Posted in Beginnings, Change, Earth, Eastern Shore, Endings, Fire, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Winter, Woods

Endings bring beginnings

An end and a beginning (seeds of the future).
An end and a beginning (seeds of the future).

“Have you thought of an ending?”
“Yes, several, all are dark and unpleasant.”
“Oh, that won’t do! Books ought to have good endings. How would this do: and they all settled down and lived together happily ever after?”
“It will do well, if it ever came to that.”
“Ah! And where will they live? That’s what I often wonder.”

~ J. R. R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Circles never end
Circles never end

It’s that time again.  The time when a lot of us sit down and write up a post about the past year, reminiscing about the good times, the bad times, and the in between times.  Well, maybe not the in between times so much.  Not everyone spends much time with the in between times.  The highs and lows often get more attention.

Old walks on new trails
Old walks on new trails

Since it is a tradition for me, I’ll ramble on a bit about 2013.  I won’t do a pictorial retrospective because I have other things to show you.  Anyone want to see the nearly finished kitchen?

Pardon the mess.  M and I were so excited last night that we started unpacking, and still haven’t figured out where everything is going to go.  We still have much sorting to do.  I have a feeling we’ll be donating more than a few items to Goodwill.  To me, downsizing means simplifying.  I’d rather do that than pack the cabinets and drawers full of things I won’t use because they’re too inconvenient to get to.  I did clear out a few things in an attempt to “stage” the new kitchen, but you know what?  It’s a working kitchen.  What you are about to see is probably as unmessy as it will ever get.

Here you go
Here you go

On with the ramble.  2013 has been an interesting year, that’s for sure.  If you’d told me last year at this time that M and I would be moving to the Eastern Shore of Maryland, I’m not sure I would have believed you, and the tiny part of me that did believe might have thought, “Oh!  It’s so pretty out that way!  I bet we’ll love it!”

There is always more than one angle.
There is always more than one angle.

And if you had told me that I would spend a few months struggling with this move once we’d made it, I’m not sure I would have believed that, either.  M and I have moved more than a few times over the course of our marriage.  Sure, there’s always a bit of an adjustment, but never a struggle.

Isn't it pretty?
Isn’t it pretty?

It has been a growing year for me, on many levels.  I suppose that is what change does to a person, makes them grow whether they like it or not.  There might be some people who shrivel up, but I think most of us grow.

The dining area
The dining area.  (We might eventually replace this table, but I gotta tell you, it beats sitting in the living room, eating off of TV trays.)

I’m happy to say it’s getting better.  Last night, for the first time since we moved in, I said to M, “This is going to be a really nice house someday.”  I believe it, too.  I have faith in us, and faith in the good bones and structure of the house.

Another look from this angle, although I'm not sure why other than so you can see the shelving for the cookbooks a little better.
Another look from this angle, although I’m not sure why other than so you can see the shelving for the cookbooks a little better.  Or maybe it’s so you can see the sink.  I don’t remember why I thought I needed another, slightly different, shot from this angle.

Like it is for many people, the kitchen has always been the heart of our home.  Having this kitchen (nearly) finished means the heart surgery on this home is (nearly) finished.  The space is ready to be filled with warmth, laughter, celebrations, friends, and (of course) good food.

This never fails to make me smile.
This odd combination of sunflowers and shotgun shell casings never fails to amuse me.

As for the rest, I have faith that it will happen, all in good time.  Or all on Eastern Shore Time.

The trailer behind the pavilion.
The trailer behind the pavilion.

The Next Great Project is scheduled to begin on Monday.  The permits are all approved, signed, stamped, and ready to go.  JT, the man doing the job, called today saying he wants to start on Monday so that makes it as official as it’s going to get for now.

Still cleaning up
Still cleaning up

The Next Great Project is why we’ve been cleaning out the trash under the deck and one of the thickets.  Oh!  I almost forgot to tell you about M’s latest discovery.  He found a big bucket filled with homemade sauerkraut.  He said it didn’t smell too bad, but we’re not going to be exploring the taste.  It went into the trash pile.  Faith does not take me as far as eating something found in the thicket rubbish heap.

Might be able to salvage this.  If not, it will make good firewood.
Might be able to salvage this. If not, it will make good firewood.

Well, I should get back to the kitchen to unpack and sort.  The Next Big Project involves a room where we housed most of the kitchen stuff while the kitchen renovation was going on, and we need to get it emptied before Monday.  Thank you for stopping by today and over the course of the past year.  Thank you for being with me throughout this big change in my life.  Most of all, thank you for being you.

Wishing you peace, love, magic, wonder, and joy in 2014!

The Christmas Frog
The Christmas Frog

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Reflections on the lagoon -- dawn of a new day.
Reflections on the lagoon — dawn of a new day.

Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?

~ L. M. Montgomery

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

27 thoughts on “Endings bring beginnings

  1. I love that quote, “Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

    ~ L. M. Montgomery

    I’m so glad your kitchen got finished just before the new year. Now you can relax in it during 2014. It seems this move suits you well. Best wishes to you in the coming year, Robin!

    Like

  2. The kitchen is magnificent, Robin! I really mean it–it’s beautiful. What a treasured moment–to sit and admire what you’ve accomplished. I am wondering about struggles and their purposes. I know they can make us stronger, they can bring us into ourselves. Will look forward to hearing from you in 2016 and hearing about the gifts you’ll name in retrospect. Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Kathy. Happy New Year to you, too! I think one purpose of struggles is to help us learn more about our the way we limit ourselves. Maybe once we realize we are unlimited, we don’t struggle anymore. Or at least not as much. There are probably many other reasons and purposes for struggling. That just happens to be the one my brain noticed today. 🙂

      Like

  3. emptying out a room sounds the perfect way to begin the new year, especially when that beautiful calm kitchen is there waiting for you … have fun … love your dawn photo Robin, an upside down glimpse of the day to come … life is worth viewing from as many angles as possible! Wishing you a very happy 2014 🙂

    Like

  4. The kitchen looks beautiful, Robin! (And, as much as I love homemade kraut, I would not have ventured to taste the kraut M found in the rubbish heap, either. We each have our own limits, and garbage-pile sauerkraut is one of mine.)

    Like

  5. Wow, your kitchen is absolutely GORGEOUS!! Love that big window, too!
    I just went though all my kitchen cabinets and drawers to de-clutter and organize….feels good to get rid of things that never get used anymore anyway 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Michaela. 🙂 I’m still getting used to it, and trying to figure out where to put things. And then I forget where I put them and end up searching. lol!

      Like

  6. Your kitchen looks good enough to eat! Seriously, it’s a fabulous design and layout.

    And Anne Shirley is one of my heroines (thanks for sharing that quote). And so are you, Robin.

    Happy New Year and each and every moment of this wonderful life!

    Like

  7. Love the kitchen! The light looks great and it looks like it will be a great spot to move around, cook and do all those other chores that draw us to the kitchen. We’ve both looked at “change” in our year-end blog posts – I suppose change is something that we really can’t avoid isn’t it? I hope the New Year has dawned happy and bright for you and continues that way the whole year through. We are waiting on a snowstorm for late tonight – I’m thinking we may just get that snow day. Will the snow reach down to you at all?

    Like

    1. Thank you, Karma. 🙂 We do that a lot, I think — look at the same subject matter around the same time. No snow for us this time around. Looks like they got plenty of the white stuff in the Bogs, though. I was looking a webcam from there this morning, and it looks beautiful.

      Like

  8. Yes, it is a new beginning – lots of things for me to do here too, and I hope motivation strikes me very soon. Your kitchen is beautiful – bright, fresh, functional. Oh, that window, that view out to what nature has to offer – precious!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

