Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Gifts, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Winter, Wonder, Woods

Silent Moon

Moon of the woods
Moon of the woods

See how nature — trees, flowers, grass — grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence — we need silence to be able to touch souls.

~ Mother Teresa

Sunset from the boardwalk to the dock.
Sunset from the boardwalk (approaching the dock).

I spend the majority of my days here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch in silence.  There is no one around to talk to or with except the cats, and although we’ve had many a conversation, they tend to be one-sided in terms of vocalizations except for the occasional mrrrrt, meow, or purr from Izzy or Bella.  They nap a lot too, as cats are wont to do, so they’re not always available for conversations.

A lovely end to a beautiful day.
A lovely end to a beautiful day.

The house is not silent.  If it’s cold outside, there’s the whir and whoosh of the heat pump when the heat kicks on (or, if it’s hot outside, when the air conditioner runs), and the hum of the refrigerator, or if it’s a laundry day, the swish, thump, and hum of the washer and dryer.  The sound of water is ever-present.  A drip in the tub, the random gurgle of a toilet, the waterfall sound-effect from the reverse osmosis filter as the waste water is carried out, and the music and rhythm of the rain on rainy days all remind me that water is the dominant feature in this area.

Swish of cloud
Swish of cloud

The outdoors is not silent, either.  The early morning sounds include the songs and chatter of birds, gunshots coming from the hunters in the marshes and the woods, the occasional vehicle out on the road (more than occasional during harvest season when farm equipment is being moved around from farm to farm or when the farmers nearby are out on the tractors), the neighbor’s rooster cockle-doodle-doo’ing, the other neighbor’s beagles who love to bark enthusiastically throughout the day.  Trees creak, grasses rustle and swish, airplanes fly overhead once in a while, and last week there was the loud BOOM of a rocket launch.

Across the creek
Across the creek

We’ve had quite a bit of rain this winter, and during those moments when it is quiet outside, you can hear the water moving in the ground, finding its way to the ditches and creeks.  The bubbling, burbling sound reminds me of the Bogs.  It’s raining today, in a gentle, steady, quiet way, so I’m sure the bubbling and burbling will be present when I go out for my walk tomorrow.

The purple hour
The purple hour

Because I spend so much time here, I’m familiar with the house noises.  When M is home and there’s the occasional tinkling-crash or hum or gurgle, he’ll tilt his head in that listening way, then give me his puzzled look, and I’ll say, “the ice maker,” or “the fridge,” or “when you run water in the master bathroom, it eventually gurgles in the guest bathroom.”  It’s almost a game, figuring out the thump or bump or whistle or squeak.

Up the creek
Up the creek

The January full moon is almost here (tomorrow night).  I should be able to see it, and maybe get in some practice with the new camera.  The January full moon, like all full moons, has a variety of traditional names such as the Old Moon, the Wolf Moon, the Ice Moon, and the Winter Moon.  I once spent a year naming the full moons on my own, based on my own criteria, as a way to get to know the place where I was living.  I think I shall name this full moon the Moon of Silence, in honor of those quiet, silent, in between times.  In between the gurgles, the thumps, the splashes, and the booms, there is silence, just as in the gap between the breaths there is silence.

Leaving the dock
Leaving the dock

Thank you for visiting today, and watching yesterday’s sunset and moonrise with me.  I hope you had a peaceful Tuesday, and caught some of the silent moments in between.

Not quite full
Not quite full

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s gift:  A poem, The House of Belonging by David Whyte.  It’s beautiful.  I especially like the last bits that start with, “This is the bright home/in which I live…”  If you have time, please go read it.

Today’s joys:  The gentleness of the rain; the warmth of the air; the way the raindrops decorate the junipers and cedars; a day without hammering and sawing; boots to keep my feet dry.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

22 thoughts on “Silent Moon

  1. Thank YOU SO MUCH for posting this. I am recuperating from the HORRID influenza A and I did not get to take any shots here…this perks me up! a beauty today and yesterday. Have a great week!!!

    Like

  2. Hi Robin. I envy you your comfort with silence. I think, because I worked in government so long, I need noise to be able to think. The idea repels me if I think about it, but I keep the TV on almost all the time. I don’t pay attention to it at all, but the background noise is like company. It sounds pathetic I know. Occasionally I deliberately spend a morning with it turned off and it is a huge treat. Then I hear all the sounds that I’ve known here for almost 34 years. I like your idea of calling the moon this month the ‘Moon of Silence’. Jane

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jane. 🙂 I used to have a difficult time with silence, too, and would keep the TV on as background noise. Little by little, an hour at a time, I reduced the TV time, and learned to like the quiet.

      Like

  3. Those morning hours when everyone is at work or at school, and I’m all alone at home are my favorite hours of the day. I really enjoy that quiet time all to myself (even if there’s a mountain of housework waiting to be done).

    Like

  4. I’m starting to catch up on my last week, as it was not my best week of all time. It’s a week since you wrote this Robin and it speaks to me, your words and also the poem. The sounds around my home have changed, I noticed it yesterday in the silence, now Tess is gone, and as this situation is so new, I forget, and go to check on her. Izzy and Bella, like my Tess, are not great conversationalists, yet you can feel their presence so strongly, and you hear their small sounds. xxx

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

