Posted in Beginnings, Change, Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Garden, Goals, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Winter

Saturday chores

Something pretty to start.
Something pretty to start.

By bringing a soulful consciousness to gardening, sacred space can be created outdoors.

~ S. Kelley Harrell, Nature’s Gifts Anthology

Before
Before

“Before” is after I’d gotten a small start on what will be the Herb Bed.  Otherwise, all you would see are vines.

After
After

It’s going to make a wonderful place to grow herbs, don’t you think?  I’m going to start with just a few for cooking.  Rosemary, oregano, thyme, and maybe some parsley or cilantro.   Probably cilantro.  I use a lot of cilantro, especially when I’m making curries.

The honeysuckle vines growing over the bed and on the garden fence were amazing.  Thick like trees near the ground, M worked on them with his chain saw before I started hacking at the smaller vines to remove them.  One was so thickly entwined with vines sticking out all over at the top that I thought of Medusa’s hair.

Today's view of the lagoon.
Today’s view of the lagoon.

It was a lovely afternoon to work outside.  Almost 50°F, calm, and mostly sunny while I was out there.  The clouds have been moving in and out all day, sometimes dark and thick, other times light and wispy.

We finally identified the ducks who are spending time in the lagoon.  We have American Black Ducks, Mallards, and a couple of beautiful Green-Winged Teals.  The Green-Winged Teals are a first for me.  I hope to get a good shot of them one of these days, but they are skittish and don’t seem to care much for being photographed.

Laundry drying
Laundry drying

That’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you for visiting.  I’m heading out to the dock soon.  It’s a good evening to sit on the bench, sip on some wine or beer, and watch the sun go down.  I’ll bring extra in case you decide to come along.

Yesterday's sunset
Yesterday’s sunset

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Last sunset of February 2014.
Last sunset of February 2014.
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

31 thoughts on “Saturday chores

    1. Aren’t they prettty? They give the appearance of springtime, Eric, but don’t let those flowers fool you. Winter is returning on Monday. Thank goodness the happy little crocuses are hardy, and should make it through the next cold spell. 🙂

      Like

  1. Congratulations on clearing the herb bed, Robin 😉 A huge accomplishment. I can “see” a hedge of Rosemary growing along that lovely picket fence. The herb gardens in Colonial Williamsburg are just magnificent- so perfectly geometric and wonderfully overgrown. You would be inspired. The starter is growing well and ready for your visit…. 😉

    Like

  2. Oh!! I am so grateful to see you praising and enjoying the land and the home that was so special to the original owners, I bet if they read this one they’d feel glad that they chose to sell instead of angry and embarrassed by repeated garbage posts! I’m really glad to see it. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Elisa. 🙂 I’ve been pondering your comment, wondering if I’ve been far too negative about the place. The garbage posts are barely a drop in the bucket in terms of what we’ve found here, and the more we discover, the more I wonder how special this place was to the original owners. I’ve refrained from posting about some of the things that might be more embarrassing for them. Having put that out there, I will tell you a story. When we closed on the house and stayed here for a few days cleaning up so we would be ready to move in our furniture and other stuff, a friend of the former owners stopped by (the man who eventually took the rooster). We walked out to the chicken coop so he could get a good look at the rooster, and on the way out he kept shaking his head and tsk-tsking. Finally, he said, “It really is a shame, what happened to this place. It used to be so beautiful, with benches all around and flowers growing.” From that moment on, whenever I go out, I see what used to be, and most of the time when I’m out for my walks and picking up trash, I feel and see the beauty of the place and the potential for it to be beautiful once again. No, that’s wrong. It’s always been beautiful, but the potential is in the cleaning up and restoring, to make this a healthy place to live. This might have been a special place once upon a time, and it is becoming a special place to me. There is magic here.

      I would like to be able to say I always feel compassionate and loving and positive about the Wabi-Sabi Ranch and about the former owners, but sainthood is not in the cards for me. Some days I am frustrated and angry, not just at the former owners but at the mentality of this region where it is consider OK to just dump your trash wherever. There is an awful stink in some spots where they dumped who knows what, and it is the smell that gets to me more than the trash. Terrible smells make me a terribly judgmental person.

      In between the love and the anger, I do wish Mr. & Mrs. B well, and I am grateful for what they created before things went downhill for them. I marvel at how well-built the house is, and how much work Mr. B had to do to build this place. I look at where the gardens used to be, and think about Mrs. B lovingly tending her flowers and vegetables.

      Like

  3. We could use a little crocus business up here about now. But it’s snowing. Again. I think we already have a couple of inches of the new stuff. For now I’ll enjoy spring vicariously through you.

    Like

    1. I hope that winter soon loosens its grip on ya’all, Dawn. We have snow in the forecast here tonight, but I think it will be mostly rain unless the cold catches up with the precipitation soon.

      Like

  4. Love seeing laundry drying naturally, Robin, makes me feel ‘all’s right with the World’ doesn’t take much eh? 😉 .. Beautiful Crocus’s . and you’ve made excellent progress with the herb garden,.. so Cheers, wine wise.. ah….the sunset is marvellous… Happy New Trails xPenx

    Like

  5. Yard work is so great … your work is visible immediately and you can watch it grow and improve during a season. Unlike teaching, that is why I think I enjoy it so much once the winter in finally gone. (I won’t be seeing the ground for at least another month to 6 weeks)
    You forgot to mention … no bugs right now!

    Like

    1. Oh, there are bugs, Bearyweather, but thank goodness they’re not as bad as the summer months. We’ve already seen a few mosquitoes and deer flies, and the house flies come out to sun themselves whenever it gets above freezing. You’re so right about yard work. It is rewarding that way. 🙂

      Like

  6. Wow. you’ve made a huge difference in your herb garden to-be! I can’t believe it took a chain saw to get rid of the vines, they must have been there for quite some time!
    Your sunsets are beautiful as always.

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

