Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Gifts, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Winter

Noticing

Fallen angel
Fallen angel in the woods

It’s noticing that cracks us open, lets something in.
Shows we’re in use.
Uses us.
Right now. Right this minute.

~ Lia Purpura, On Looking: Essays

Softly
Softly

It’s beginning to look and sound like spring.  Spring is not here yet, but there is a stirring that I think the birds have noticed.  Those that will be staying are acting different, and those that will be leaving seem to be on the move.  Flocks of snow geese and swans went by while I was out this morning.

Spring stirrings
Spring stirrings

The bluebirds seem to be celebrating the day, and the possibility of spring.

Waving a wing
Waving a wing

The little birds are cautious, though, because they are not the only creatures out and about enjoying the sunshine.

Looking for lunch
Looking for lunch

It might not be spring the birds are celebrating.  It might be the lack of hammering and sawing and other loud noises.  John has taken the day off from the construction of the addition, and that’s something I appreciate, too.  But who needs a reason to celebrate other than the beauty of the day?  Winter will be back for another visit next week so we might as well enjoy the mild temperatures and sunshine while we can.

Looking a little stern
Looking a little stern

I’ll have photos of the addition for you soon.  I know I mentioned I’d have them today, but I was busy watching the birds and forgot all about getting shots of the construction.

Feathery
Feathery

I have to keep this short today.  I’m on rake duty, attempting to smooth out the mess that’s been made by all of the construction vehicles.  The mud and ruts are terrible, and I’m hoping to make it a little less worse.  It will be good exercise and help me get my 12,000 moves for the day.

Fullscreen capture 1172014 101617 AM

As you can see, I met my goal only twice this past week although you shouldn’t count today just yet because there are still a lot more moves to be made.  I will meet or exceed my goal by this evening.  (Past 12,000 as of late this afternoon.  Yay!)

Climbing
Climbing

That’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you for visiting.  I hope to get out to the dock for sunset this evening.  Meet you out there around 4:50 pm.  Sunset is scheduled for 5:09 pm, but it’s best to arrive a little early as the sun will slip behind the trees about ten minutes before actual sunset.

At rest
At rest

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

26 thoughts on “Noticing

  1. Think I can get there in 30 minutes? Sounds like heaven! 🙂
    Warmish here today – took the grandkids walking at the Bird Sanctuary. We didn’t see nearly as many birds as you posted photos of…Might have something to do with being in the company of a rambunctious boy!

    Like

    1. lol, Marie! I can’t imagine why the birds would flee. 😉 I don’t think 30 minutes is possible unless you have a teleportation device or a magic wand (and if you do have either of those things, let me know… there are places I’d like to go to instantaneously).

      Like

    1. It’s all new to me, Carol. I was surprised to see the daffodils pushing up already. This will be my first spring here. It will be interesting to see how it goes. 🙂

      Like

  2. I can see you’re a great ‘mover’ Robin, 🙂 and lovely photo’s of Spring, you know, sometimes when the weather’s rough, you begin to wonder if Spring is just a distant memory, a falsehood, but you have such wonderful proof in your photo’s. Meet you on the dock, without fail. Happy trails xPenx

    Like

  3. Spring? You have signs of spring? It’s 15 here today. Will be colder by Monday so they say. I would love to see a bit of spring..but it’s too soon here to even hope. So I will look for something pretty about winter. It’s here somewhere I’m sure. Love the fit thingy- am considering…but I need the one that counts stairs as I work on the 4th floor and take the stairs all the time.don’t want to be cheated out of all those stairs!

    Like

    1. It’s a surprise to me too, Dawn. We’ll be cold here this week, but not as cold as what ya’all will be experiencing. As for the MOV band and counting stairs, that’s one thing it does do well as long as you swing your arms when you walk/climb. Four floors is a nice climb. 🙂

      Like

  4. Spring? Spring!! What some of us might give to have signs of spring… Loved the pic of the lil feather and the bluebird waving a wing. I sure think your photography is wonderful.

    Like

  5. Great bird photos! The bluebirds are fabulous. I’m sure my local birds have thought I have forsaken them on this snowy afternoon since I am out of birdseed, although a seed bell still hangs on my back deck.

    Like

  6. Love the opening to your post today, Robin, and also the photos of your bluebird. Looks like our daffodils are right at the same level of coming out. Won’t be long now until they are in full golden bloom! You are mighty brave to watch sunset from the dock tonight. I was headed for the water around noon to take photos, and headed back to the yard. Too windy and cold here for any serious time creek-side. Hope you’re well and warm, Best wishes, WG

    Like

    1. Thank you, WG. I can’t imagine the daffodils being in full bloom before the end of March or the beginning of April. Sunset on the dock was a bit brisk and windy, but I’m used to cold weather (although I seem to be softening up a bit this winter!). 🙂

      Like

    1. I would never have noticed the daffodils if I hadn’t been watching the birds, Michaela. One of the bluebirds hopped down behind the holly out front, and there they were, daffodils pushing up out of the ground. I wouldn’t have thought to look for them this soon so I’m glad the bird showed me what was going on. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

