Posted in Air, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Maryland, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Portals & Pathways, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Winter, Woods

It was a dark and stormy night

Wave of grass in the meadow
Wave of grass in the meadow

It was a dark and stormy night.  Suddenly, a shot rang out!  A door slammed.  The maid screamed.  Suddenly, a pirate ship appeared on the horizon!  While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury.  Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.

~ Charles M. Schulz, It Was a Dark and Stormy Night, Snoopy

Soggy
Soggy

An hour or so before I went to bed last night, it was snowing and cold.  By the time I went to bed, the snow had stopped and the wind had picked up.  Throughout the night the wind howled and shrieked like a banshee.  Since I’ve really no idea what a banshee sounds like, perhaps it would be more accurate to describe it as caterwauling.  At one point, around 3:00 am, I woke up thinking giant cats were fighting on the roof of the house.  Rain pummeled and crashed and thundered, as the wind hissed and yowled.  You might have thought there was a hurricane going on outside.

Misty morning
Misty morning

When I opened the blinds in the bedroom this morning, I fully expected to see the world outside the windows flattened by the forces of wind and rain.  I was surprised to see grasses and trees were still standing.

On the Woodland Trail
On the Woodland Trail

I was even more surprised when I stepped outside for my walk.  The morning was soft and misty, not at all was I was expecting.  The wind was on a break, and the rain had become a gentle mist.  And it was warm, almost tropically warm.  I’d overdressed for it, and had to remove a few layers.

On the dock
On the dock

Out on the dock, Back Creek was higher than usual levels and still making its way in to complete the high tide.  I’m not sure that’s due to the storm since this is a nor’easter and the coastal flooding predicted is on the ocean side of the peninsula.  (The Wabi-Sabi Ranch is closer to the Chesapeake Bay side.)  There is a full moon tonight, and that is probably influencing the tides.

(Side note:  There are about two hundred Red-Winged Blackbirds sitting outside the office window as I type.  I am still astounded when I see so many of them grouped together.)

Camouflaged.
Camouflaged

With all the ruckus going on throughout the night, I didn’t sleep well.  I find it amusing this storm was named Pax which means peace.  Heh.  It was hardly peaceful.

Puddles everywhere
Puddles everywhere

The day, so far, has been peaceful.  The birds seem to be enjoying themselves.  There is a lot of chatter and singing going on outside.  The wind is supposed to come back around tonight and bring a mix of precipitation with it.  Might be snow, might be ice, might be rain.  Might be another dark and stormy night.

A myrtle in the meadow
A myrtle in the meadow

That’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you for visiting, and taking another walk with me.  I hope the weather hasn’t been too severe in your part of the world, and that Thursday has been peaceful, at least on an inner level if not all about you in the outer world.

White-throated sparrow
White-throated sparrow

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “It was a dark and stormy night

  1. Sorry you had banshees there – we had them too yesterday. An awful storm! Calmer today but still too much rain here.
    Love your pictures, as always. 🙂

    Like

  2. Your photos show such a beautiful environment. Love the birds. We heard some yesterday in the playground. The children were enchanted and I was happy to see this sign of spring.

    Like

    1. Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. 🙂 Well, it would be nice to think that’s why they named it Pax. And since it is nice, let’s stick with that. Reality is what we make of it.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Karen. Looks like the comments are fixed. Yay!! I saw all that snow in Atlanta and couldn’t believe it. It did snow once while we lived there, and it was incredible because I just didn’t expect to see snow in Atlanta.

      Like

    1. I hear ya, CM. Giant cats on the roof are preferable to warning sirens. I think the cats are back tonight.

      Snoopy knows how to write. Glad you recognized his style. 😀

      Like

  3. What absolutely gorgeous images, Robin. Like paintings. I love the softness and the color. They are so very well edited too. The morning did not look at all like the product of caterwauling cats had been there all night! 🙂 This is a beautiful post.

    Like

  4. chatter and singing sounds good to me Robin, I miss hearing that here in our Winter, as the birds desert us in droves. A peaceful calm before another storm, enabling you to get some beautiful photo’s. I’ve been scrolling up and down, absorbing nature. I’ll just wave byebye, to the grass in the meadow. Happy New Trails. xPenx

    Like

    1. I love them, too, Michaela, especially when they occur after some cold and dry weather, although it rarely seems to be dry here. My skin is enjoying winter on the Eastern Shore. 🙂

      Like

  5. Pax brought us the most snow we’ve had this winter so far. I’m home for a 2nd snow day in a row this morning. Luckily the power has stayed on. I’m wondering how you fared. My Baltimore area friend says she got 24″! Wow!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

