Posted in Air, Autumn, Change, Digital Art, Dreams, Earth, Eastern Shore, Exploring, Fire, Life, Meditation, Mindfulness, NaBloPoMo, Nature, Photography, Quotes, Spirit, Walking & Wandering, Water

Pain and healing

Smooth as silk
Smooth as silk

Healing may not be so much about getting better, as about letting go of everything that isn’t you — all of the expectations, all of the beliefs — and becoming who you are.

~ Rachel Naomi Remen

Rippling
Rippling

“What are you going to be like when you grow old like me?” my grandmother asked me one day when I said I was too tired to go outside and play.

Agitated
Agitated

“Why, I’ll be turning cartwheels, Grandma!  I’m not going to get old,” I replied with the surety of youth.

Gently floating
Gently drifting

I was a warrior last week.  I walked, I jogged, I hiked, I rode my bike.  I spent time on my yoga mat, stretching, twisting, bending, and resting.  I did everything the health experts say you’re supposed to do.

A hole where the light shines out
A hole where the light shines out

But on Sunday morning, after Saturday’s 5K and before hiking almost 4 miles, I noticed I was sore.  Monday morning, I was hobbling.  Still, I carried on.  I hiked.  I took walks.  I went for a jog.  Wednesday afternoon I hopped on my bike.  I pushed myself during my yoga practice.  I did all these things thinking it would work out the kinks, loosen me up, and eventually eliminate the pain.

Clouds float on water
Clouds float on water

The muscles in my core, back, and legs were sore.  My shins felt bruised. My hips and knees ached, especially my knees.  I couldn’t see any swelling, but they felt as if they had blown up on the inside, and I noticed clicking when I rode my bike.  I didn’t get it.  It’s not as if I’ve been sitting on the couch for a year and then did a 5K with no training.  What’s up, body?  Why all this sudden pain and soreness?

And in the sky
And in the sky

There are so many ways to heal.  Arrogance may have a place in technology, but not in healing.  I need to get out of my own way if I am to heal.

~ Anne Wilson Schaef

Bruised
Bruised

Yesterday I stopped turning cartwheels.  Yesterday I stopped.  I sat.  I listened and explored the pain.  I iced.  I allowed healing to begin.  Today I have allowed healing to continue.  Instead of pushing, I need to heed what my body is telling me.  Rest, rest, rest.

Where earth, sky, and water meet
Where earth, sky, and water meet

Healing, Papa would tell me, is not a science, but the intuitive art of wooing nature.

~ W. H. Auden

Sunset moves
Sunset moves

Maybe next week I’ll be turning cartwheels, or maybe I’ll be finding new ways to do old tricks.

Light behind the clouds
Light behind the clouds

Aging is not lost youth but a new stage of opportunity and strength.

~ Betty Friedan

Finding warmth
Darkening

This weekend will be a resting weekend.  If all goes as planned, M and I will be going to Rehoboth for the Rehoboth Beach Independent Film Festival, where I will immerse myself in the actions, art, and stories of others while continuing to rest.

How about you?  Any plans for the weekend?  And while I’m asking questions, do you ever push yourself a little too far?  Or do you think there’s no such thing as pushing too far?

Growing lighter
Growing lighter before the sun goes down

Be good, be kind, be loving.  Just Be.  🙂  And have a great weekend!

November sunset
Saying goodnight

NaBloPoMo November 2013

Today’s joys:  Puffy clouds racing across the sky.  Brilliant sunlight.  Gusty winds singing through the trees.  A warm and spicy sweet potato and carrot soup.  Watching the cats curl up together to take a nap.

Author:

Robin is a photographer, artist, writer, wife, sometime poet, mom, grandma, daughter, sister, friend, and occasional traveler currently living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She finished a 365 commitment to get outside every day in 2011, and has turned it into a lifelong commitment taking one or more walks each day. Robin will continue to share her walks through her words and images on Breezes at Dawn. Older posts can be found at Life in the Bogs, her previous blog. Robin and her husband are in the midst of renovating the house and property they refer to as the Wabi-Sabi Ranch, 35 acres that include marsh, a dock on a tidal creek, meadows, and woodlands. Every day brings new discoveries.

30 thoughts on “Pain and healing

  1. Well written and I love all the quotes. I live with an autoimmune disease and I have learnt through a lot of pain and trial and error to pace myself daily and when to rest and recuperate. Happy resting. Tanya

    Like

  2. yes, happy resting Robin, and thanks for the healing balm of this post …. I push myself too hard at times, but discovering restorative yoga was just what I needed … now I know how to rest and move into parasympathetic dominance allowing the body to heal … meanwhile we are doing Pilates, yoga and swim training at present, trying to build up fitness and strength while we can 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Christine. 🙂 Pilates might be a good way for me to start easing back towards fitness and strength. Not today, and maybe not tomorrow, but soon. Maybe. Depends on what my body has to say about it.

      Like

    1. You’re right, Sallyann. 🙂 I’d forgotten that lesson. Sometimes I think pain is nature’s way of reminding me that I’m not 18 years old anymore which, now that I think about it, might be the same message.

      Like

  3. Have often, back when I was a runner, done too much. “Listen to your body” was the mantra…but it’s hard to do when you want to do EVERYTHING! Also never compare yourself to someone else when you’re out doing stuff…it’s best to be happy you’re out there and not compete with anyone but yourself. Just me saying what I remember before I retired to the sofa. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Dawn. Great advice. 🙂 I think that was part of the problem with the 5K. I kept up with my husband, whose stride and pace are faster than mine. I have to take almost two steps for one of his. I should have let him go on ahead.

      Like

  4. Words of wisdom among gorgeous images and thoughtful quotes. Yes, Robin, I have hurt myself more than once and learned the wisdom of rest and ice. Heal, then slowly re-introduce your activities. Listening to your body is as important as listening to your heart. Relax and feel better.

    Like

  5. It’s hard sometimes to know when to push and when to rest… I love the Auden quote – my father used to tell me something similar, that healing is as much an art as it is a science. Wishing you a favorable time of recuperation and healing, Robin!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Barbara. 🙂 Therein lies the problem — knowing when to push and when to rest. Very often I think I don’t push myself hard enough, and have this inner personal trainer egging me on. However, that inner personal trainer is also wise enough to know when I should rest, and I failed to pay attention.

      Like

  6. Hi Robin. I think you must have injured yourself and not realised it. With my knees, I try to understand why one day is great and the next hurts. I can usually trace it back to some event. Rest. Jane

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jane. I think I may have. I’m going to see a doctor next week if a weekend of rest doesn’t bring about improvement, although I suspect that will be more about reassurance and the doc will end up telling me to do what I’m doing. 🙂

      Like

  7. Thank you, Bearyweather. 🙂 One good thing about having all this sitting around time is that it gives me time to catch up with myself and with all the photos I’ve taken recently.

    Like

  8. Yes yes yes. I also find it hard to stop pushing myself. I don’t know how to accept that my legs which once did all the yoga exercises without a second thought, can’t allow me to sit cross legged never mind in lotus position…

    Like

Comments are delightful and always appreciated. I will respond when I can (life is keeping me busy!), and/or come around to visit you at your place soon. Thank you!

