Posted in Autumn, Digital Art, Earth, Eastern Shore, Fire, Meditation, Mindfulness, NaBloPoMo, Nature, Photography, Spirit, Writing

Now (and then)

Autumn2013At any moment the fully present mind can shatter time and burst into Now.

~ David Steindl-Rast

If you follow my other blog (Bountiful Healing), where posts are rare these days, you have already seen this image.  It’s a collage I created to go with the small stone (poem) that I wrote recently.  I’m trying to get back into the habit of writing small stones again.  It will be good practice for the Mindful Writing Challenge in January 2014.

NaBloPoMo November 2013

Today’s joys:  The gifts of the early morning.  Frost sparkling in the sunlight.   Picking out new frames for my glasses.  The clear, crisp light of the stars on a cold night.  Healing.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

18 thoughts on “Now (and then)

  1. Well. I’m doing this backwards. Commenting and THEN going to read about small stones. I love the idea. Don’t know if I could do it for 30 days. I think I find small stones in photography regularly…not so much in writing. But then I haven’t tried. Maybe I should.

    Like

    1. I do things backwards all the time, Dawn. I thought the same thing about small stones (that I find them with my camera, but not so much in writing). A friend dared me to give it a try. At first I was going to write them in a small notebook and keep them to myself, but then I decided to jump in all the way. As it turned out, the water was warm and people were kind so I kept at it for that first month. I’m not very good at brevity, though, so it takes me a ridiculously long time to come up with something that fits the idea of a small stone, and so I didn’t keep up with it. It’s a good writing practice.

      Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

