Posted in Air, Earth, Eastern Shore, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Winter

1: A taste of winter

Rimy
Rimy

It is growing cold.  Winter is putting footsteps in the meadow.

~ Roman Payne

Dusting
Dusting

There was no real sunrise here this morning, just a gradual brightening of the sky to a dull, winter gray.  The weather guy on the local news said there might be freezing fog.  I’ve never seen freezing fog, and wasn’t sure what he meant.  The air certainly felt frozen.

The frost thickens
The frost thickens

After a few minutes of walking around, I realized that the frost, instead of melting as it usually does in the morning, was growing thicker.  The air appeared thick with cold, too.

Draped
Draped

They are saying that we will get some snow tonight.  One to three inches on the northern part of the peninsula.  One inch, maybe less, here in the south.  It’s supposed to get windy, too.  The sound of the wind is different here than it is in the Bogs.  It’s not as vocal.  I’m not sure why, but maybe because it’s flat.  There are no hills and hollows to help the wind sing.

Freezing in place
Freezing in place

The birds have been busy today.  The feeders we put out a week or so ago have finally been discovered, and are now a popular meeting place.  There were all kinds of little birds there, along with some cardinals.  A couple of woodpeckers were knocking around in the trees, and a gray squirrel went dashing past me.  I don’t think the squirrel has noticed the feeder yet.  The Great Blue Heron who visits the lagoon every morning came around, and didn’t rush off as soon as he saw me.

I wonder how he can stand the cold water
I wonder how he can stand the cold water

Flocks of geese flew overhead, going south.  The air was filled with the noise of hundreds of geese honking.  It’s an incredible sound.

One small flock within the larger group
One small flock within the larger group

I didn’t stay out as long as I usually do.  It’s true that I’m growing soft here on the Eastern Shore.  The cold was biting, and my fingers and toes started to ache from it.  I’m going to look for my snow boots today.  Even if we don’t get much snow, it will be nice to have warmer boots to wear when I go out into the cold.

Delicately reaching out
Delicately reaching out

As if the frost wasn’t proof enough that it’s cold outside, I came inside to find this:

Settling in for a winter's nap
Settling in for a winter’s nap

Since leaving the kitten stage when they did everything together, Izzy and Bella barely tolerate each other and occasionally fight in the way that most siblings fight, which is to say, not to hurt each other, but rather to establish who is in charge.  They take turns in the role of Alpha Cat, and they have some sort of time-share agreement when it comes to occupying the kitty condo.  The only time they cuddle up anymore is when it’s cold.  I keep the heat turned down during the day because I’m moving, and snuggling on the heated water bed is the best way for them to keep warm.

Gelid
Gelid

It feels good to get back into my morning routine.  Yoga, meditation, writing, walking, and a good cardio workout are a fantastic way to start the day.  Cardio workouts are a good way to stay warm, too.

Brumal
Brumal

It’s time for me to get back to work.  I have five large boxes of kitchen things to unpack, and then we’ll be settled in there.  M and I have started to clear out the sun room in preparation for the Next Big Project.  I love that space is finally beginning to open up in the house.  It’s still chaotic, but at least it doesn’t feel as crowded.

Thank you for stopping by on this frigid day.  Maybe tomorrow we can go out and play in the snow.  We’ll have to wait and see what Old Man Winter decides to bring us.

Frore
Frore

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s joys:  Movement (it feels so good to be exercising again!); the gift that Santa brought this morning (my new camera!!!!); exclamation points (because I seem to be using a lot of them today!); tomato soup; Izzy and Bella, snuggling and then chasing each other around the house.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

32 thoughts on “1: A taste of winter

  1. I love that first quote, I checked to make sure you hadn’t said it because it sounds like something you WOULD say! 🙂

    It’s getting pretty messy back in the land of the bogs. I think they are in for a good bit of snow! And we’re all in for some bitter cold!

    Like

  2. Love your images of the frost Robin! Not that I wish snow and cold temps on anyone, but would love to see more of them if your cold spell continues. Me, I just have lots of snow! Stay warm… 🙂

    Like

  3. Aww, sweet Izzy and Bella! My two are sprawled out in cool places today, Phoebe on top of my sewing table in front of an open window and Tabitha on top of a chest of drawers, also in front of an open window. How I love your frosty photos! And I love the stories of all of the wildlife coming to visit your garden. Keep warm, maybe you should snuggle up next to Izzy and Bella. 🙂

    Like

  4. Izzy and Bella captured being good! Jewel of a picture.
    Chill’s even here with forecasts of freezing temps for several days (not so unusual – it’s normal winter this year)
    Nice pictures of the ice – looks like fuzzy sweaters on leaves and such!

    Like

    1. We did get snow, Sallyann, but the new camera won’t be going out in it. It’s so complicated that I think it’s going to take me months to learn how to use it. It’ll be good for me to learn something new. 😀

      Like

  5. Such beautiful photos of the frost today! I’ve been listening to the wind here for several hours now, and there is a dusting of snow or heavy frost- still too dark out to tell. Your garden will be transformed for your photo shoot today 😉 Best wishes, WG

    Like

  6. A lovely (if cold!) walk today…sounds like the Land and its inhabitants have accepted you, just as you’ve begun to truly call it Home.
    Snowing here this morning, and a windchill of -15. Your frost looks perfectly inviting by comparison!

    Like

    1. Bitterly cold here too, Marie, with the wind factored in. It sure looks pretty out there, though. I’m working up the nerve to go out and freeze my tail off. lol!

      Like

  7. Since I’m reading this the morning after you posted, I’m wondering about your snow. We had two snow days (yesterday and today) from winter storm Hercules because of the timing of the storm. It really didn’t overwhelm us, I’d say there’s maybe 5 or 6 inches out there, and since it is so so cold (daytime high around 10!) it is powdery light.
    I had a chuckle at your cuddling kitties on the waterbed. My 12 year old sweetie Cedric spends most of his day on my waterbed, and despite the fact that he has very long thick fur, he actually tunnels under the covers! Sometimes you have to be careful not to sit on the “lump” in the bed, lol.

    Like

    1. We did get some snow, Karma! I was surprised by it when I woke up this morning. It was lovely, but brutally cold. Bella likes to tunnel under the covers, too. 🙂

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

