Posted in Air, Autumn, Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Mindfulness, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Renovations, Spring, Walking & Wandering, Water

All the news

Mockingbird
Mockingbird poised

“It’s impossible,” said pride.
“It’s risky,” said experience.
“It’s pointless,” said reason.
“Give it a try,” whispered the heart.

~ Unknown

Clouds playing in the sky
Clouds playing in the sky

Did you know that the male mockingbird may learn up to 200 songs?  Pretty amazing.

Puffy
Puffy inspiration

I’m not sure how many songs the mockingbird pictured at the start of this post knows, but it’s a lot.  I’ve sat out on the bench near the roses and listened to him.  He has an impressive repertoire.

Lighting up
Lighting up

In the space between your thoughts there is your truth.

~ Reuben Lowe

Sunset silhouettes
Sunset silhouettes

The kitchen here at the Wabi-Sabi Ranch is beginning to look like a kitchen.  The appliance guys were here yesterday.  They hooked up the gas to the stove, installed the new microwave, and reinstalled the dishwasher (sans plumbing).  Except for the microwave, we kept the appliances that were here when we bought the place.  I wasn’t sure I’d like the mix of black and white appliances, but in some odd way, it works.  And works well.  I’ll take some photos for you soon.  I’m waiting on the right light.  I need a sunny morning in order to capture it well.

Sunlight shining softly on the creek
Sunlight shining softly on the creek

I was able to cook dinner in the kitchen last night, although washing dishes and all use of water still had to take place in the laundry room.  I didn’t make anything special.  Just spaghetti with marinara.  But it sure tasted special.

On a foggy morning
On a foggy morning

The plumber is here today, muttering to himself as I type.  The reverse osmosis system is challenging him.  I have faith in him.  He’ll figure it out.  Once that’s done, everything else — installing the sink, the faucet, and running the water to the dishwasher — will be easy peasy.  Or so he said.

The cabinet installer will be back on the 20th to finish installing the cabinets, do the crown molding, install the hardware, etc.  That’s if all goes well with the delivery of the replacement cabinet for the one that was damaged.

Entwined
Entwined

Let’s see.  What else is new?  Oh!  I know!  I have new glasses.  I got them just in time for the fog to roll in and make everything look soft and blurry again.

Fog and foliage
Fog and foliage

The frames are different from what I’ve been wearing (for years and years) so I’m adjusting to this new look.  There was a buy one pair, get one pair free special going on where I bought my glasses so I have new sunglasses, too.  They are super cool.  I’ll show them to you sometime.  I have not had a chance to wear my sunglasses yet.  It’s been cloudy for the past few days, and today, well, the clouds came to earth in the form of fog and mist.

Dandelions have been blooming and going to seed
Dandelions have been blooming and going to seed

Walking through the woods early this morning, I heard a symphony of sounds.  It occurred to me that I should start using the video option on my camera from time to time so you can hear what it’s like here in the Middle of Nowhere.  Quite noisy, really.  A hundred or so ravens croaking, thousands of starlings chattering and murmuring, geese honking in the distance, the occasional BOOM of a hunter’s gun, the drip, drip, drip of water falling from the trees, a Great Blue Heron squawking, a buck crashing through the woods (he’s beautiful, but I can’t show him to you because he’s too fast for me to capture with my camera), and little birds and other critters rustling in the marsh grasses.

Seen and unseen
Seen and unseen

I reckon that’s it from the Wabi-Sabi Ranch for today.  Thank you for dropping in on this warm and foggy day.  I hear there’s a cold front on the way.  It may have already moved through your neck of the woods.  They’re saying it might get up to 70 degrees here today, but I don’t think it will unless the sun puts in an appearance.  I’m hoping the clouds will clear enough for a decent sunset.  I’ve become a sunset enthusiast lately, hiking out to the dock every evening to see what colors might appear, and every evening I’m surprised because every evening is different.  When was the last time you watched a sunset?

Apologies if I haven’t been by to visit you at your place lately.  I’ve been out in the garage, painting woodwork for the kitchen.  It’s a soothing, meditative job.  I’ve been enjoying it so much that I’m thinking about dragging something else out there to paint.  I keep the big door open so I can enjoy the sounds and the scenery.  If you’re interested in doing something soothing and meditative, come on over.  I have extra paint brushes and plenty of pieces that will need to be painted.

Weighed down
Weighed down

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂

Sparkling dew
Sparkling dew
Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “All the news

  1. I love to paint–creatively, of course–but regular painting, as well. You’re right. It’s relaxing.

    Glad your kitchen is coming together and you were actually able to cook dinner there. That’s got to feel good.

    Love the grass photos in this post. Sara would say it’s because I like the color green. I like your images because of the interesting lines and the huge amount of movement. Really cool!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  2. Someday I will tell you my mockingbird story. I have a stone on my front porch with a mockingbird painted on it by a friend. Very important bird to me. 🙂

    Like

  3. I enjoyed a brilliant sunset yesterday afternoon Robin, right outside my back door. And would you believe it, after an extremely warm day yesterday, a cold front has moved in today….obviously not your cold front from the other side of the world though!

    Please do set your camera to video sometimes. The sounds you described sound so beautiful in my imagination and if you can record your Mockingbird, that would be brilliant! 🙂

    Like

  4. That first quote floored me. Coupled with the photo– which looks like the bird is undecided about whether to take flight or not– I got full-body goosebumps! GOOD ON YOU!

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

