the 3-Season Room.  He should have it finished soon.  The cats will rejoice.  We had a cat door put in so they could let themselves out on the porch if they happen to be in the mood to sleep in the sun.  What cat isn’t in the mood to sleep in the sun??

Amazing
Amazing

Just to be is a blessing.  Just to live is holy.

~ Abraham Joshua Heschel

Riding the waves to the end of the earth.
Riding the waves to the end of the earth.

I have several more images of the sunset to show you, but I haven’t the time to get them posted right now.  I’ll see if I can schedule a post for tomorrow.  If not, they’ll have to wait.  I’m taking a short break over the weekend, and should be back by Monday.  Thank you so much for your visits, your likes, and your comments.  Have a fantastic weekend!  I’ll see you again soon.

Still watching.
Still watching.

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

25 thoughts on “Gathering at The Point

  1. Lovely, SOunds like your settling in. How fascinating to see the eagle. And it is a puzzler why no one takes in that gorgeous view. In the summer, bet there will be a crowd, yes?

    Like

    1. Thank you, Bo. 🙂 Last summer there were a few people at the Point from time to time, but never a crowd. I don’t think it is a well-known spot except to some fishermen.

      Like

  2. What a companionable eagle. He’s obviously decided to like you and M. A glorious evening to be alive. What a treat, after decades of responsibility, to have the freedom to enjoy the sunset, letting dinner come when it comes. 😉 Best wishes, WG

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karen. 🙂 I wondered that, too. Why wouldn’t they enjoy a good sunset? It’s a wonderful spot, especially since they probably have it to themselves most of the time.

      Like

  3. Looking over your shoulder, Robin, and such magnificent views to see too, always a showstopper, the sunset… and Mr Eagle certainly wanted to be noticed. You made me laugh with your comments about cats, if they have warmth and sleep, (and a full stomach) all’s right with their World. 🙂 Are we so easily pleased eh? …. Umm, sometimes methinks. Hope you have a wonderfilled week-end, and catch up soon. Happy New Trails…xPenx

    Like

    1. Thank you, Pen. 🙂 I’ve often thought that life would be so pleasant if I could be like Bella the Cat. She’s so laid-back and relaxed about everything, and she delights in the simplest things.

      Like

  4. During the cold season, my cat will often forgo sun for sleeping on the radiator, but she’s usually one for a sunbeam nap, too.

    I think I love The Point. I may need to move up my anticipated visit.

    Like

  5. Love Leo Buscaglia. My folks loved eagles…and sunsets…They used to go out on the lake often to watch the sun go down. After Mom died the neighbors say Dad went out alone in the boat just about every evening. They also loved eagles, went to a northern Alabama refuge each year for an ‘eagle weekend.’ Two days after Dad was killed an eagle flew in and sat in a tree outside my brother’s house. Never saw one on that lake before, never saw one since. He say in that tree watching the house all afternoon. We like to think it was Dad checking up on his kids. So this post…with it’s two sets of footprints wandering off into the sunset just touched me. Thank you.

    Like

    1. Awww. You’re welcome, Dawn. Your love for your parents really shines through in your stories about them. I bet it was your dad checking up on ya’all. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

