Posted in Earth, Eastern Shore, Family, Fire, Nature, Photo Challenge/Assignment, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water, Winter, Wonder

Joy

A joyous light
A joyous light

When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.

~ Rumi

Yesterday's sunset
Yesterday’s sunset

Just before sunset yesterday, the heavy rain and wind suddenly stopped.  The clouds began to clear and the raindrops sprinkled all over everything sparkled in the sunlight.

Sunset a'glow-glow
Sunset a’glow-glow

It was a joyful sight to behold.

The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Joy.  This was too good and too easy to pass up.  Joy is something I feel whenever I’m out and about with my camera.

Christmas joy
Christmas joy

Joy is something I feel whenever I’m with my family.  That goes double for when I’m with my granddaughters.

Joyfully singing Christmas carols
Joyfully singing Christmas carols

Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

Joy in the woods
Joy in the woods

I don’t have a lot of photos from Christmas I can post, so let’s go back to the woods at sunset yesterday.

Gift of joy
Gift of joy

I felt a great surge of joy when I was out walking around admiring nature’s lights.  I was in the right place at the right time to experience beauty.

Timing joy
Timing joy

A few minutes later, and I would have missed it.

A flock of joy
A flock of joy

As the sun slipped down the sky and I lost the sparkles in the woods, I went out to the dock just in time to hear the approach of what sounded like thousands of geese.  They made a joyful, honking noise.

He imagines a necessary joy in things that must fly to eat.

~ Wendell Berry

Across the sky
Across the sky

It was difficult to capture them all, even though they were in the hundreds, not the thousands.  I’ve never before seen anything like it.  There are, of course, geese in the Bogs, but this was the first time I’ve seen so many of them flying together.

Sunrise this morning
Sunrise this morning

Joy is a marvelous increasing of what exists, a pure addition out of nothingness.

~ Rainer Maria Rilke

Morning joy
Morning joy

That’s about it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch on this beautiful Monday.  It’s been a noisy day in the house, what with people sawing and hammering and drilling and sanding.  They spent quite a long time this morning struggling with reinstalling the sink, but with some blood (the poor plumber’s knuckles), sweat, and almost tears, it was eventually done.

Thanks for stopping by, and joining me in a few of life’s joys.  I hope Monday has treated you well.

Serenity
Serenity

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Today’s joys:  An awesome sunrise; an early morning walk; a nice pot of tea; fog over the creek; a hawk flying through the woods.  Bonus joy:  The kitchen is nearly finished!  It’s finished enough that we can move in and use it now.  Yay!!!  There’s one small, finishing touch to the crown molding that needs to be done.  (Someone didn’t measure right and/or order enough wood for the molding.)  Otherwise, we’re good to go.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “Joy

  1. Thanks for sharing your Monday lights .. so colorful. I am always grateful for being in the right time and right place to get special pictures .. and when you are lucky to do the same thing. 😉
    Happy New Year.

    Like

  2. SUch a joy to have that kitchen almost completed … useable! … the other joys are pure bliss … the sparkling light, the geese and skies, the children … I love how joy can start with a smile …radiating out like ripples to overflow into the space around!

    Like

  3. This is a beautiful post! The light you’ve shown, the sparkles in the woods, the way you presented your granddaughters – all gorgeously done! I don’t think I’ve ever seen geese like that either – the occasional single V formation sure, but not hundreds at once!
    You must be thrilled with the kitchen; looking forward to the pictures. I’m hoping to get my kitchen floor project finally rolling now that the holidays are behind us.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Karma. 🙂 Good luck with your flooring project, and a Happy 2014 to you!

      I’ll let you in on a secret. Most of the photos I took of my family over Christmas were terrible! Lots of noise, poor lighting, etc. I used Picmonkey and Pixlr to over-edit the heck out of them. I’m so glad there are editing programs. Otherwise, I might not bother with the bad photos even if they did capture a good moment.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Joy « blogagaini

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

